$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
309 out of 309
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boogybear7
Business
portage in
Mar 30, 2011

price is right!

Priced perfectly. Is in the heart of the shopping district and just blocks from the beach. It is clean and has a mini kitchen. Pool is very small, parking is scarce and continental breakfast is not free as advertised. The tv is small too but who comes here to watch tv, right? The location is great for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seafood and sushi buffet at the corner is fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena ,ca
Mar 13, 2011

You get what you pay for!

Front desk service was ok. They could be more accommodating and friendly. The room we were in was small and noisy being on the street side. The shower could use a good cleaning and the shower curtain smelled like mold. It needed a wash. But we requested a room higher up on our 3rd day and they gave us a much nicer room. The inernet cable didn't work very well. Bring your own cable. Pay the extra money and get the deluxe room they are bigger and somewhat cleaner . Best thing is the location! It is close to everything ! International market, shops,dining,2 blocks from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honeybee
Business
los angeles, ca
Feb 20, 2011

****

it is very close to food market and waikiki, small but good to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

much cheaper to buy your food in the food market near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 21, 2011

Disgusting

I have been traveling almost weekly for 8 years and can safely say that this was the worst hotel that I have stayed at. The front lobby is the best feature and at best be categorized as a youth hostel feel. I do not know if I can remember all the issues with our room, which was a supposed upgrade to a "suite": room next to elevator which sounded like a jet taking off; red (blood?) and clear (other bodily fluids?) stains on decorative curtains; so many stains on floor that we always wore sandals in our room; curtains to keep the light out were 30% ripped out so you couldn't darken the room; was on 8th floor and could still here traffic below; little room to maneuver around the bed and supposedly the suite was more roomy; only place to put toiletries in shower was a soap dish; uncomfortable bed; and other things that I can't remember. We had looong waits for the elvator. A night front desk employee acted like we were inconveniencing him when we stopped by to register our vehicle. The pool is about the size of a large hot tub. The morning buffet is only offered 7-8:30am. We slept so poorly, we were exhausted during the day. It was so bad, we paid for an additional hotel for a few nights (since we couldn't get any $ back on this one) so we could get some sleep and enjoy our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Dec 31, 2010

Mixed experience

The people at the hotel were extremely helpful. The room they initially allocated to us was well below par for a 3-4* hotel. They did upgrade us into a much better room for the last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 30, 2010

Location!

The location was great. we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and having a travel agent right in the hotel was a big plus. Downside was that the breakfast was, well...bad. very little fruit, some not so good waffels and some juice. However the rooms were clean and they did give free beach towels. Over all a good place for the money and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are wanting a good nightlife experience sign up for a pub crawl. There are people all over the streets wanting to sign you up and it is really the way to go to have a fun eventfull night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The lone vactioner
Business
Seattle WA
Dec 26, 2010

Get what you pay for....

I spent a min amount of time at the hotel. It was good for sleeping and that was a about it. $20 for parking every night, pretty steep. The last two days the water pressure dropped to nothing in the sink and shower. The free wi-fi only worked for the first day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Diamond head was worth the drive with a great view at the top.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huihou Guys
Business
Eagle, ID
Dec 18, 2010

Fantastic Trip!

The room was noisy with the wind, but all and all it was a good experience. Wish the breakfast would have had a better fresh fruit selection as it was quite boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kanagawa Japan
Dec 15, 2010

nice!!

Break fast is good. I like it !! Staff is so kind and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luis Flores
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 12, 2010

OK but not excellent

Personal OK, Not an aloha experience, rooms ok too, when the clean room always forgot check shower to remove used towels and empty bottles,front room are to noisy, you can't sleep passing 6 AM to much cars and trucks,windows are old,bed are small,breakfast OK not much fruits,Personally I won't stay there again,Parking too small and $20 a day that is a robbery,[...] should mention rates in reviews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO to Golden duck or Ala Moana mall, both places are cheaps and good food, special Golden Duck A lot food for prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top