$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Aqua-Aloha-Surf-Waikiki-Pool
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
333 reviews
Awesome intro to Hawaii

From the beginning, the staff at the front desk was always helpful and gave great info on buses,... See full review

  • Ed.470
  • Jan 15, 2015
it was a good affordable hotel

not what I expected small rooms, and small bathrooms very noisy See full review

  • dd.
  • Mar 4, 2015
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. In the chic pool area you will find a cafe, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience. The smoke-free property is offering hotel-wide Wi-Fi access for added convenience.

Highlights
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
  • Daily continental breakfast
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Diners start the day with daily continental breakfast on site before heading out. Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. WiFi access. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. WiFi access. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. WiFi access. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
May 25, 2007

It was horrible

when i called to let them know my flight was later that check in i was told no problem a ride from air port was resonable Not ...them they gave a a room half the size of a closet . i went right back to the desk told then try this again ,, the next room was better !!! had nothing there no soda machines ,water nothing but coffee , i dont drink coffee . ever time i needed a drink had to go to the store ...so i spent most of my time walking to look for some thing to drink or eat ,,please dont take this wrong but i thought i was in japan ..more japanes there that in japan , it was awful ...... will i ever go back to hawaii NO ~~~~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NOTHING !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hironrob
Business
Waikiki, Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Not 3 star worthy

Staff was nice, parking price per day is just insane housekeeping did clean the room but you have to ask them to change the sheets otherwise they don't. Overall it's not the best for the price so it should not even get a star! I've stayed in motels that where much more nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to look around, there are alot of great eating spots that are tucked away so keep an eye out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nack
Business
Ellensburg, WA, USA
Apr 20, 2012

great housekeeping, terrible room for the price

The housekeeping was wonderful, but that's just about it when it comes to great things in this resort. Our toilet was clogged when we got there, and the maintenance worker who came to fix it had a little attitude when we told him it was already clogged. He delivered a smart alec remark and we didn't appreciate that too much. We were told that we had a partial city view on the 8th floor, and then found out that we were directly facing a building and could almost see into their room. The AC unit worked wonderfully, but the pull out bed was extremely uncomfortable for my brother and I. we also did not have a lock on our bathroom door and the shower was rusty along with the rest of the bathroom. We paid a good amount of money for this trip, and the hotel was probably one of the biggest downfalls. Location was great (close to the beach) but I'd recommend spending a little more money at one of the nicer resorts even closer to the beach (Sheraton Princess, Moana Surfrider, etc) We also had to pay $20 a night for parking our rental car, as well as $4.95 per person every day for the "free continental breakfast" only offered to those who directly booked with the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market (right across from the Moana Surfrider Hotel by Waikiki Beach) has a huge variety of foods to choose from, like Korean BBQ, Filipino cuisine, Curry, and all other kinds of foods! Not that expensive and the Korean BBQ place gives huge plates of food! Also, the ice cream at the Hagen Daas place was amazing and only about $5 for a huge waffle cone and a decent amount of ice cream! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carolina mom 101
Business
North Carolina
Jun 30, 2012

Below average room

Room overlooked noisy street and had old single paned noninsulated rollout windows that would not shut tight. Room was very hot and stuffy and took several hours for the air condition to cool it down. Bathroom small. Room too small for king size bed with pull out lumpy sofa sleeper. It did have a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, silverware, and dishes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from International Market, and designer stores. Two or three blocks to the beach. Close to several restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tataryta
Business
honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 16, 2013

my stay

The room was so small!! Honestly the smallest room I've ever been in n it wasn't cheap either! Also the next morning i woke up with bed bug bites or something n i didn't have them the night before. I don't think I'll ever go back although the staff at the front desk were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
latinjew
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Aug 8, 2013

If Mediocre is what you want, its what you get!

My husband and I booked our two week (17 night) stay at this hotel. Upon arrival they placed us in a room the size of a walk in closet, with a "queen bed". They didn't have enough parking to accommodate us, and even if they did it was $25.00/ night. they actually sent us looking for street parking or to other hotels. we ended up parking at the Banyan, for 80/ wk. After one night in the first room, of which I ended up on the floor, i complained and asked for another room. They stubbornly moved us from the room into a slightly larger room on the 9th floor. They really should advertise or for worn guests that the street facing suits are loud, and pick up every sound of trash trucks and cars passing by. every morning at 6 am or earlier, we were woken up by noise of trash truck, and loading docks, since the hotel is right next to a foodland loading area. Oh and bed bugs. wonderful right? I called the travel agency to see if we could switch hotels without paying a fee and they were going to accommodate us except that its summer, and hotels didn't have vacancy for the dates we were there.We couldn't afford to change hotels last minute for the one that did have vacancy (800/ night). My husband being a type 1 diabetic who needs regular sleep to maintain stable blood sugars, couldn't take it anymore and so i had to PAY $10/night +tax to be moved to the far back corner with no view, what they call a deluxe suit because it has a sleeper sofa.I shouldn't have had to pay. Look i know its not a five star hotel, but its not a 2 star either. I've stayed at motel's better than this. This was my first trip ever to Hawai'i, and if it hadn't been our honeymoon, then it probably wouldn't have bothered me as much, but this was our honeymoon and our memories are tainted by the horrible experience in this hotel. They staff at the front desk is not very knowledgable, with the exception of the manager. Who i was told comes in after 11am. To add to the crazy, this hotel has private suits that they rent out to locals. Just odd to mis travelers with locals like that. They have restaurants on sight that seem to always be closed. On the upside: very close to the beach, and if you go around the corner on Kuhio, there is a place called Ruffage that has amazing organic and vegetarian optional food. The ABC store can be cheaper for some things than Foodland, and if you want henna tatoos there's a great little place inside the international market called rainbow something, i can't recall the complete name, that does amazing fast work. If you get a chance, take a walk along the channel if you have a car go to the North SHore and lastly, no matter what your heritage is or beliefs are, respect the land. that includes the tees, if you go for a hike, and the animals in the water, like the fish and turtles. Don't harm them because you are curious. Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes inside the Surf-rider hotel is amazing, and relatively cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oneirt
Business
United States
Sep 30, 2013

noisy

Room was very small and never cooled much even with air conditioning on high. Very noisy location, even 12 stories up still heard every siren and loud exhaust. Not enough parking, very small parking places, and they charge you $20/day! Poor value for the $150 / night price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 15, 2010

Horrible experience

We checked in around 9pm. There was only one employee available to check in several guests. It took a very long time. When we finally got our turn they booked us for the wrong room. They said that they could not fix the problem until the next day. They never did. My friend and I had to share a one bed unit. It was the size of a closet. I checked out of the hotel two days ago and still have not recieved my deposit back. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 21, 2011

Disgusting

I have been traveling almost weekly for 8 years and can safely say that this was the worst hotel that I have stayed at. The front lobby is the best feature and at best be categorized as a youth hostel feel. I do not know if I can remember all the issues with our room, which was a supposed upgrade to a "suite": room next to elevator which sounded like a jet taking off; red (blood?) and clear (other bodily fluids?) stains on decorative curtains; so many stains on floor that we always wore sandals in our room; curtains to keep the light out were 30% ripped out so you couldn't darken the room; was on 8th floor and could still here traffic below; little room to maneuver around the bed and supposedly the suite was more roomy; only place to put toiletries in shower was a soap dish; uncomfortable bed; and other things that I can't remember. We had looong waits for the elvator. A night front desk employee acted like we were inconveniencing him when we stopped by to register our vehicle. The pool is about the size of a large hot tub. The morning buffet is only offered 7-8:30am. We slept so poorly, we were exhausted during the day. It was so bad, we paid for an additional hotel for a few nights (since we couldn't get any $ back on this one) so we could get some sleep and enjoy our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 20, 2007

Avoid this place

We had to park two blocks away for $18 perday The room was about the size of a cruise ship room. If this was a 3 star hotel, I would hate to see a 1 star. There was no water for about 15 min. then no hot water for another 10 min. We stay for about 2 hours and friends of ours that were visiting, found some friends to stay with. So we wasted our money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top