$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
344 reviews
Great for our needs!

Clean; enthusiastic staff; has a travel planner/concierge on-site. Business center shakes, though,... See full review

  • Moonbeam50864
  • Dec 6, 2014
it was pleasant

I was happy with the hotel overall i would stay there again thanks See full review

  • pedrosgn87
  • Dec 1, 2014
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (344)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 344
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moonbeam50864
Business
Omaha, NE
Dec 6, 2014

Great for our needs!

Clean; enthusiastic staff; has a travel planner/concierge on-site. Business center shakes, though, when washers above are spinning...thought I was in an earthquake at first, having never experienced one. Quite worth the money and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony Roma's dining is only slightly over a block away. Whaler's convenience store around the corner from the hotel has just a bit of everything including a variety of hand-held snack-meals like walking sushi! Breakfast and coffee are right out the lobby door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs B 907
Business
Alaska
Nov 25, 2014

Bugs & stiff beds

The beds were so stiff we needed massages after 3 nights and our last few nights consisted of finding ants in our bedding after their "monthly pest control" had come through

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake factory was worth the hour wait we shopped next door while waiting & the service was above & beyond

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
good auntie
Business
Fukuoka, Japan
Nov 19, 2014

you get what you paid for

There are a few things I noticed about this hotel: -The elevator took forever so you need to be patient. -A chair was a bit sticky and there were stains. -The bed was too soft to sleep. But overall, if you are on a budget, I think it's ok to stay at this hotel as it's close from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anton keren
Business
California
Nov 18, 2014

fantastic

There is no microwave in the room??? The guess room door it's hard to close, we need to slam it so the sound very noisy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

None

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Surfer from Cali
Business
Kaui
Sep 9, 2014

Nice for the money

Friendly staff rooms are clean great location Rates are very reasonable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety of restaurants in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmy1968
Business
san marcos tx
Aug 17, 2014

Hidden charges

Besides the tax charges there are amenities charges, resort charges and parking fees charges which add up for more than what you expect. There is also a $100 deposit which you don't mind it is the $25 per day for parking and amenities which added $300 to the bill which were not expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping,dinning and the beach all located within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JD from SNJ
Business
San Jose
Aug 8, 2014

Not Again

Within the first hour after checking I was at the front desk ready to check out. Our rooms were that bad! Rooms were old, ran down and musky. Our rooms were changed but down sized to three single beds per room. If it weren't for the staff and a long day of travel, we would have checked out, walked away from our deposit for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xin Fu
Business
Mesa, AZ
Jul 22, 2014

Not very good!

We stayed there for two nights. I booked two rooms for my family but they didn't put them together. Room in this hotel is rather old. In additional, there is no enough parking area. The staff told me the parking area need to be reserved first otherwise you need to do street parking or park in the other hotel that may be three blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMCass
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 1, 2014

Very functional

This hotel is very functional and a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ramen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UH Super Mom
Business
Santa Maria, CA
May 24, 2014

Great kitchenette

The staff was so courteous and helpful. The room with the kitchenette helped curb food costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can park on Ala Wai Blvd for free but sometimes hard to find parking and you have to watch out for the street cleaning days so your car doesn't get towed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top