$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oneirt
Business
United States
Sep 30, 2013

noisy

Room was very small and never cooled much even with air conditioning on high. Very noisy location, even 12 stories up still heard every siren and loud exhaust. Not enough parking, very small parking places, and they charge you $20/day! Poor value for the $150 / night price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich Henkel
Business
Kailua, Oahu
Aug 27, 2013

Great location for Waikiki

Small room, lots of other balconies right outside the window, but clean and prompt and everything worked. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roadster cruise
Business
Santa Cruz
Aug 20, 2013

At least you can walk to the beach.

Pros; Great location, will loan you beach towels. Cons; 2nd and 3rd floors have no balconies, small beds and small room, outdated slat windows, $20 dollars a day for parking and no complimentary continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
latinjew
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Aug 8, 2013

If Mediocre is what you want, its what you get!

My husband and I booked our two week (17 night) stay at this hotel. Upon arrival they placed us in a room the size of a walk in closet, with a "queen bed". They didn't have enough parking to accommodate us, and even if they did it was $25.00/ night. they actually sent us looking for street parking or to other hotels. we ended up parking at the Banyan, for 80/ wk. After one night in the first room, of which I ended up on the floor, i complained and asked for another room. They stubbornly moved us from the room into a slightly larger room on the 9th floor. They really should advertise or for worn guests that the street facing suits are loud, and pick up every sound of trash trucks and cars passing by. every morning at 6 am or earlier, we were woken up by noise of trash truck, and loading docks, since the hotel is right next to a foodland loading area. Oh and bed bugs. wonderful right? I called the travel agency to see if we could switch hotels without paying a fee and they were going to accommodate us except that its summer, and hotels didn't have vacancy for the dates we were there.We couldn't afford to change hotels last minute for the one that did have vacancy (800/ night). My husband being a type 1 diabetic who needs regular sleep to maintain stable blood sugars, couldn't take it anymore and so i had to PAY $10/night +tax to be moved to the far back corner with no view, what they call a deluxe suit because it has a sleeper sofa.I shouldn't have had to pay. Look i know its not a five star hotel, but its not a 2 star either. I've stayed at motel's better than this. This was my first trip ever to Hawai'i, and if it hadn't been our honeymoon, then it probably wouldn't have bothered me as much, but this was our honeymoon and our memories are tainted by the horrible experience in this hotel. They staff at the front desk is not very knowledgable, with the exception of the manager. Who i was told comes in after 11am. To add to the crazy, this hotel has private suits that they rent out to locals. Just odd to mis travelers with locals like that. They have restaurants on sight that seem to always be closed. On the upside: very close to the beach, and if you go around the corner on Kuhio, there is a place called Ruffage that has amazing organic and vegetarian optional food. The ABC store can be cheaper for some things than Foodland, and if you want henna tatoos there's a great little place inside the international market called rainbow something, i can't recall the complete name, that does amazing fast work. If you get a chance, take a walk along the channel if you have a car go to the North SHore and lastly, no matter what your heritage is or beliefs are, respect the land. that includes the tees, if you go for a hike, and the animals in the water, like the fish and turtles. Don't harm them because you are curious. Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes inside the Surf-rider hotel is amazing, and relatively cheap.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jgma
Business
Belgrade, Mt 59714, USA
Jul 29, 2013

Weekend on Oahu

The bed was great. Parking very pricey. Bathroom needs work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jedianne's mommy
Business
Hawaii
Jul 7, 2013

Awesome get away

My experience at aqua was great although the check in time was a bit too late, but otherwise, everything else was good... Won't min staying there on the next get away!!! I failed to check out the poolside, but definitely will check it out next time, God willing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mikittys what use to e smorgys and other places around the area as well....

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer Fungirl
Business
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Jun 23, 2013

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki- Zanzabar Extravaganza

It was interesting that the electricity was powered by inserting the card in the slot at the front of the room. I liked that the hotel wasn't too far from the clubs like zanzabar, where we partied that night. The front desk hotel staff was helpful and was nice to upgrade us to accommodate our extra bed request. We liked that they were able to give us up to 4 door key cards. For one night and splitting the price between friends, it was definitely a good deal. The room was pretty basic but we liked that there was a mini fridge, microwave and even silverware. It would've been nice if the room wasn't so small but it was still adequate for the night. The check-in and check-out times were pretty convenient too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try parking by the Ala Wai for free and it isn't too far walking to the night clubs like Zanzabar so get ready for the party.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikkipt
Business
Conway, AR
May 8, 2013

Great price and location

Within walking distance of Waikiki beach and good shopping! Great place for the price and location! Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tataryta
Business
honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 16, 2013

my stay

The room was so small!! Honestly the smallest room I've ever been in n it wasn't cheap either! Also the next morning i woke up with bed bug bites or something n i didn't have them the night before. I don't think I'll ever go back although the staff at the front desk were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holls
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Mar 31, 2013

Just Ok

The hotel rooms were dated. Shower was rather disgusting. The main problem was the noise. We could clearly hear our next door neighbors talking, walking, tv etc. We could also hear everything outside. Breakfast was 6 dollars per person per day but the options were pretty limited. Pancakes, over cooked boiled eggs, cherrios or frosted flakes etc. Concierge was very helpful though and willing to spend as much time as needed with each guest. Parking is 20 dollars a night and there are 28 stalls under ground - if that is full there are a few spaces outside. Street is fine during the day but at night it could be rather sketchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top