$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
306 reviews
Awesome intro to Hawaii

From the beginning, the staff at the front desk was always helpful and gave great info on buses,... See full review

  • Ed.470
  • Jan 15, 2015
Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you... See full review

  • 808Princess
  • Apr 3, 2014
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. That means in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary newspaper, mini fridge and more. In the chic pool area you will find a café, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Complimentary signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, in-room high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (306)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 21, 2011

Disgusting

I have been traveling almost weekly for 8 years and can safely say that this was the worst hotel that I have stayed at. The front lobby is the best feature and at best be categorized as a youth hostel feel. I do not know if I can remember all the issues with our room, which was a supposed upgrade to a "suite": room next to elevator which sounded like a jet taking off; red (blood?) and clear (other bodily fluids?) stains on decorative curtains; so many stains on floor that we always wore sandals in our room; curtains to keep the light out were 30% ripped out so you couldn't darken the room; was on 8th floor and could still here traffic below; little room to maneuver around the bed and supposedly the suite was more roomy; only place to put toiletries in shower was a soap dish; uncomfortable bed; and other things that I can't remember. We had looong waits for the elvator. A night front desk employee acted like we were inconveniencing him when we stopped by to register our vehicle. The pool is about the size of a large hot tub. The morning buffet is only offered 7-8:30am. We slept so poorly, we were exhausted during the day. It was so bad, we paid for an additional hotel for a few nights (since we couldn't get any $ back on this one) so we could get some sleep and enjoy our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Dec 31, 2010

Mixed experience

The people at the hotel were extremely helpful. The room they initially allocated to us was well below par for a 3-4* hotel. They did upgrade us into a much better room for the last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 30, 2010

Location!

The location was great. we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and having a travel agent right in the hotel was a big plus. Downside was that the breakfast was, well...bad. very little fruit, some not so good waffels and some juice. However the rooms were clean and they did give free beach towels. Over all a good place for the money and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are wanting a good nightlife experience sign up for a pub crawl. There are people all over the streets wanting to sign you up and it is really the way to go to have a fun eventfull night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The lone vactioner
Business
Seattle WA
Dec 26, 2010

Get what you pay for....

I spent a min amount of time at the hotel. It was good for sleeping and that was a about it. $20 for parking every night, pretty steep. The last two days the water pressure dropped to nothing in the sink and shower. The free wi-fi only worked for the first day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Diamond head was worth the drive with a great view at the top.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huihou Guys
Business
Eagle, ID
Dec 18, 2010

Fantastic Trip!

The room was noisy with the wind, but all and all it was a good experience. Wish the breakfast would have had a better fresh fruit selection as it was quite boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kanagawa Japan
Dec 15, 2010

nice!!

Break fast is good. I like it !! Staff is so kind and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luis Flores
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 12, 2010

OK but not excellent

Personal OK, Not an aloha experience, rooms ok too, when the clean room always forgot check shower to remove used towels and empty bottles,front room are to noisy, you can't sleep passing 6 AM to much cars and trucks,windows are old,bed are small,breakfast OK not much fruits,Personally I won't stay there again,Parking too small and $20 a day that is a robbery,[...] should mention rates in reviews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO to Golden duck or Ala Moana mall, both places are cheaps and good food, special Golden Duck A lot food for prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Dec 8, 2010

Hotel or residence?

I think some people live here!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 2, 2010

Not what we expected

Although the staff were trying very hard to be accommodating the hotel is not at all what it seems to be from the pictures online. The hotel is on an undesirable street. Actually the majority of Waikiki Beach is very dirty and "sketchy". There were many times we did not feel safe. We had to have housekeeping sent to really detail the bathroom due to it being so dirty eg. hair in the shower and on the floor. The breakfast is kind of a joke. They serve the same items every day and it continually runs out and you wait for it to be restocked. There is not enough seating for everyone so people are just trying to sit wherever they can. The price of the Hotel is very good but UPGRADE to a bigger room. The rooms are very small and the a/c does not work well at all. I think that you can find similarly priced hotels closer to the beach. I would recommend spending more and upgrading to a nicer hotel. If we were to plan another trip to Hawaii we would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Go Oahu cards from Smart Destinations. You pay for 1, 3 or 5 day activity cards and you save a lot of money. We were able to go to Germaine's Luau (a $72 value) as our free item with a 3 day card purchase. We ordered them online from the Honolulu Costco and saved even more money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Dec 1, 2010

Great view

Our 9th floor room has a great view over the golf course and the river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top