$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
390 reviews
exactly what I was looking for

Everything I needed in a clean, safe area with friendly helpful staff. Located close to restaurants... See full review

  • Svelt Momma
  • Apr 5, 2014
Excellent hotel

Good Location, hosptality is great, staff is attentive and helpful See full review

  • Blinkky
  • Jan 11, 2014
Blending trendy design with authentic Polynesian touches and top-of-the-line amenities, the Aqua brand is a modern answer to the traditional Hawaiian experience. First founded in 2001, Aqua Hotels & Resorts is now home to more than 15 one-of-a-kind properties on four Hawaiian Islands, including the smaller islands of Lanai and Molokai, and an all-suite hotel in Guam. Like all Aqua properties, Honolulu's Aqua Palms Waikiki is a vibrant hotel with a uniquely Hawaiian feel and a contemporary sensibility. Start your day in paradise with a freshly brewed cup of Kona coffee - a local blend from the Big Island - while taking in beautiful views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean or the tropical city landscape. After enjoying a delicious breakfast at the downstairs IHOP restaurant, head outside to explore the city, or schedule a rejuvenating in-room lomi lomi massage.

Key facts
  • Restaurants within Waikiki
  • Covered parking garage
  • Activity desk
  • Waikiki Trolley pick-up stop
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood

Made famous by Hawaiian movies, postcards and posters, Waikiki is the heart of Honolulu and a must-visit stretch of the city. Unique market stalls, high-end retailers, award-winning restaurants and the legendary Waikiki Beach are located steps away from the Aqua Palms hotel. From the beach, walk 15 minutes to experience some of Honolulu's best restaurants, shops and historic attractions. Watch surfers cut across crystal-clear waves, or catch a ride on a Polynesian outrigger canoe to make a day at Waikiki Beach an unforgettable adventure.

Hints and tips
Thursday evening is manager's reception night in the Aqua Palms lobby. Stop by to try the hotel's signature cocktails and listen to the soothing sounds of classic Hawaiian music.

If you don't plan to rent a car, take advantage of the nearby bus line and shuttle to explore Oahu's rural towns and less-crowded beaches.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2847 -157.8367
Area served
Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Pearl Harbor, Ala Moana Shopping Center Downtown Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the beginning of Waikiki, near Ala Moana Shopping Center and Waikiki Beach!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Palms Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aqua Palms Waikiki Rooms

Diamond Head View
Deluxe rooms offer ample space with a 1 King/Queen or 1 Queen-sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 2 nightstands, desk, full-length mirror, 3-drawer dresser, and shower/bath with views of Diamond Head, Ft. DeRussy Park, and the Pacific Ocean. 4 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Intimate and inviting, these rooms feature either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
City View
Ample accommodations offer either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. Most have views of Ft. DeRussy Park and Diamond Head. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Deluxe Junior Suite
Spacious and comfortable, rooms offer a 1 King sized bed, living area with a Queen sized sleeper sofa with coffee table, and separate vanity area. Private lanai provides views of Waikiki or the Koolau Mountains. 4 guests maximum.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

IHOP
Best known for their award-winning pancakes, omelettes and other breakfast specialties, the IHOP restaurant is open throughout the day and evening hours and offers a broad array of lunch, dinner and snack items as well. Featuring moderately priced, high-quality food and beverage items, and table service in an attractive and comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lihue. Hawaii
Jul 23, 2010

neat and tidy!!

I like the the room's furniture and the design and the view is really nice.. However, the room is quite smaller than other average hotel and the walkway to the door is really tight that it was hard for a smaller type kind of stroller to go through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 29, 2007

Aqua Palm and Spa

First of all the hotwater in the room was not working at all went to the front desk and complained. Rep assured me that they would send housekeeping to check on the shower. When we got back the hotwate was still not hot. All 3 nights of my stay we had warm water and cold water. Our overall expereince at the hotel it's self was a great expereince other that having to deal with that situation. It was a walking distance to the shopping center and also to any restauratns. I would recommend it to other's as the hotel is reasonable. The overall employees are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a variety of restaurants and as well as the main mall in town is a walking distance. The beach is also a walking distance to the hotel. Very limited driving if any.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

Cheap place to spend the night

We spent one transitional night at the Aqua Palms Hotel. Our room was right next to the elevators. We could hear them traveling but figured it's only one night. Having already spent a week on a cruise we were happy about being able to do our laundry(coin operated in the parking garage) until we found a woman's purse, camera case, and beach towel in one of the dryers. Front desk at the hotel did not seem concerned in the least and when we inquired in the morning as to what happened, we were informed that the items where placed in the hotels lost and found. Hmmmm. Anyway, our view was nice, we could see the ocean in one direction and I believe it was Diamond Head off in the distance. The room was relatively clean, bed comfortable and clean, robes were provided, as well as a mini fridge and a room safe. My feet were dirty from going out on the balcony barefoot. Would recommend for budget conscious travelers only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1. The restaurant next door had good food and was reasonably priced. 2. Hawaiian Hilton across the street. 3. I think the beach was fairly close but we did not have time to see it.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Mar 3, 2009

Quality for cheap!

My husband and I were here on our honeymoon...we caught an amazing deal and took it while we could. If you want the glamour of Hawaii, this isn't the place you'll want to go...you'll want to go to the Hilton across the street. But if you're looking for a nice place to stay with some great views, friendly staff, ideal location, and affordability, this is your place! We found everything was great, we were right across the street from the beach, a trolley stopped right at the hotel which made getting around cheaply very easy. Close to everything we needed. Concierge was great. Would definitely stay there again! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Twist at HanoHano was amazing!! 5-star dining, expensive but amazing! 30 floors above the ocean and just gorgeous. Located in the Sheraton.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WE ROB
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 1, 2011

Aqua Palms Good Location Bad Timing

The Hotel was great but the timing was horrible. There was road construction right outside the hotel and they could not work on it during the day due to traffic. Therefore a tractor was lifting and dropping steel plates all night long into 4-5am. Needless to say I didn't sleep very well. As far as the staff and the location it was great. Just a short walk to the beach and Hilton Plaza. Very nice, Beautiful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua-Kona, HI
Jul 27, 2010

Aqua Palms and Spa

The hotel was kind enough to upgrade me to a higher floor with a better view. However, the information on-line specified a breakfast that was to be included but the staff stated that this was discontinued last September and not taken off the webnsite yet. The location is great, parking a bit of a problem due to the tight spaces in the garage and limited number of spaces for hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the Ala Moana Shopping Center

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
missourimom
missouri
Jul 29, 2010

aqua palms and spa review

good hotel,friendly staff, very helpful with questions, small pool and long walk to beach through other hotel property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

long walk to beach through other hotel property. beach was a little rocky, good idea to wear beach shoes in water

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stozzi
Business
Mountain View, CA
Sep 2, 2010

The good & bad of Aqua Palms & Spa

I booked a 2 beds room and got a one bed + pullout bed instead. Hotel conveniently located close to the shore and downtown Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 9, 2010

take the good with the bad

It was very small but fine with me as a single traveler not spending much time in the room. The only really awful thing was the cockroaches in the bathroom. I know it was Hawaii but they need to take care of the problem. Everything else was good for the price. The people were nice & there was a laundry room in the hotel. It's a shame but I can't recommend it because of the cockroaches in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The bus runs pretty often and as a senior with a medicare card, I rode for $1. That included a trip up the windward side to North Beach taking a few hours. This even includes a transfer and will take you many places of interest. Go on line and check it out. It's called "The bus".

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Sep 14, 2009

great staff

the hotel is kind of easy to miss. when they said it was a block from the beach, i didn't know you had to cut through the hilton hawaiian village property to get there. it's not TOO far, but i just thought it'd be a lot closer. i went diving with aquazone for 3 days. they picked me up from the hotel each day and dropped me off as well. the staff was very nice, and checked in for me for my return flight and weighed my bags for me to make sure i was under the 50lb limit! if you're into shopping, then the hotel is in a centralized location for the ala moana center and all the high end shops on Kalakaua Ave, being about a 15 min walk from either. the hotel is not in the middle of touristy waikiki, thankfully. i heard hawaiian hotel rooms are not typically that large, which was true for my room. i had a diamond view room, which gave nice views of the mountains, the city, and a bit of the beach... all with a big column right in the middle of the glass doors. the doors opened up but the outdoor space was only about 12" deep - not meant as a balcony unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

about 15-20 min walk to the ala moana shopping center which i'm told used to be the largest mall in the country! also, about a 10-min walk to all the high end shops on Kalakaua Ave. depending on where you're from, sales tax on clothes is pretty good in hawaii at 4-point something percent.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search