$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
347 reviews
Very functional

This hotel is very functional and a great place to stay. See full review

  • MMCass
  • Jul 1, 2014
great stay

After a long flight to HNL, I had a great stay at this hotel. Got an upgrade to a large room with... See full review

  • polar traveler
  • Jan 30, 2014
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Hotel Map

21.2841 -157.8314
Area served
Waikiki and the greater Honolulu area.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the corner of Kuhio and Kalakaua Avenue. We are the enterance into Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 347
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yemaiha
North Carolina
Aug 4, 2014

Thankfully, just one night

I stayed for 1 night because I made an error in booking with another (much better) hotel. Coming from the other hotel to this didn't help matters. The room seemed clean but there was a smell on one of the pillow cases. The TV didn't work properly and the carpet needed cleaning. Poor carpentry throughout. If you're on a tight budget and can deal with below average accommodations in HI, it's doable. But if you have the budget, choose a better rating hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. There's city bus transportation throughout the island. You get a great tour and you're part of the local life style. You can always rent a car for 1 day to self tour.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tomorrow's traveler time
New Jersey
Mar 24, 2014

Excellent for the price

For what I paid I do believe it was worth it . The room was clean. The service that I received was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are at the beginning of Waikiki.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
polar traveler
Alaska
Jan 30, 2014

great stay

After a long flight to HNL, I had a great stay at this hotel. Got an upgrade to a large room with fridge and microwave. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enroutetohonolulu
Philadelphia
Dec 5, 2013

Stopover in Waikiki

Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and staff, comfortable lounge, coffee stand and general store right beside. Fifteen minute walk to the beach and downtown Waikiki shopping and dining. Hi-speed ethernet connection and tv in room. Inexpensive room included four burner electric stove, full refrigerator and freezer and kitchen sink. I was only on a two night stopover coming home from Asia, but the facilities would have been perfect for a longer stay. Only drawback -- no free shuttle service to the airport, so I had to take a cab. Even including cab fare the rate was very reasonable for Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bwank
ct
Nov 8, 2013

Not what I expected

When I booked this hotel they way it sounded was an up to date hotel rate in the high 3swith internet and parking. The add made it sound like the internet was wifi no its a cord. Half my power outlets did not work in the room. I had to pay $20 a day extra for parking. Hotel is hard to get to. plus smelt musty. Yes it is better then a motel but not by a ton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

You can order dominos even though the front desk will not say you can even if you ask them directly.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jojoe
Seattle, Washington
Nov 7, 2013

Last minute romantic getaway

The room is very big and spacious. The bathroom is big as well, but it would be nice to have a tub. I enjoyed my stay. slept comfortably. no noise even though we were by the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Traveling explorer
michigan
Nov 7, 2013

Dirt

My room was very dirty..I felt that I need to to clean the room before I would stay in it....Dirt on walls and muddy hand prints every where...I felt that I couldn't touch anything with out getting it on me...not a good feeling....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TribalMutt
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 5, 2013

There When Needed

The hotel was booked up, so I ended up with a room with 3 single beds in it. I didn't mind, but it seemed as if I was missing 2-5 other people. The rooms do not have wireless network. Instead, they had a computer cable (which was hooked up to the t.v.) that you could plug in, but even that didn't work. I was disappointed in this, but otherwise- the hotel was just a hotel... reasonably priced, great staff, and comfortable rooms. They also should not have deducted $100 from my debit card after the room was already paid for. I can see them doing it if someone puts the room on a credit card, but not a debit card. They told me the funds would go back within about 5-30 business days. This was ridiculous - as I know most hotels do that as a "deposit", but they should have not done this in my opinion... and all charges should have been figured out in the morning, not deducting funds when the room was "already paid for".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Princess Shoreline
California
Aug 21, 2013

Good room for the price

For the price I paid, this hotel was satisfactory. The room was more spacious than I had expected, and there was a kitchenette with a stovetop, oven, microwave and sink. There was also a balcony, which was a pleasant surprise. Compared to other hotels in it's vicinity, I believe this hotel is competitively priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lynn1983
New Zealand
Aug 19, 2013

Reasonable room, great location

Helpful staff, great location, room was spacious but had a damp smell to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search