$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darryn Travelling Kitty
Friends
Vancouver, B.C.
May 7, 2012

Good and affordable

Would recommend this hotel for those coming to honolulu for the first time and wanted to save some $$ while doing it. Parking is expensive, $20 per day. Would recommend not driving if at all possible, but we did manage to park at the Banyan 5 blocks up the street for $60 for the week. This hotel doesn't have a great restaurant and a tiny gym set - but its a great place to lay your head at night. Two blocks from Waikiki. Quite satisfied with the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Aloha stadium for the SWAP meet where there are better deals on local products and ukuleles. I also recommend checking out the managers meet and greet - free cocktails on Tuesday evenings!!

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nlpazmin
Family
Louisville, KY
Apr 29, 2012

Great Stay

This was really nice hotel for the money, not luxurious, but it was clean, beds were comfortable, clean room. We didn't have any bug problems at all. It was two blocks walking distance from the beach, and close to Kuhio Ave, where there is a lot of restaurants, and stores to check out. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UH Mom
Single
Texas
Apr 29, 2012

I go to Waikiki often

I go to Waikiki 3-4 times a year to visit my kid who goes to the local university and I chose this hotel because my usual hotel was booked and the price for this was was right. The location near the canal side and Ala Wai is good for me, but someone who is visiting Honolulu for the first time probably should spring for a more expensive hotel closer the beach. I probably won't stay here again, and the reason is best reason is summed up in two words: roach hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk toward the beach and turn right at Kuhio street and within three blocks, there is an udon restaurant where two people can eat excellent food for under $20.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nack
Family
Ellensburg, WA, USA
Apr 20, 2012

great housekeeping, terrible room for the price

The housekeeping was wonderful, but that's just about it when it comes to great things in this resort. Our toilet was clogged when we got there, and the maintenance worker who came to fix it had a little attitude when we told him it was already clogged. He delivered a smart alec remark and we didn't appreciate that too much. We were told that we had a partial city view on the 8th floor, and then found out that we were directly facing a building and could almost see into their room. The AC unit worked wonderfully, but the pull out bed was extremely uncomfortable for my brother and I. we also did not have a lock on our bathroom door and the shower was rusty along with the rest of the bathroom. We paid a good amount of money for this trip, and the hotel was probably one of the biggest downfalls. Location was great (close to the beach) but I'd recommend spending a little more money at one of the nicer resorts even closer to the beach (Sheraton Princess, Moana Surfrider, etc) We also had to pay $20 a night for parking our rental car, as well as $4.95 per person every day for the "free continental breakfast" only offered to those who directly booked with the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market (right across from the Moana Surfrider Hotel by Waikiki Beach) has a huge variety of foods to choose from, like Korean BBQ, Filipino cuisine, Curry, and all other kinds of foods! Not that expensive and the Korean BBQ place gives huge plates of food! Also, the ice cream at the Hagen Daas place was amazing and only about $5 for a huge waffle cone and a decent amount of ice cream! :)

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SurfMurfy
Family
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Served its purpose

This hotel served its purpose for our trip. All we needed was clean place to keep our stuff, take showers and sleep and it provided all of those things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy food at the Food Pantry across the parking lot next door to the hotel and make simple meals in your room. It will save a lot of cash.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martin82
Friends
Praha, Česká republika
Apr 6, 2012

Great value, clean, comfortable

We were very happy choosing this hotel. Great price, clean, cable internet in the room, very good location. The parking in the hotel costs 20 USD for 24hours. One day we arrived earlier and were lucky to found a space in the street for free. There is a breakfest served in the hotel, it cost 5 USD I think and it was poor, the staff was not nice and it was not clean. I would say this is not organized by hotel itself. I would pay a bit more for a better breakfest. But it is so easy to eat anywhere else around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kyoung
Friends
San Rafael, CA
Mar 12, 2012

Musty

It was in a good area, whereas near the beach, food and stores. But once we got in the room it was musty and the air was broken. We had to switch rooms and it was a bit better. It was really small, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Bridge Player
Miami
Feb 28, 2012

Good location

Comfortable hotel just 3 blocks from beach on the quiet Ala Wai canal. Room was comfortable. Parking is $20 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just behind a food market, with plenty of restaurants in the area: Dennys, KFC, Subway, Burger King, Starbucks, etc. all within 2-3 blocks.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackie4travel
Business
Laupahoehoe, Hawaii
Feb 23, 2012

Affordable with refrigerator and microwave

We came on a Tuesday just in time for the manager's happy hour!! Great staff, comfortable room with a couch, coffee table and balcony. We had a full size and twin bed, perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
too much
Couples
Mississippi, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Average

It was just average. Wasn't anything special. Probably would have got a better area and room if I had had that information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top