$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
329 reviews
Perfect Place for the Perfect Price.

Loved the Large Roomy area and especially the walk around lanai to view the magnificent view of the... See full review

  • Holoholo Nelson
  • Aug 19, 2014
Very functional

This hotel is very functional and a great place to stay. See full review

  • MMCass
  • Jul 1, 2014
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Hotel Map

21.2841 -157.8314
Area served
Waikiki and the greater Honolulu area.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the corner of Kuhio and Kalakaua Avenue. We are the enterance into Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (329)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cousin Mary
Marysville, Wa
Feb 10, 2013

Not up to advertisement

There was no tea or coffee in rooms without incuring extra charges. They charged extra for parking, pool, etc. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to do a lot of walking to get to any nice restruant, but I must say the walk was worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 5, 2011

Price and Location were right

Only stayed one night prior to taking a Hawaiian cruise. Paint peeling off the wall, some mildew in the shower. Would not reccommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
scopia
San Jose, CA
Nov 10, 2012

Disappointing hotel

The locatoin is good. But the hotel facilities are very poor, the air conditioning is broken, and noisy. Parking is expensive. Oveall, this hotel does not worth the value, and I would not recommend it for potential travelers to Honolulu..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SantaClaran
Santa Clara, CA
Dec 25, 2012

Stay home rather than vacatoning at this place

Most unfriendly front desk I had seen in my life. This is the first hotel that I stayed in out of hundreds that did not provide a coffee maker in the room. The front desk staff ( Bob who claimed he was a supervisor) was rude when I informed him that this was the first time I didn't get a coffee maker in the room. They agreed to send one to my room, but only the machine, no supplies. I had to go hunting for coffee grounds etc as I am used to coffee first thing in the morning. The hotel did not provide body lotion which was also a first for me. The soaps provided were the new standard for cheap soaps. There was not even a tub in the bath. The room we stayed in was a studio with kitchen but no microwave !!. When I asked Bob he was, as usual, rude and said they charge $30 a night for microwave. He even had the nerve to suggest that I take my food to a grocer near by to heat.. I will never stay in this hotel again, will not recommend to anyone. I will even say that the travel agency that recommended this hotel to me should not be proud having recommended this hotel to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

California Pizza Kitchen near by is really nice place to sit in and have a drink and dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kuleau
Hayward, CA
Dec 10, 2010

Beeping

Horrible. Could not sleep (which was the main goal of the 1 night stay there). There was constant traffic of buses and trucks moving and backing up (beeping sound) starting at 5:30am right in front of our room. The internet did not work and staff to was not helpful to address this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
May 9, 2011

CHEAP!

It was very loud, you can hear everything behind the door. The Staff was rude, not even a good morning, i had the feeling that there just nice to people from Japan and Asia. I can not recommend this Hotel to people who are not from Japan or Asia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was cheap for the rooms but expensive for parking 15$ per day! Short walk to the Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte,nc
Jan 10, 2011

Quite the dump

I gave this place a one star because zero stars was not an option. It's a dump, it's in a dumpy location[...]. Do yourself a favor, find a bridge to sleep under.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cosmin coco
seattle
Oct 5, 2012

3 stars?

just pic's make me to go there,but reality shacked me when i arrived

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hinarae
Hawaii, HI
Dec 7, 2010

Debit Card Unfriendly

I booked online with[...] because I have seen all the commericials and advertisments. I got to my hotel and the hotel wouldn't accept my debit card. I had flown 120+ miles and only brought a debit card. They also would not accept cash to pay for the parking( that's all) because the room/tax were paid by me through [...]. I had to call [...] and was put on hold for over an hour to be told that I needed to be transferred to another section to re-book my hotel. Then I was told that my refund would take 5-10 days. Then while speaking to the re-booking agent, we were disconnected or he hung up and no one ever called me back. I am very dissatisfied. Refund my money and remedy this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Linjulie
Concord,CA
Nov 16, 2010

Do not stay there!

This hotel was awful,the descriptions of it that were on the website did not match the hotel at all. We could not understand how this hotel had those nice pictures of its rooms and exterior with a 3 star rating on the web. The furniture is very outdated, but that would have not been a problem if it had been clean. Instead it was stinky, dirty, noisy...we checked back out an hour later. We saw this hotel on other websites then as a 2 star, but honestly, it should be no more than a 1 star. We are not superfancy people and we travel on a budget, but this place, we couldn't do.Impossible!We felt like we got fooled big time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you arrive at Honolulu airport, grab some of the free brochures, especially the ones that show specials for the current week. It lists all the restaurants around and puts them in prize categories so you can decide on where to go and how much to spend before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top