$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
341 reviews
Great last minute stay

I had two hours to plan my trip. Flights was convenient and the hotel for the price that I paid was... See full review

  • jonathanmb35
  • May 22, 2015
Nice stop

Stayed one night after a vacation on the north shore. Not right on the beach but a good deal. See full review

  • James T.
  • May 8, 2015
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Kitchens, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, WiFi and more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 - 7. Rooms include a kitchen, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchen - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchen and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchen - Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchen, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchen, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchen, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 341
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rick R.
Business
N/A
Jul 10, 2015

Maybe not

Not sure i would stay THERE AGAIN! The curtains had holes in them, the paint was coming off in the bathroom. The sliding door To balcóny was broken. Charging For amenties?? Why?? There was nothing! The wifi ONLY Work for 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Li Q.
Business
Boston
Apr 17, 2015

Good experience for a vacation

The hotel's location is great, and the price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chazz D.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Good Staycation

I was looking for a comfortable and affordable staycation for the weekend and the Ambassador was able to provide that. The location wasn't too far away from the shopping areas and beach and the room was as expected for the money I paid. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David N.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

DunitMan

the hotel environment was nice. The staff was friendly. I enjoyed my stay. I would definitely go again. I had so much fun in Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany H.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Cheap Stay on an Expensive Island

Overall, the hotel was relatively clean. The place is super outdated and old. Nothing wrong with that though. If you are looking for a nice, lush mattress to sleep on then this is not your place. The beds were VERY uncomfortable. The bathroom didn't have any ventilation so it got hot and sticky quick. Also, very outdated bathroom and the shower was a little scary (I wore my flip flops around everywhere). The workout room is extremely small and not well air conditioned. The ceilings are low and it gets hot fast. The location is good. A 10 minute walk to the beach and there is tons of shopping within walking distance. There is also a coffee shop and store at the bottle of the hotel so that was nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodating! If you are looking for some place affordable on an expensive island than this hotel will do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palaina
Business
New York
Oct 17, 2014

Great Location For Price

Looking at this hotel's location on a map makes it seem further away from Waikiki Beach than it is. It's a 20 minute walk from there and you are walking down one of the 2 main strips in Honolulu. So for the price is fantastic. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. They give you a free portable water bottle when checking in and have a station on the ground floor for refilling it with unlimited purified water. A game room with 2 X-Boxes, 2 dart boards, and some other stuff, a decent sized fitness center, an outdoor pool and parking. Not that you'll feel the need to use any of this except the water. Room I stayed in was decent sized, had 2 double beds, balcony, a big bathroom with closet and a safe. Stand-up shower (no bathtub) and full kitchenette with stove, microwave, sink etc.. No coffee maker or the like. Medium sized flat panel TV (not that you'll be using it). As clean as a Holiday Inn. Not a Hilton but for the price and location I think it's a great deal. Beds are comfy too! Elevators are beat though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To Waikiki Beach in a scenic 15 minute walk.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
figment888
Business
tampa
Sep 22, 2014

not a great hotel

This hotel was ok- it was the last one available in Waikiki. I paid like $230, but I think it was worth maybe $50. The staff were ok. I'd stay somewhere else if I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaron Supertramp
Business
Seattle, Washington
Aug 24, 2014

Fair and affordable

Despite what the photos and description may lead you to believe, the hotel is located about 15 minutes from the beach and about 5 minutes from everywhere else. That being said, you are still fairly close to everything while maintaining an affordable price. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for something fancy or memorable I would suggest you keep searching. However, if you are on a budget but still want a nice hotel experience this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judo nationals
Business
Covina, California
Jul 11, 2014

Ambassador

In town for a judo tournament. We were booked in a different hotel, but switched when we found out most of our group was here. So glad we did. The hotel is old, but clean. The staff is friendly, and the rates, reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheeseburger paradise great for family or large group.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce traveler
Business
Shawano, Wi
Feb 17, 2013

10 days staying at hotel

We realized how poor mattress we have which weren't the best and for toilet too low for me need a best handicap. The employees were really wonderful,cheerful, and helpful us deaf people. Thanks again. Regards, Joyce

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very great food at Tony's near the hotel. Other places we ordered and bought to the hotel to eat from Fatty Kitchen very good.

Back to menu Return to top