$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
271 reviews
BEST VALUE FOR THE COST

I look for value when I go to Hawaii, not room luxury. There are a few amenities at this hotel, and... See full review

  • Robert K.
  • Jul 23, 2015
Worked for what we needed

Having a bed in another room worked out really well - allowed for a little privacy for the people... See full review

  • SkaterLisa
  • Aug 14, 2015

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. In the chic pool area you will find a cafe, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience. The smoke-free property is offering hotel-wide Wi-Fi access for added convenience.

General
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Dining

Diners start the day with daily continental breakfast on site before heading out. Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Property features

Fun, hip and affordable sanctuary off the main strip

Highlights
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
  • Daily continental breakfast
Nearby attractions
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.
Transportation
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
  • Daily continental breakfast
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Policies
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

★★★
$95
3.4 / 5 344 reviews
★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 296 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 313 reviews
★★★
$99
3.4 / 5 310 reviews
★★★
$148
3.7 / 5 402 reviews
★★★
$94
2.9 / 5 98 reviews
★★★
$135
3.8 / 5 108 reviews
★★★
$92
3.4 / 5 137 reviews
★★★
$119
3.0 / 5 70 reviews

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. WiFi access. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. WiFi access. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. WiFi access. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pamfilo
Couples
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Good Value for the price

The Aqua Aloha Surf is a good value for its price. The room was clean and the bed felt good after a long day of sightseeing. For those of you who only spent time in your room to sleep because you are out and about spending the extra cash you saved on your room, this hotel is the place for you. Two blocks from Waikiki beach and the International Market Place, my favorite places to go. The staff is friendly and I plan to stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Food Pantry (grocery store) and ABC Store (convenient store) are close as well as the bus stop and inexpensive places to eat (Subway, KFC, Taco Bell, Burger King or try Hawaiian Fast food i.e. Spam Musubi at ABC Store and Food Pantry.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Jun 11, 2007

people friendly

The hotel was very neat and well managed. The night shift people were the best. Very helpful in al areas. The room was spacious and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything you needed food, shopping, the beach all within walking distance.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris79
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jun 10, 2007

Good Place for Money

I stayed in this hotel from June 6th to June 10th for 4 days. It was a nice stay. We were two people. The room is very much comfortable for two. The hotel is very close to famous Waikiki beach and Bus stop. The shopping center is very near. You find lot of ABC stores where one can buy all the groceries required. I have taken a superior room, it has got small refrigerator, Microwave and free internet browsing. The hotel lobby is very good. The contenental breakfast was Ok. They have given muffin, Doughnet, fruits and juices for the breakfast. The only problem is the car parking. They charge $15 per day. But i have taken car for only a day to visit Hanauma Bay and North shore other car is not neccessary in Honolulu. Bus facility in Honolulu is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you take a taxi from Airport it will cost around $30 to $35. There will be a bus service (Robert's travel), they charge only $15 to and fro.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
May 24, 2008

Very Satisfied

I was very satisfied with this hotel. Especialy for the money we paid . THe only thing that i recommend is that you ask for a bigger room . but overall it was a great experiance :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is near the shops and beach .

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 24, 2007

My review of Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel is a great find! Room was very clean and well maintained with confortable bed. Staff was exceptionaly frendly and helpful and worked with us to find a parking spot the first night before they were able to provide a reservation for subsequent nights at their somwhat limited parking garage. Easy walk to beach (two blocks), nearby good and fast food restaurants and the local tour bus pickup location. Some street noise at night, but that is typical of entire area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you wish a larger breakfast than the continental provided by the hotel, there is a great place for breakfast about a block from the hotel towards the beach on the same, hotel, side of the street. We also enjoyed dinner here one night.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit, MI
May 17, 2007

Very family friendly

very good for the money. Excellent service, very friendly staff. Excelent lcation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk to the beach, about 5 min.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Anchorage, AK
Mar 5, 2008

Wonderful Staff

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel was very nice. We had a nice sized room with a very good view. We had a mini-fridge, microwave, sink and dishes. It was very convenient as we traveled with a 3 year old and needed a place for his snacks and milk, etc. The staff was amazingly nice and helpful. They offer a continental breakfast with bread, bagels, etc. Very basic stuff and it gets kinda old if you are staying awhile...but hey, free is good! The pool is very small and does not have a kiddie area but appeared to be well maintained. I have only two complaints. The first being that the bathroom was very small and that the bathtub was a little scary looking. The other is that parking costs $18/day! We could have saved a little by parking 4 or more blocks away but it was not worth it to us to drag our tired, whiney kiddo back to the hotel after long days out. Seems that is pretty much the standard for Waikiki but it still stinks that the parking cost more then the actual car rental cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very near just about everything. It is only a couple blocks from the beach, Denny's, ABC stores, nightclubs, and just about everything else. Lots of places to eat. We got a coupon book when we checked in that had some BOGO for places nearby.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2007

Great Location

Great Location and reasonably priced. I'd definitely recommend it for the budget conscious traveler who also is looking for quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of restaurants, nightlife, and shopping close to this hotel.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Anchorage, AK
Nov 4, 2008

Close to food and shopping

The Aqua Aloha Surf had a grocery behind the parking lot. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and sink and dishes in its'kitchenette. The continental breakfast lasts from 7am-8:30am, and consists of coffee, watered down juice or Tang, muffins, thick oatmeal, toast, and sliced fruit. Sometimes they had chocolate covered mini-doughnuts. Apples were always available on the check-in counter. The room had a hair-dryer, iron, and ironing board. The shower was small but adequate. The room safe is nice, at no additional charge. The television was clear. Local phone calls are free. There is no view from any side of this hotel, although the room had a balcony. Our balcony had a view of other buildings. Our seventh floor room, on the back side of the building was nice and quiet. We heard that the street side could be noisy. It was a short walk to the beach (about 3/10 of a mile) The hotel pool was quite small, with only 6 lounge chairs poolside. Many restaurants are nearby-like a Porgy's buffet, Chilis, KFC, Burger King, Round Table Pizza, etc.. King's Villa shopping center is one block away. Changing of the guard is at 6pm. A 24 hour doctor is less than 2 blocks away, on the ground floor of the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani. There is an additional charge to park a car. We didn't need one. We took the city bus for $2. Check thebus.org The bus stop was a block from the hotel, in front of Porgy's. We were able to walk a mile and a half to the Ala Moana mall with no problems. The major bus connections also meet there. You can check out free beach towels at the front desk. There is a massage room, of which we never took advantage. The nearest post office is on the third floor of the Waikiki Shopping Plaza. But the front desk will take your mail. They just don't have stamps. We saw a fitness room that had a treadmill, and one or two other aerobic machines. We didn't ever take advantage of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese/American in the hotel. One block away is Porgy's buffet. Within 2 blocks -Chili's, KFC, Burger King, Round Table Pizza. Don't forget to try Teddy's Burgers across the street from the Zoo. They have great shakes, too. Red Lobster and Outback Steakhouse,one mile away.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Edmonton, AB
Oct 31, 2008

Good value for money

The Aqua Aloha Surf is a good hotel for the money. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, and close to most of the budget restaurants in the area including the only grocery store. I would stay there again for a good budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk straight down the street 3 blocks to the beach; turn left, right beside the police station.

Back to menu Return to top