$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 24, 2015 Check-out: Mar 25, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Aqua-Aloha-Surf-Waikiki-Pool
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
308 reviews
Awesome intro to Hawaii

From the beginning, the staff at the front desk was always helpful and gave great info on buses,... See full review

  • Ed.470
  • Jan 15, 2015
family trip

this hotel loctoin is ver y good and also neer to becah and frinedly sttaf See full review

  • Ahmad M.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. That means in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary newspaper, mini fridge and more. In the chic pool area you will find a café, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Complimentary signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, in-room high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (308)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cjvirk
Business
usa
Oct 28, 2011

staff

friendly staff.they were helpfull all the time. do like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
david2kawika
Business
seattle, wa
Oct 22, 2011

Aqua in October

mid oct. perfect time. The staff was right on top of things. location was one of the best in the 25 or so years I have been visiting in oct. Could use some . new curtains. Overall a very good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check out international market food court.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sara Jo
Business
California, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Vacation

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel was pretty good. The room that I was in had a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. So that is a plus. One downfall is that there was not a complimentary breakfast. I would say the location is great. It is right by an ABC Store and by a bus stop. It was only a two block walk to Waikiki Beach, so I thought it was nice to have that little break form the hustle right by the beach. The room was clean, I did not have any trouble with that what so ever. The only thing is that the hotel itself is a little old. Overall the room was comfortable. The beds were great, I didn't have any trouble with that. Again, just that the rooms were a little outdated, especially the bathroom. For a plus, the hotel did supply a iron and ironing board. The staff! They were great. Our flight did not leave until nine at night and they gladly stored our bags for free in their back room. They also called a shuttle and just helped out through out the whole week. It was great. I don't think you could ask for any better service. I think for the price that we got was sufficient for the value of hotel that we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keeper
Business
Wasilla Alaska
Oct 18, 2011

It was good,

Staff were very helpful, and nice, room needs improvment,small TV,bathroom needs improvment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SHORTGUY
Business
OCEANSIDE, CA
Sep 28, 2011

Downtown off the Strip

I used to live in Hawai'i so anytime I return its kind of odd. I am 6 foot 3 and the bed was rather small (my feet hung off). The room was rather small, the only place to sit was the bed. I did notice a few small bugs in the shower when I first arrived. I was visiting the island for a funeral so I did not make the staff aware of my size issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO SOON'S IN THE SALTLAKE AREA!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 27, 2011

It`s nice hotel

It was nice hotel, third time at the same hotel but they change some things, like you have to pay for a breakfast and its $ 5 per person whats more the same each time they should make a changes every second day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

chillis very good restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oalex71478
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Work escape

Took a one week vacation from work. The hotel was within walking distance of both the beach and the strip which was very convenient. The renovated pool and cabana was very nice. Unfortunately, the room smelled of mold and the sheets and couch had stains on them,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valerie T
Business
Wichita, KS
Sep 13, 2011

wonderful hotel! Aqua Aloha Surf is perfect!

It was perfect, all around. For the price, it couldn't get any better. Only 2 blocks away from the beach, I could see part of the ocean, and the city from my 15th floor room. The hotel staff were very nice, especially the maintance, (they came to fix my internet) & the house keeping were great! The front dest staff were exceptionally nice. I will definitely stay here my next time in Hawaii. OH and if you book any tours, its only a block walk to the bus stop, SO worth it! Stay at this HOTEL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

DEFINITELY book the tour to the PARADISE COVE LUAU!!!! It was soooo incredible. The bus picked us up at the hotel a block away, and we got there and it was SO amazing. AWESOME drinks, INCREDIBLE dinner, amazing shows, and several complimentary activities. It was so awesome. This is a can't miss. You haven't been to Hawaii if you haven't been to the Paradise Cove Luau!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kala
Business
Bakersfield, California
Sep 10, 2011

Great location! Clean & Comfortable Hotel!

Friendly staff and good weekly rate. Enjoyed the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kailua beach. Beautiful, family oriented and getting away from the Waikiki crowd. Love Kailua!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miko
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Aug 16, 2011

Good location

My overall experience of this hotel was pleasant. The location was very good, close to the beach, restaurant, and shopping areas. Hotel itself is old and room is small, but for the price I paid, I am satisfied. The staffs were very nice and friendly. If you are looking for a cheap hotel in Waikiki, I will recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Makapuu Point State Park (Lighthouse) for hiking. You will see a fantastic view from the top. A million dollar view for no cost to you. Don't forget to bring a water bottle and put on sunscreen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top