$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 30, 2007

Very friendly hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly. Offers you complimentary beach towels to use and bring back! Footsteps away from Waikiki Beach. Superior Room kind of small, but good for two people just looking to sleep and relax a little. You'll be at the beach mostly. Clean rooms, just noisy and parking is difficult. Make sure you park in the designated areas and times otherwise Oahu does not hesistate to tow cars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Aloha Stadium Flea Market for souveiners!! A lot cheaper!!! Most hotels have shuttles to pick you up and drop you off. Ask your front desk. Most tourist attractions have shuttles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 30, 2007

Very friendly hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly. Offers you complimentary beach towels to use and bring back! Footsteps away from Waikiki Beach. Superior Room kind of small, but good for two people just looking to sleep and relax a little. You'll be at the beach mostly. Clean rooms, just noisy and parking is difficult. Make sure you park in the designated areas and times otherwise Oahu does not hesistate to tow cars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Aloha Stadium Flea Market for souveiners!! A lot cheaper!!! Most hotels have shuttles to pick you up and drop you off. Ask your front desk. Most tourist attractions have shuttles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 24, 2007

My review of Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel

I was somwhat disappointed with an unfriendly male receptionist, who did not tell me about the hotel parking fee of $18 per day. The room is small and not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good buffet restaurant with resonable price within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 21, 2007

Great for Biz

Just needed a place to stay and sleep, as this was a total biz trip. Way better than expected for the money, as the dollar value was really, really good. Easy walk to Waikiki and everyhting you want (about two easy blocks puts you smack int he middle of the beach and strip). Would give this five stars in that respect, which is exactly what I needed while I was there. Really clean, safe, people tremendous. One caveat: little parking, but that was OK for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to get to everything associated with Waikiki

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 20, 2007

Avoid this place

We had to park two blocks away for $18 perday The room was about the size of a cruise ship room. If this was a 3 star hotel, I would hate to see a 1 star. There was no water for about 15 min. then no hot water for another 10 min. We stay for about 2 hours and friends of ours that were visiting, found some friends to stay with. So we wasted our money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

great for weekend getaway

I liked the location of the hotel it is very central. The hotel was also very clean. Unfortanatly there was no parking available, so we had to park elsewhere. The room was clean and comfortable but small. The ac did not work to well it was a window unit and didn't get the room as cold as I would have liked. It was also very noisy in the morning due to the deliveries at the near by grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed drinks at the bar accross the street in the Sand Villa hotel open until 4am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 10, 2007

You get what you pay for

We just returned from a one week stay. I feel we received a fair value for our money. A couple of things that was not very pleasing to us was: 1. When we arried at midnight we were handed a map at the front desk where we might find parking as they did not have any parking left. I found a spot and had to have a wake up call at 6:30 am to move my car so that it wasn't towed and ticketed. We received a parking pass on the third day of our stay for $18.00 per day. 2. The free breakfast is a joke. 3 After viewing the room we were given we decided on upgrading at an additional $20 per day. (ell worth it) Good things: 1. A block and a half from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2007

Checkin Process

My daughter and I came straight to the hotel from the airport and arrived a little after noon. We asked if we could check in early and were told our room wasn't ready. Could we leave our luggage? Sure, then our luggage was taken up to the room - the one that wasn't ready. We sat in the lobby for two hours, too exhausted by the flight to do anything else. We were next to the pool, but my daughter couldn't go in - because her suit was in the room which we weren't allowed to be. Finally, we saw other families being checked in, so when our original clerk left the desk, I asked another, who kindly let us go to our room. Not a great welcome to Hawaii. Our room was very nice - roomy, with everything you could want. Overall, good value for the money, but lacking a bit in service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it's your first time to Hawaii, definitely check out the ABC Stores. Lowest price for souveniers and snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 7, 2007

Nice

This hotel seems to have been recently re-done. It has a clean look to it. The only real down side wat the the standard room for one person was really small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 5, 2007

A Pleasant Surprise

For the money, we were not expecting the hotel to be as modern, bright, clean, and well located as it turned out to be. Our original room was, in most ways, even better than we had anticipated. There was one window-style a/c in a corner of the room, but it was adequate in time to provide enough cooling to sleep well all night. The parking arrangements were a little odd: we had to park in the structure for another sister hotel down the street, but it wasn't all that inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a smorgasbord a short block from the hotel on a main drag; get a tourist booklet and use the coupon to save another dollar or two.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top