$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
344 reviews
Excellent hotel, excellent location

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the aqua palms for a week while we were in Hawaii for a wedding. For... See full review

  • LindsayA
  • Oct 21, 2014
exactly what I was looking for

Everything I needed in a clean, safe area with friendly helpful staff. Located close to restaurants... See full review

  • Svelt Momma
  • Apr 5, 2014
Blending trendy design with authentic Polynesian touches and top-of-the-line amenities, the Aqua brand is a modern answer to the traditional Hawaiian experience. First founded in 2001, Aqua Hotels & Resorts is now home to more than 15 one-of-a-kind properties on four Hawaiian Islands, including the smaller islands of Lanai and Molokai, and an all-suite hotel in Guam. Like all Aqua properties, Honolulu's Aqua Palms Waikiki is a vibrant hotel with a uniquely Hawaiian feel and a contemporary sensibility. Start your day in paradise with a freshly brewed cup of Kona coffee - a local blend from the Big Island - while taking in beautiful views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean or the tropical city landscape. After enjoying a delicious breakfast at the downstairs IHOP restaurant, head outside to explore the city, or schedule a rejuvenating in-room lomi lomi massage.

Key facts
  • Restaurants within Waikiki
  • Covered parking garage
  • Activity desk
  • Waikiki Trolley pick-up stop
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood

Made famous by Hawaiian movies, postcards and posters, Waikiki is the heart of Honolulu and a must-visit stretch of the city. Unique market stalls, high-end retailers, award-winning restaurants and the legendary Waikiki Beach are located steps away from the Aqua Palms hotel. From the beach, walk 15 minutes to experience some of Honolulu's best restaurants, shops and historic attractions. Watch surfers cut across crystal-clear waves, or catch a ride on a Polynesian outrigger canoe to make a day at Waikiki Beach an unforgettable adventure.

Hints and tips
Thursday evening is manager's reception night in the Aqua Palms lobby. Stop by to try the hotel's signature cocktails and listen to the soothing sounds of classic Hawaiian music.

If you don't plan to rent a car, take advantage of the nearby bus line and shuttle to explore Oahu's rural towns and less-crowded beaches.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Palms Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aqua Palms Waikiki Rooms

Diamond Head View
Deluxe rooms offer ample space with a 1 King/Queen or 1 Queen-sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 2 nightstands, desk, full-length mirror, 3-drawer dresser, and shower/bath with views of Diamond Head, Ft. DeRussy Park, and the Pacific Ocean. 4 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Intimate and inviting, these rooms feature either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
City View
Ample accommodations offer either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. Most have views of Ft. DeRussy Park and Diamond Head. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Deluxe Junior Suite
Spacious and comfortable, rooms offer a 1 King sized bed, living area with a Queen sized sleeper sofa with coffee table, and separate vanity area. Private lanai provides views of Waikiki or the Koolau Mountains. 4 guests maximum.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

IHOP
Best known for their award-winning pancakes, omelettes and other breakfast specialties, the IHOP restaurant is open throughout the day and evening hours and offers a broad array of lunch, dinner and snack items as well. Featuring moderately priced, high-quality food and beverage items, and table service in an attractive and comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (344)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
344 out of 344
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 29, 2008

Great value for your money

This is a great hotel value in the center of Waikiki. Considering the reasonable rate at the Aqua Palms I think it is a great deal. It is close to the beach, the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. It is adjacent to a 24 hour coffee shop. The small pool area is very cramped. But why swim in a pool when you have Waikiki Beach so nearby? There is no continental breakfast: buy I don't imagine that is offered at most hotels in the Honolulu area. So - overall I was extremely satisfied and would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

clean and friendly

i enjoyed the time i stay there. the room was clean, staff was friendly and always smile which gave a family oriented feeling.. I didn't check the hotel's fitness, and pool since the beach was next block... I will highly recomend this to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

it is next to the Hilton village and bus and trolley stops are next or across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hope
Sep 26, 2008

Great tourist hotel - excellent value!

I'm a cheap-skate when it comes to hotels when I leisure travel, and typically stay at 'better' hotels when I travel for work. So, with that said, Aqua Palms wasn't the most or least expensive when I booked my trip. Long story short, I was impressed. My room was incredible plenty of space, immaculate, very well maintained. And honestly, a few of the evenings, when I didn't feel like going out, laying back in bed, and watching cable on the 42 LCD in the room was pretty relaxing. The location is close to shopping, the beach and public transportation. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. So, I usually don't write reviews up after traveling, but this time I had to share my delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Army Museum, its a few blocks away, free, and pretty cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hokleang
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 23, 2007

My review of Aqua Palms & Spa

The room at the Aquapalm was nice and comfortable even with three chairs. The bathroom was nice and adequate. It's a good location - it's a short walk to the beach and the restaurants are very close as well. The hotel staffs were very friendly and kind. I will return to this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1- Hilton village hotel is in the opposite side. 2- 24 hrs coffee restaurant is next to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Pasadena
Dec 22, 2008

Good comfy beds

I don't know if the price was due to the slow holiday season or not, but the Aqua Palms was one of the cheaper hotels in the Waikiki area - and we got a beautiful view of diamond head and a small view of the sea between other high-rises as well. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Parking is expensive, but it's the same all over the strip. Close enough to walk down to Waikiki proper (about 1/2 mile - mile depending on your route). Nice flat screen tv's and complimentary broadband (one connection) in each room. Not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants close by, a nice 24-hour diner on the corner, a new IHOP being built on the first level (looked halfway complete Christmas '08), two starbucks and two ABC stores all within walking distance. Also, a Japanese place called 'Todai' looked very popular and was only a block away. Waikiki is about a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brett & Maria
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 17, 2009

excellent!

The hotel was in a perfect location-walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on Waikiki Beach, they gave us a free upgrade without us asking (view of the beach and Diamond Head), the room was beautiful, the bathroom was very clean and had a great high pressure steaming hot shower, one of the walls was all glass made of floor to ceiling glass doors that opened up completely, as soon as you open them, the breeze from the beach fills the room, it was a wonderful experience! We waited until the last minute to book and got an awesome-unbelievable deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
3rd Visit to the Palms
Business
Greeley, Co
Jun 25, 2010

Great Value!

This is my wife and I's 3rd visit the the Aqua Palms. Staff is terrific, rooms clean, steps from the beach and Hilton Hawaiian village. I would recommend to everyone. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door is the Wailana Coffee House - super cheap decent eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flint, MI
Feb 18, 2008

Comfortable and affordable

The hotel is well located and not overwhelming in size. It is family friendly. The continental breakfast was acceptable. The staff were really helpful and friendly. My wife and I stayed there two weeks and would not hesitate to recommend it. In fact, I already have recommended it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The greater Honolulu/Waikiki bus system, called The Bus is inexpensive ($2), clean, reliable and will take a passenger all over Oahu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 5, 2007

Off the Waikiki heavy traffic

The rooms are nice. The cost and atmosphere reflect the Aloha spirit of quieter days gone by. The rooms have been updated to include mini food prep areas yet the over the top Waikiki construction blocks most views of the mountains and ocean, you can still catch glimpses between the high rise hotels that surround the entire area. You can take an early walk or run before the buzz of the seasonal tourists begins each day along the stretches of resort hotels. The Aqua Plams is convienient to Ala Moana Park and shopping center, the marina, Kalakaua Ave, the beach and the Ala Wai; truly the best of areas if you want to keep your sanity while enjoying the trade winds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the local icon, the Wailana, a diner with great dishes, friendly servers, and traditional Island fare....the daily specials and the french toast have been on the menu for decades.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 22, 2008

Excellent Value

The Aqua Palms was an excellent choice and I would certainly stay there again as well as reccommend it to my friends. The room was very attractive and clean. Staff was friendly and very helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. Bus service was convenient to the hotel, although I found two of the drivers to be rude and sarcastic (interesting attitude when tourism business is down). Just a terrific value for the price. The only negative was that elevator service was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe on the corner had great food and excellent prices. Huge shopping mall walking distance from the hotel. Convenient and inexpensive public bus service from the hotel to attractions and around the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top