$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Aqua-Aloha-Surf-Waikiki-Pool
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
309 reviews
Awesome intro to Hawaii

From the beginning, the staff at the front desk was always helpful and gave great info on buses,... See full review

  • Ed.470
  • Jan 15, 2015
it was a good affordable hotel

not what I expected small rooms, and small bathrooms very noisy See full review

  • dd.
  • Mar 4, 2015
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. In the chic pool area you will find a cafe, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience. The property is offering hotel-wide Wi-Fi access for added convenience.

Highlights
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
  • Daily continental breakfast
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Diners start the day with daily continental breakfast on site before heading out. Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. WiFi access. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. WiFi access. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. WiFi access. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 309
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmy B.
Business
N/A
Feb 12, 2015

cheap and good location

Overall this was a three star hotel. Good location, parking however was hard to come by. $22 for parking each day and a hidden $15 hospitality fee is over priced. There were a couple of roaches I'm my room and big ones too. If you're looking for a cheap stay this is the spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer Fungirl
Business
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Jun 23, 2013

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki- Zanzabar Extravaganza

It was interesting that the electricity was powered by inserting the card in the slot at the front of the room. I liked that the hotel wasn't too far from the clubs like zanzabar, where we partied that night. The front desk hotel staff was helpful and was nice to upgrade us to accommodate our extra bed request. We liked that they were able to give us up to 4 door key cards. For one night and splitting the price between friends, it was definitely a good deal. The room was pretty basic but we liked that there was a mini fridge, microwave and even silverware. It would've been nice if the room wasn't so small but it was still adequate for the night. The check-in and check-out times were pretty convenient too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try parking by the Ala Wai for free and it isn't too far walking to the night clubs like Zanzabar so get ready for the party.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tataryta
Business
honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 16, 2013

my stay

The room was so small!! Honestly the smallest room I've ever been in n it wasn't cheap either! Also the next morning i woke up with bed bug bites or something n i didn't have them the night before. I don't think I'll ever go back although the staff at the front desk were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darryn Travelling Kitty
Business
Vancouver, B.C.
May 7, 2012

Good and affordable

Would recommend this hotel for those coming to honolulu for the first time and wanted to save some $$ while doing it. Parking is expensive, $20 per day. Would recommend not driving if at all possible, but we did manage to park at the Banyan 5 blocks up the street for $60 for the week. This hotel doesn't have a great restaurant and a tiny gym set - but its a great place to lay your head at night. Two blocks from Waikiki. Quite satisfied with the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Aloha stadium for the SWAP meet where there are better deals on local products and ukuleles. I also recommend checking out the managers meet and greet - free cocktails on Tuesday evenings!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martin82
Business
Praha, Česká republika
Apr 6, 2012

Great value, clean, comfortable

We were very happy choosing this hotel. Great price, clean, cable internet in the room, very good location. The parking in the hotel costs 20 USD for 24hours. One day we arrived earlier and were lucky to found a space in the street for free. There is a breakfest served in the hotel, it cost 5 USD I think and it was poor, the staff was not nice and it was not clean. I would say this is not organized by hotel itself. I would pay a bit more for a better breakfest. But it is so easy to eat anywhere else around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kyoung
Business
San Rafael, CA
Mar 12, 2012

Musty

It was in a good area, whereas near the beach, food and stores. But once we got in the room it was musty and the air was broken. We had to switch rooms and it was a bit better. It was really small, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crunchymoon
Business
Gibsons
Jan 25, 2012

Aqua Aloha Surf-good deal

This hotel is a good deal for what you pay but I would not recommend it to those who struggle getting sleep. It is extremely loud (early in the mornings especially) in the outside parking lot next door. They are constantly moving and dropping off large containers. At night the parking lot is a big hang out for some interesting people. The hotel itself is quite quiet, it's whats outside that causes the problems. Otherwise clean and very nice staff. I would make sure not to miss Edward's Cafe if you stay there, it's fantastic! A lady named Sam works there and is an amazing cook and person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you eat at Edwards cafe in the hotel! Sam is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sara Jo
Business
California, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Vacation

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel was pretty good. The room that I was in had a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. So that is a plus. One downfall is that there was not a complimentary breakfast. I would say the location is great. It is right by an ABC Store and by a bus stop. It was only a two block walk to Waikiki Beach, so I thought it was nice to have that little break form the hustle right by the beach. The room was clean, I did not have any trouble with that what so ever. The only thing is that the hotel itself is a little old. Overall the room was comfortable. The beds were great, I didn't have any trouble with that. Again, just that the rooms were a little outdated, especially the bathroom. For a plus, the hotel did supply a iron and ironing board. The staff! They were great. Our flight did not leave until nine at night and they gladly stored our bags for free in their back room. They also called a shuttle and just helped out through out the whole week. It was great. I don't think you could ask for any better service. I think for the price that we got was sufficient for the value of hotel that we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oalex71478
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Work escape

Took a one week vacation from work. The hotel was within walking distance of both the beach and the strip which was very convenient. The renovated pool and cabana was very nice. Unfortunately, the room smelled of mold and the sheets and couch had stains on them,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 19, 2011

Perfect Stay

I only stayed 2 nights as it was the last leg of my trip, and I was very happy with everything. I will return to this hotel for all my visits to Hawaii. I have friends in town, so the price and location was perfect. I suggest this hotel to young travelers or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great local bars in the area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top