$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
522 reviews
exactly what I was looking for

Everything I needed in a clean, safe area with friendly helpful staff. Located close to restaurants... See full review

  • Svelt Momma
  • Apr 5, 2014
Excellent hotel

Good Location, hosptality is great, staff is attentive and helpful See full review

  • Blinkky
  • Jan 11, 2014
Blending trendy design with authentic Polynesian touches and top-of-the-line amenities, the Aqua brand is a modern answer to the traditional Hawaiian experience. First founded in 2001, Aqua Hotels & Resorts is now home to more than 15 one-of-a-kind properties on four Hawaiian Islands, including the smaller islands of Lanai and Molokai, and an all-suite hotel in Guam. Like all Aqua properties, Honolulu's Aqua Palms Waikiki is a vibrant hotel with a uniquely Hawaiian feel and a contemporary sensibility. Start your day in paradise with a freshly brewed cup of Kona coffee - a local blend from the Big Island - while taking in beautiful views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean or the tropical city landscape. After enjoying a delicious breakfast at the downstairs IHOP restaurant, head outside to explore the city, or schedule a rejuvenating in-room lomi lomi massage.

Key facts
  • Restaurants within Waikiki
  • Covered parking garage
  • Activity desk
  • Waikiki Trolley pick-up stop
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood

Made famous by Hawaiian movies, postcards and posters, Waikiki is the heart of Honolulu and a must-visit stretch of the city. Unique market stalls, high-end retailers, award-winning restaurants and the legendary Waikiki Beach are located steps away from the Aqua Palms hotel. From the beach, walk 15 minutes to experience some of Honolulu's best restaurants, shops and historic attractions. Watch surfers cut across crystal-clear waves, or catch a ride on a Polynesian outrigger canoe to make a day at Waikiki Beach an unforgettable adventure.

Hints and tips
Thursday evening is manager's reception night in the Aqua Palms lobby. Stop by to try the hotel's signature cocktails and listen to the soothing sounds of classic Hawaiian music.

If you don't plan to rent a car, take advantage of the nearby bus line and shuttle to explore Oahu's rural towns and less-crowded beaches.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aqua Palms Waikiki Rooms

Diamond Head View
Deluxe rooms offer ample space with a 1 King/Queen or 1 Queen-sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 2 nightstands, desk, full-length mirror, 3-drawer dresser, and shower/bath with views of Diamond Head, Ft. DeRussy Park, and the Pacific Ocean. 4 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Intimate and inviting, these rooms feature either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
City View
Ample accommodations offer either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. Most have views of Ft. DeRussy Park and Diamond Head. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Deluxe Junior Suite
Spacious and comfortable, rooms offer a 1 King sized bed, living area with a Queen sized sleeper sofa with coffee table, and separate vanity area. Private lanai provides views of Waikiki or the Koolau Mountains. 4 guests maximum.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Palms Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2847 -157.8367
Area served
Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Pearl Harbor, Ala Moana Shopping Center Downtown Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the beginning of Waikiki, near Ala Moana Shopping Center and Waikiki Beach!

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

IHOP
Best known for their award-winning pancakes, omelettes and other breakfast specialties, the IHOP restaurant is open throughout the day and evening hours and offers a broad array of lunch, dinner and snack items as well. Featuring moderately priced, high-quality food and beverage items, and table service in an attractive and comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (522)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
522 out of 522
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mopsi
Eugene, OR
Jan 6, 2013

An extraordinary find

The staff will walk on water for you. The location is perfect, right on the trolley and bus lines across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village and 2 blocks from a beach that is not nearly as crowded as Waikiki. There is a handkerchief pool, kept glisteningly clean and an exercise room, neither of which we used much. The Wailana Cafe in the same block serves pretty good food and there are several other restaurants in the immediate area. The room has frig and microwave and coffee maker. If you want extra anything, just ask. There is always coffee and fruit free in the lobby and the latest newspaper. I cannot think of a single fault in our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Waikiki Aquarium is very nice. Buy a Waikiki trolley pass and you can get to many places. Pink is shopping trolley, Green up to Diamond Head and Red to Chinatown area. DFS is central terminal. Pretty good tours on the Green and Red and can off and on. Ala Moana is a must see and Chinatown for fresh veggies and cheap food.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janelley
San Diego, California
Oct 22, 2013

Nice stay

Overall I had a pleasant experience here and was happy with the price. The parking structure is a little hard to navigate so I would recommend getting a compact car if you plan on renting a car and staying here. It costs 25 per day to park. Our room was a decent size and appeared to be recently remodeled as well as the rest of the hotel. The AC unit was a little loud but not too bad. The room had a mini fridge, coffee maker, and a microwave. There was also an ice machine located on our floor. The coin laundry facility also proved useful during our 5 night stay. It would have been nice to be a little closer to all of the main things in Waikiki but it was still only a 1-1.5 mile walk. It is also within manageable walking distance to Ala Moana Center which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kona Nana
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Oct 19, 2013

Ohana weekend

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel! A lot of places we needed to go to.... was in walking distance from the hotel. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant just downstairs and there's more across the street.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie918
Knoxville, TN
Oct 19, 2013

Family wedding

Stayed at the Aqua Palms for a week. Very happy with the hotel. Very central and clean. Would stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bb171
New Jersey
Oct 15, 2013

Great basics, nothing you don't need

Our room was big enough, clean, and everything worked as expected. Parking's expensive, but it is at nearly every hotel in this area. The location is great, walkable to most of Waikiki but in a quieter area. IHOP and other restaurants nearby. The place also has laundry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I'd rent a car for maybe half the days you're there. The other half you can do things by bus and save money. Parking is expensive unless you find free street parking, but that's a chore.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tudy
Business
Las Cruces, NM
Oct 11, 2013

Pleasant

Staff was very nice, overall we had a good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is close by. Shopping, dining and the beach

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob Long Time Traveler
Pueblo, CO
Sep 17, 2013

Aqua Palms

The location was near the port, if you are going on a cruise. If you want a hotel in the beach area, it is not convenient. The location was in a nice area, across the street from one of the best hotels in Waikiki. It is not a posh hotel but the cost was very reasonable. The rooms were very clean & comfortable. The staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lazyturtle
California
Sep 15, 2013

it worked for us.

We just needed a place near the airport to stay for one night. It was clean, comfortable and had a nice design. Thick pad and extra pillows on the bed. The parking was challenging to figure out at first, we paid the $25 parking fee and found a spot that wasn't reserved in the parking structure. The air conditioning kept the room comfortable. There was a small refrigerator and a microwave in the room. Pancake house is right next door. All were friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith B
Little Falls, NJ, USA
Sep 6, 2013

50 s 60 s Style and Loved It !!!

My flight from Philippines was delayed due to a typhoon we arrived at the hotel at 5 am The hotel staff made everything go smooth . The Microwave And refrigerator are a plus . the Rooms are large and comfortable, will book this hotel again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Garage Parking easy access to Elevators direct to your hotel floor

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kbf2013
brooklyn, NY
Sep 3, 2013

good location

an OK hotel, with a great location. Also pretty good value for the money. A previous reviewer offered the tip "just walk thru Hilton Hawaiian Village" (across the street) for beach access -- this is true, but didn't realize what a long & confusing walk that would be. Also the room we reserved was not ready/available upon arrival (despite my calling the day before to confirm it), so we had to change rooms on the 2d day of our stay. But all in all, it was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

we debated paying extra for a "partial ocean view" room, wondering how partial that would be... as it turns out, it was a pretty nice view & worth the extra $.

Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweets99
Corona, Ca
Aug 30, 2013

Sibling getaway

This hotel was just average. Nothing fancy. It was clean for the most part. However, we had an issue with our shower and we had to continuously ask the front desk to send someone up to fix our shower. It was frustrating that we had to call them multiple times. But other than that it was ok and the one good thing is the location of this hotel. It seemed like it was centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top