$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco
Nov 20, 2010

Hotel for the cost conscious

Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki with the beach, tourist shops, and transportation only a few blocks walk away. Some of the pros include having wired high speed internet, free breakfast, secure locker for storing personal items, microwave, refrigerator, ironing board and a coffee maker. The cons were mainly the small size of the room and bed, small flat screen television with no hi-def channels, no chair or desk, and the street noise of Waikiki night light. Overall, this is a reasonably price hotel to stay for travelers who don't want anything fancy and looking to save on money for hotel expenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas,Tx
Nov 15, 2010

Good Basic Hotel & Location, Great Value

The breakfast was OK for a quick snack in the morning. (Pancakes, toast, muffin, oatmeal, orange & apple slices, coffee.) The hotel location was good (almost center of Waikiki). It was within walking distance to the beach and the stores. There is also grocery store just around the corner. The staff were very friendly and the lobby was nice for a small hotel. The room was clean and small. The room air conditioner was either on or off so was the only thing that was a bit annoying. There was no bathtub in our small bathroom. We were on a lower floor facing the street. The noise from the street was not noticeable except for a few garbage trucks backing up in early morning. Overall, for the room was satisfied. The experience at the hotel was overall very satisfied. It ended up being a very good value after spending most of the day and evening around town or sightseeing. It was a nice place to come back to after a busy day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Makitti Japanese Restaurant(Buffet) nearby in the old Perry Smorgys location. It uses Hello Kitty to attract tourists. The restaurant is all outdoors. The sushi has no covers and was gross with several flies landing on. We liked the Teppanyaki, but if you like sushi, please go somewhere else. Go to some other Japanese restaurant or go to Todai if looking for Buffet.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
want more
Couples
new york
Nov 15, 2010

Aqua review

The hotel is more of a 2.5. I think that 3's should be clean and not run down. The hotel looos old andis very noisy. Can hear all traffic outside. The free breakfast was great and it is locaed close to everythbing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
kingston,tenn
Nov 14, 2010

great getaway

good location, easy find attractions. trolly are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take your walking shoes.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meddin
Friends
Victoria, BC, Canada
Nov 14, 2010

Welcome to Paradise

The Hotel was very good, the rooms were clean and had the right size to enjoy a wonderful vacation in Honolulu. We travelled to both Maui and the Big Island during our stay, which was pretty exhausting, but simply the best thing to do. Hawaii is the best place I have ever been, beautiful nature and unbelievable beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Wasilla, Alaska
Oct 22, 2010

Accomodating

They accomodated my reservation to allow my college age daughter to check in before I got there. It's in a busy part of the city, so the weekend traffic, sirens kept waking me up (5th floor). Clean, cool, beds were comfortable. I asked for the room upgrade to get the 2 twins, and it wasn't expensive to do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike & Cyndi
Couples
St Charles, MO
Oct 17, 2010

Fine hotel, good location

The Aloha Surf is an adequate hotel. It is clean and reasonably priced. We had a "deluxe" room which was a bit on the small side but livable. We missed some furniture that is usual in typical hotels like a table and chair(s). You either had to sit on the bed (which was a queen) or pull the plastic chairs from the lanise inside. The room came with a small fridge which we used quite a bit and also a microwave. There is a small grocer next door so you can buy food or other items. The breakfast is ok if you like pancakes, small baked goods, toast, coffee and tea. Believe me, you get tired of it after a few days and we stayed 7 days. The pool is small but workable. I don't know why you would go when you are two blocks from the beach, but my wife doesn't like sand and spent a few days going to the pool. It can become crowded after 4-5 people - especially if there are kids involved. We also found the room service a bit strange. They clean the vacant rooms first (I can understand that) which means your room gets cleaned in the afternoon. Ours usually happened around 2:30. It was just different for us when we are expecting to leave in the morning to do things and come back to a cleaned room in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if the price is right. We went through the Entertainment book which had a great package deal, but I think you can also get good rates using other means too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When buying a luau (we went to Paradise Cove), stay with the basic ticket. The seating isn't that much different from the higher priced seats and you can spend the difference on booze if you want to instead of it already being in the price (you get one or two extra drink tickets typically and are in the $5-8 range). The buffet food is the same for everyone and the roasted pig is great.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
nj
Oct 15, 2010

unbeatable location for a price

good location with really friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
chicago, il
Oct 12, 2010

not good

room was small even though we took upgrade. room was not clean,a lot of stains on sofa and all around room. fitness room includes 2 machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A disappointed couple/ Vacationers
Couples
Houston, TX
Oct 10, 2010

Ghetto, Devastating DO NOT STAY HERE !!

We strongly recommend you avoid booking with this hotel. ( YOU WILL REGRET IT ) This hotel is horrible, we arrived and checked in 7:06pm HST and called [...] by 7:20pm about the condition and the (lack)of cleanliness within the hotel and rooms. Ended up trying 3 rooms in which beds had pubic hair and stains. Needless to say by 11pm and 2 [...] reps later and the manager of the hotel permission we were processing refund paperwork. Just a quick note about the first person who they sent to check on the room: he not only started the conversation by accusing us with lying but he shouted and screamed at us. The security staff had to handle his "business" because he was unable to talk in a professional manner (entire staff lack professionalism). This hotel is completely unsafe and similar to any section 8 project in the ghetto of a major city. Stay away from this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top