$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
302 reviews
Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you... See full review

  • 808Princess
  • Apr 3, 2014
Location Location etc

Great value , excelent location, nice vibe will return See full review

  • Peche86
  • Sep 30, 2013
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. That means in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary newspaper, mini fridge and more. In the chic pool area you will find a café, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Complimentary signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, in-room high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2791 -157.8236
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Within walking distance to shopping, dining, golf, snorkeling and more. Conveniently secluded just two blocks from world famous Waikiki Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (302)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New York Style 155
Queens, New York
Jul 10, 2012

Aloha Surf

Hotel was as advertised. Good location near everything, budget priced. Could use some updating, but overall good enough. LCD flat screen TV ( small one ), Mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave are excellent amenities in room. Air conditioner was just average. (Took some time to cool the room.) Daily housekeeping was good. Newspaper is available on ground floor near elevator and front desk. Would book again, but there are better alternatives for $30 - 50 more per nite. Aloha !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tanaka of Tokyo is very nice dining option. Japanese Teppayaki, like Benihana. Open daily at 5pm. Located nearby in King's Village, (across from Ohana East) Had dinner there on our last nite. Food was really tasty and (prep) show not bad either. $$

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sebby b
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 8, 2012

Great hotel

Great value for money centrally located in Waikiki. No need to stay beach front. Only 5 min walk to the beach. Beach towels & chairs come in really handy. Superior rooms with kitchenette are good size and clean. Handy to have fridge & microwave. Only one downside is the old and noise air conditioning in the room. We decided to leave the windows open as it was very noisy to sleep. If they replace the air conditioning units in the rooms I would give it a perfect score.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carolina mom 101
North Carolina
Jun 30, 2012

Below average room

Room overlooked noisy street and had old single paned noninsulated rollout windows that would not shut tight. Room was very hot and stuffy and took several hours for the air condition to cool it down. Bathroom small. Room too small for king size bed with pull out lumpy sofa sleeper. It did have a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, silverware, and dishes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from International Market, and designer stores. Two or three blocks to the beach. Close to several restaurants.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scottietisseu
texas
May 30, 2012

not my style but great for shopperholic

I was in Kauai before this hotel. This location is great for shopper. Very closed to busy street of honolulu. This is not my style. I think this can be great value for people who wants busy city experience. I hated parking. They do not have one for the guest sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mommy saver
California
May 18, 2012

Good to have and perfect for budget conscious!

the location was nice,accessible to the neareast foodmart(for those food budget conscious).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you don't want to eat on any dining restaurant,on the neareast food mart theres available food to go on single package style of "spam with wasabi".

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highlander447
Livingston, UK
May 14, 2012

A good place to stay

When we arrived we got there about 1:30pm and the lobby was crowded as a lot of tourists had just came off a cruise ship and it was chaos in the lobby, obviously our room wasn't ready my only complaint is we where told we would be called and it was pretty obvious this wouldn't happen due to the fact staff started dealing with customers who arrived after 3pm, so I had to get in line again and had to complain as quite a few older customers thought their age excused them the need to queue, we got in our room a little after 4pm we got room 1509 and it had a great view of the mountains, overall our checkin experience was not great but not actual staff's fault as their was no way this hotel seemed prepared for such a large influx of guests, also if we hadn't already stayed at hotel we wouldn't have been aware of the free internet or the free coffee as it wasn't mentioned at checkin We used the laundry room in our 10 day stay and it was okay the staff where helpful, we never ate at hotel although breakfast buffet was still $4.95 each and dinner buffet was $13.95, we did get a couple of hot dogs one day they where huge for only $1.50 and the bread was fresh, Edwards Cafe on site opened rarely despite the sign showing their hours, don't really see why the hotel allow a tenant that doesn't enhance the hotel at all, on our arrival they would have done a roaring trade as the lobby was full of people waiting but it remained close, we also used the pool area it is small but clean and nice to relax in, the internet went down once in our 10 days for a few hours so it was pretty reliable,house keeping was good and reliable and also said hello,we attended the Tuesday Reception it was nice and the staff where friendly, wipeout cocktail was plentiful, and the entertainment was nice as well, we did have someone try to get into our room 1 night due to fact they had been given wrong room number by check in staff we did get a call to apologize for this incident, at check out I was disappointed that the girl at the desk never asked if we enjoyed our stay or even hoped we would return, overall we had a great room,a good stay and would return my only complaint be a little more personal with the guests who don't complain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Food Pantry a supermarket just behind hotel cut through car park

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Vacationers
San Francisco, CA
May 11, 2012

Convenient budget hotel in Waikiki

We stayed here for a week during our trip to Honolulu. The location in Waikiki was convenient, although the surrounding area seemed a little iffy at night. Our "deluxe room with partial city view" contained a queen bed with a sofa bed, and the window and balcony provided us with a view of a neighboring apartment building. The bathroom was adequate though the shower and sink area could use some upgrading. Although you can tell the rooms have been refurbished, it could still use some more work. There's a small safe in the room. The fridge and microwave are nice to have. The manager's reception on Tuesday at 5 is decent, free drinks and a live musician singing and performing on his ukelele. Overall, the price is pretty cheap for Waikiki, but you get what you pay for. Not bad for budget travelers who aren't looking for five-star luxury but just a place to sleep and keep your stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mjean
CoxsACKIE NY
May 9, 2012

mjeane

very clean comfortable hotel. there was a refrig and microwave in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darryn Travelling Kitty
Vancouver, B.C.
May 7, 2012

Good and affordable

Would recommend this hotel for those coming to honolulu for the first time and wanted to save some $$ while doing it. Parking is expensive, $20 per day. Would recommend not driving if at all possible, but we did manage to park at the Banyan 5 blocks up the street for $60 for the week. This hotel doesn't have a great restaurant and a tiny gym set - but its a great place to lay your head at night. Two blocks from Waikiki. Quite satisfied with the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Aloha stadium for the SWAP meet where there are better deals on local products and ukuleles. I also recommend checking out the managers meet and greet - free cocktails on Tuesday evenings!!

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UH Mom
Texas
Apr 29, 2012

I go to Waikiki often

I go to Waikiki 3-4 times a year to visit my kid who goes to the local university and I chose this hotel because my usual hotel was booked and the price for this was was right. The location near the canal side and Ala Wai is good for me, but someone who is visiting Honolulu for the first time probably should spring for a more expensive hotel closer the beach. I probably won't stay here again, and the reason is best reason is summed up in two words: roach hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk toward the beach and turn right at Kuhio street and within three blocks, there is an udon restaurant where two people can eat excellent food for under $20.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search