$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Aqua Palms Waikiki

3 stars
1850 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 95815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
342 reviews
Excellent hotel, excellent location

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the aqua palms for a week while we were in Hawaii for a wedding. For... See full review

  • LindsayA
  • Oct 21, 2014
exactly what I was looking for

Everything I needed in a clean, safe area with friendly helpful staff. Located close to restaurants... See full review

  • Svelt Momma
  • Apr 5, 2014
Blending trendy design with authentic Polynesian touches and top-of-the-line amenities, the Aqua brand is a modern answer to the traditional Hawaiian experience. First founded in 2001, Aqua Hotels & Resorts is now home to more than 15 one-of-a-kind properties on four Hawaiian Islands, including the smaller islands of Lanai and Molokai, and an all-suite hotel in Guam. Like all Aqua properties, Honolulu's Aqua Palms Waikiki is a vibrant hotel with a uniquely Hawaiian feel and a contemporary sensibility. Start your day in paradise with a freshly brewed cup of Kona coffee - a local blend from the Big Island - while taking in beautiful views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean or the tropical city landscape. After enjoying a delicious breakfast at the downstairs IHOP restaurant, head outside to explore the city, or schedule a rejuvenating in-room lomi lomi massage.

Key facts
  • Restaurants within Waikiki
  • Covered parking garage
  • Activity desk
  • Waikiki Trolley pick-up stop
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood

Made famous by Hawaiian movies, postcards and posters, Waikiki is the heart of Honolulu and a must-visit stretch of the city. Unique market stalls, high-end retailers, award-winning restaurants and the legendary Waikiki Beach are located steps away from the Aqua Palms hotel. From the beach, walk 15 minutes to experience some of Honolulu's best restaurants, shops and historic attractions. Watch surfers cut across crystal-clear waves, or catch a ride on a Polynesian outrigger canoe to make a day at Waikiki Beach an unforgettable adventure.

Hints and tips
Thursday evening is manager's reception night in the Aqua Palms lobby. Stop by to try the hotel's signature cocktails and listen to the soothing sounds of classic Hawaiian music.

If you don't plan to rent a car, take advantage of the nearby bus line and shuttle to explore Oahu's rural towns and less-crowded beaches.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2847 -157.8367
Area served
Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Pearl Harbor, Ala Moana Shopping Center Downtown Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the beginning of Waikiki, near Ala Moana Shopping Center and Waikiki Beach!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Palms Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aqua Palms Waikiki Rooms

Diamond Head View
Deluxe rooms offer ample space with a 1 King/Queen or 1 Queen-sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 2 nightstands, desk, full-length mirror, 3-drawer dresser, and shower/bath with views of Diamond Head, Ft. DeRussy Park, and the Pacific Ocean. 4 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Intimate and inviting, these rooms feature either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
City View
Ample accommodations offer either 1 King/Queen sized bed and sleeper sofa. Other features include: 3-drawer dresser, desk, and shower/bath. Most have views of Ft. DeRussy Park and Diamond Head. 3 guests maximum. (325 sq. ft.)
Deluxe Junior Suite
Spacious and comfortable, rooms offer a 1 King sized bed, living area with a Queen sized sleeper sofa with coffee table, and separate vanity area. Private lanai provides views of Waikiki or the Koolau Mountains. 4 guests maximum.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

IHOP
Best known for their award-winning pancakes, omelettes and other breakfast specialties, the IHOP restaurant is open throughout the day and evening hours and offers a broad array of lunch, dinner and snack items as well. Featuring moderately priced, high-quality food and beverage items, and table service in an attractive and comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (342)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 18, 2008

Great Location

It depends on what you're looking for. Me and my friends are single and were looking to hang out in some clubs. There were tons of nightclubs withink a short walking distance. It was really convenient, in a nice location, with nice friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to a ton of nightclubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flint, MI
Feb 18, 2008

Comfortable and affordable

The hotel is well located and not overwhelming in size. It is family friendly. The continental breakfast was acceptable. The staff were really helpful and friendly. My wife and I stayed there two weeks and would not hesitate to recommend it. In fact, I already have recommended it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The greater Honolulu/Waikiki bus system, called The Bus is inexpensive ($2), clean, reliable and will take a passenger all over Oahu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 16, 2008

My review of Aqua Palms & Spa

Staff was very friendly when I was ther. However, I got sick on my last day there with food poisoning and needed help getting another room so I could delay my departure. When I called the front dest, they were of litle help finding me a room. Even the Aqua Hotels people were unhelpful in providing numbers or other assistance in finding a room for me. I find it hard to believe that in the hospitality industry people would be so unhelpful to guests when they are sick and have nowhere to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, MB
Jan 27, 2008

Spacious Room

Overall a decent experience. Nice room with a sofabed, microwave, and fridge. The location was a bit far from main beaches even for avid walkers, but acceptable bus connections and proximity to ala moana centre may make up for that. Room service was efficient, though they seemed to be a bit stingy on supplies and I had to ask at front desk to get more shampoo etc. The included breakfast, conmsisting of pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, was certainly a bonus. We certainly would book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ala Moana Center and Hilton Beach are close, main Waikiki beaches may reqauire bus or other transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 7, 2007

just about all the comforts of home

I tried to call for extra blankets 2 nightsin a row to no avail, maybe I dialed the wrong people for the job. Other than that it was a great value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Outback Steakhouse and Red Lobster about 2 blocks away, a Kobe Steakhouse across the street, and a 24 hour diner right next door that you get 10% off of with hotel key.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2007

Budget Friendly

The Aqua Palms and Spa was budget friendly, but it somewhat lacked in cleaness. There were little black bugs forming colonies in the bedroom and on the 'dinette' counter. The rooms are very small, and the hotel did not seem to family friendly. My husband and I got out and did a lot of sight seeing, so we hardly spent any time in the room, thus it was just right for our vacation. Also, we lost our bag on the way to the airport on ther shuttle that the hotel arranged for us. We tried calling the main Aqua Spas phone number, they were very rude, lacked customer service, and could not seem to help us find the number for the Aqua Palms branch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wailana Coffee House right next door is opened 24 hours (really nice when your still trying to ajust to local time), they are fast and the food is good and well priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renalda
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 24, 2007

Great Accomodations

The Aqua Palms Hotel was wonderful, the room was very clean, all the necessary comforts of home was made available. It proveded free internet access and a nice complimentery breakfast each morning. Restraunts and shops were in easy access to walk to from the hotel (great location). The bed was comfortable and extra pillows were provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart and the Mall were a short drive from the hotel. Walking is even an option for exercise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 22, 2007

My review of Aqua Palms & Spa

The Aqua Palms is located right on Ala Moana Blvd. a short ride on THE BUS to one of Honolulu's major shopping areas. The garage is key access only if you have your own car and is reasonable compared to many of the parking fees at $18 per day. You can walk from your car to the elevator and take it straight up to your floor. Aqua Palms has gone thru recent redecorating and the feel is modern fresh. The unit we were in was a bit tight with a queen bed and a pull out sleeper sofa. A small chest of drawers in the entry way was a poor fit and did not match the rest of the decor but without it you would need to leave your clothes in the suitcase. ( Fortunately we were only staying one night so this was not an issue) The chest was a good height to set a suitcase on but we had to turn our other suitcases sideways because there was not enough width to roll them through. There was a medium sized microwave and a single set of dishes along with a larger college dorm sized fridge. It even had a freezer big enough to put our ice packs in. (gotta have a way to keep those chocolate covered macadamia nuts from melting on your way home)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The # 8 bus will take you from your hotel to shopping at the Ala Moana mall on the Honolulu side. Get your transfer and if you can get back early enough you can ride back to your hotel on one fare. Remember the bus to go back is closer to where the street goes under the building. Look for the sign that says buses to Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 10, 2007

trip in paradise

The Aqua Palms & Spa was a great place to stay. It a short walk to the beach tons of places to eat including a 24 hour coffee house at teh end of the block. The staff were very helpful and able to assist in making arrangements for several events. Room had robes, coffee machine, microwave, and refrigerator and a balcony. The pool was nice located on the 2nd floor with a nice view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The coffee house at the end of the block was open 24 hours. Being from the east coast I was getting up at 3:30 am thinking it was 9 am back home. The coffee house was a nice place to be when up so early for the day! Food was very good and nice sized portions for the cost!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Sep 6, 2007

we hada great experience. we stayed on the 4th floor, and had a great cit view

we had a very convenient location within waikiki and had a great experience in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to the beach as well as shopping and dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top