$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
520 reviews
Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you... See full review

  • 808Princess
  • Apr 3, 2014
Location Location etc

Great value , excelent location, nice vibe will return See full review

  • Peche86
  • Sep 30, 2013
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. That means in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary newspaper, mini fridge and more. In the chic pool area you will find a café, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Complimentary signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, in-room high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2791 -157.8236
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Within walking distance to shopping, dining, golf, snorkeling and more. Conveniently secluded just two blocks from world famous Waikiki Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (520)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
520 out of 520
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nlpazmin
Louisville, KY
Apr 29, 2012

Great Stay

This was really nice hotel for the money, not luxurious, but it was clean, beds were comfortable, clean room. We didn't have any bug problems at all. It was two blocks walking distance from the beach, and close to Kuhio Ave, where there is a lot of restaurants, and stores to check out. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nack
Ellensburg, WA, USA
Apr 20, 2012

great housekeeping, terrible room for the price

The housekeeping was wonderful, but that's just about it when it comes to great things in this resort. Our toilet was clogged when we got there, and the maintenance worker who came to fix it had a little attitude when we told him it was already clogged. He delivered a smart alec remark and we didn't appreciate that too much. We were told that we had a partial city view on the 8th floor, and then found out that we were directly facing a building and could almost see into their room. The AC unit worked wonderfully, but the pull out bed was extremely uncomfortable for my brother and I. we also did not have a lock on our bathroom door and the shower was rusty along with the rest of the bathroom. We paid a good amount of money for this trip, and the hotel was probably one of the biggest downfalls. Location was great (close to the beach) but I'd recommend spending a little more money at one of the nicer resorts even closer to the beach (Sheraton Princess, Moana Surfrider, etc) We also had to pay $20 a night for parking our rental car, as well as $4.95 per person every day for the "free continental breakfast" only offered to those who directly booked with the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market (right across from the Moana Surfrider Hotel by Waikiki Beach) has a huge variety of foods to choose from, like Korean BBQ, Filipino cuisine, Curry, and all other kinds of foods! Not that expensive and the Korean BBQ place gives huge plates of food! Also, the ice cream at the Hagen Daas place was amazing and only about $5 for a huge waffle cone and a decent amount of ice cream! :)

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SurfMurfy
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Served its purpose

This hotel served its purpose for our trip. All we needed was clean place to keep our stuff, take showers and sleep and it provided all of those things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy food at the Food Pantry across the parking lot next door to the hotel and make simple meals in your room. It will save a lot of cash.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martin82
Praha, Česká republika
Apr 6, 2012

Great value, clean, comfortable

We were very happy choosing this hotel. Great price, clean, cable internet in the room, very good location. The parking in the hotel costs 20 USD for 24hours. One day we arrived earlier and were lucky to found a space in the street for free. There is a breakfest served in the hotel, it cost 5 USD I think and it was poor, the staff was not nice and it was not clean. I would say this is not organized by hotel itself. I would pay a bit more for a better breakfest. But it is so easy to eat anywhere else around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
afrirado
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Good place

They gave me a tiny room at the corner of second and could only see the garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kyoung
San Rafael, CA
Mar 12, 2012

Musty

It was in a good area, whereas near the beach, food and stores. But once we got in the room it was musty and the air was broken. We had to switch rooms and it was a bit better. It was really small, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hironrob
Waikiki, Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Not 3 star worthy

Staff was nice, parking price per day is just insane housekeeping did clean the room but you have to ask them to change the sheets otherwise they don't. Overall it's not the best for the price so it should not even get a star! I've stayed in motels that where much more nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to look around, there are alot of great eating spots that are tucked away so keep an eye out

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Bridge Player
Miami
Feb 28, 2012

Good location

Comfortable hotel just 3 blocks from beach on the quiet Ala Wai canal. Room was comfortable. Parking is $20 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just behind a food market, with plenty of restaurants in the area: Dennys, KFC, Subway, Burger King, Starbucks, etc. all within 2-3 blocks.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackie4travel
Business
Laupahoehoe, Hawaii
Feb 23, 2012

Affordable with refrigerator and microwave

We came on a Tuesday just in time for the manager's happy hour!! Great staff, comfortable room with a couch, coffee table and balcony. We had a full size and twin bed, perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Almario
san Francisco, CA
Feb 10, 2012

super vacation

Taking everything into account, I believe that it was good value to stay at this hotel. Hotel staff are friendly, room is clean, great location, where food court (at International Market Place) Grocery store (across the street) shopping stores and Waikiki beach is less than 5 minute walk. Hotel charges $20/night for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top