$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
271 reviews
BEST VALUE FOR THE COST

I look for value when I go to Hawaii, not room luxury. There are a few amenities at this hotel, and... See full review

  • Robert K.
  • Jul 23, 2015
Worked for what we needed

Having a bed in another room worked out really well - allowed for a little privacy for the people... See full review

  • SkaterLisa
  • Aug 14, 2015

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. In the chic pool area you will find a cafe, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience. The smoke-free property is offering hotel-wide Wi-Fi access for added convenience.

General
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Dining

Diners start the day with daily continental breakfast on site before heading out. Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Property features

Fun, hip and affordable sanctuary off the main strip

Highlights
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
  • Daily continental breakfast
Nearby attractions
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.
Transportation
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
  • Daily continental breakfast
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Policies
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

★★★
$95
3.4 / 5 344 reviews
★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 296 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 313 reviews
★★★
$99
3.4 / 5 310 reviews
★★★
$148
3.7 / 5 402 reviews
★★★
$94
2.9 / 5 98 reviews
★★★
$135
3.8 / 5 108 reviews
★★★
$92
3.4 / 5 137 reviews
★★★
$119
3.0 / 5 70 reviews

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. WiFi access. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. WiFi access. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. WiFi access. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kala
Couples
Bakersfield, California
Sep 10, 2011

Great location! Clean & Comfortable Hotel!

Friendly staff and good weekly rate. Enjoyed the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kailua beach. Beautiful, family oriented and getting away from the Waikiki crowd. Love Kailua!!

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SkaterLisa
Family
Colorado Springs
Aug 14, 2015

Worked for what we needed

Having a bed in another room worked out really well - allowed for a little privacy for the people in our party. The room itself was in need of a little TLC - paint and such, but didn't affect the usability. Didn't have on site or really close dining but there were some within walking distance - just wasn't convenient for an elderly person who can't walk too far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert K.
Couples
N/A
Jul 23, 2015

BEST VALUE FOR THE COST

I look for value when I go to Hawaii, not room luxury. There are a few amenities at this hotel, and the Wi-Fi service anywhere in Waikiki is not the best, due to the high demand by so many vacation hours, so that is not the fault of the hotel. In Waikiki I look for affordability, cleanliness, service, and the best view available. This hotel gets top ratings in all of those categories... It has been my hotel of choice for many years. The BEST amenity is the valet parking across the street. All hotels in Hawaii charge up to $45 a day for parking rental cars. This hotel charges $23 per day and you can drop off or pick up your car anytime day or night, ridding the guest of having to find a place to park. The staff is friendly, the lobby is pleasant, clean, and inviting, and the location is quiet at night. I love the view of the Ala Wai Canal and the Beautiful mountains. To me, this hotel is a hidden treasure in Waikiki! I cannot wait to return again. Paire I cannot wait to return again... If you were looking for a place that is clean, comfortable, affordable, leaving money in your pocket to spend on vacation adventures… The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel is THE place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dd.
Couples
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

it was a good affordable hotel

not what I expected small rooms, and small bathrooms very noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AdamAdamAdam
Single
San Francisco
Oct 19, 2014

No frills comfort in great Waikiki location

I chose this hotel based purely on the price, and the fact that it didn't look trashy in pictures. I didn't feel like I needed to pay for an ocean view, so this seemed like a great option (aaaaand it takes about five minutes walking from the hotel to jumping in the water) The rooms are small and simple, nothing fancy. My A/C wasn't working, and within about 4 minutes, the maintenance staff had checked it out and got me upgraded. I don't think I've ever had a hotel room without a chair and table, but mine did not. The complimentary breakfast is... not mindblowing, but decent enough to get a complete/filling meal every morning. I would suggest checking out at the desk for sure, as always, since someone apparently was able to charge a couple hundred dollars to my room, but the friendly staff cleared it up with only minor frustration... so apparently they rent towels, dvds, and some sort of bus pass? Overall it was a very pleasant experience. I don't vacation for the hotel room, so this isn't going to rival the beachside giants, buuuuuut you can save a ton of cash on your room and spend a bit more on things outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ono seafood takeaway- Incredible fresh generously portioned Poke for a STEAL! Just outside waikiki, just past the northeast edge of the canal, about 20 minute walk from Aloha Surf. If you like fresh ahi or tako, you will not be disappointed. It is a local favorite for sure

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris and the Boys
Family
Livermore, California
Sep 5, 2014

Not so good

I checked in with my 3 children and right away things weren't right. The pool was closed for the first 2 days we were there. There was no parking and valet was full. I hated to have to drop off my kids and then go look for parking for the next 45 minutes. Not to mention, that I had to pay! There is only free Wi-Fi in the lobby and they were out of Ethernet cords for laptops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
808Princess
Single
Honolulu, HI
Apr 3, 2014

Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you like they do at big resorts! Would definitely recommend :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abaaz
Business
Nome, Alaska
Feb 7, 2014

Ok

It was a tiny room lol clean enough but not perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at the market round the corner was the best value

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peche86
Single
HNL
Sep 30, 2013

Location Location etc

Great value , excelent location, nice vibe will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich Henkel
Couples
Kailua, Oahu
Aug 27, 2013

Great location for Waikiki

Small room, lots of other balconies right outside the window, but clean and prompt and everything worked. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roadster cruise
Family
Santa Cruz
Aug 20, 2013

At least you can walk to the beach.

Pros; Great location, will loan you beach towels. Cons; 2nd and 3rd floors have no balconies, small beds and small room, outdated slat windows, $20 dollars a day for parking and no complimentary continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top