$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
350 reviews
Great for our needs!

Clean; enthusiastic staff; has a travel planner/concierge on-site. Business center shakes, though,... See full review

  • Moonbeam50864
  • Dec 6, 2014
it was pleasant

I was happy with the hotel overall i would stay there again thanks See full review

  • pedrosgn87
  • Dec 1, 2014
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christmas visitor 2011
Business
Nebraska, USA
Jan 8, 2012

They treated us wonderful !!

The staff was always smiling and helpful, what lovely people work there. They helped us with everything we asked for. Great location, awesome parking, drove in and out all the time, with NO problem. Easy walking to beach or shopping. The

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

figure out where the grocery store is before you go. Research on internet. Kitchen in room, and easy to cook a few meals on your own. Buy the bag of fresh Hawaii coffee, - you can get it cheaper than at home, ask for a coffee maker, and every day starts off wonderful ! Also cannot beat cutting up a fresh pineapple in Hawaii,( was on sale for $2.79 , at grocery store) YUM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dawntraveler
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
Jan 7, 2012

Family Holiday Vacation

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom suite with out two grown children Dec. 31, 2011 through Jan. 5, 2012. The room layout worked well with the two daybeds in the living area and a private bedroom with a full and twin bed. (I would have preferred a king size bed instead.) The price was worth the lack of luxury and the room was very clean and well-maintained. The hotel is in a good area and close to restaurants and shopping. We were able to park on-site for only $15/day. A bargain in a city of this size. The parking was safe and secure. We would stay here again! A great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When visiting Hanauma Bay for snorkeling, be there as early as possible to avoid the crowds. It opens at 6AM. We got there just after 7 and it was fine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dabiggun
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Feb 9, 2012

Excellent location

I like the area, close to shopping, and beach for a reasonable price, i stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MommyluvsEli
Business
honolulu, HI
Dec 9, 2012

It was Wonderful.

A very good place to stay. great staff and comfortable rooms for a family getaway. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

KEO's thai restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MommyluvsEli
Business
honolulu, HI
Dec 15, 2012

family getaway

Good customer service staff. Rooms were clean and spacious. Thank you much. We really enjoyed our stay at the Ambassador Hotel. I would definitely stay there again and also recommend this Hotel to my freinds. Thank you and Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony Romas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kamilla
Business
Fort Montgomery, New York
Jan 16, 2013

First time in Hawaii

It was our first trip to Hawaii-Oahu. We didn't look for fancy things, we just needed a quiet, clean room with windows we can keep opened all time. I picked Ambassador Hotel in Waikiki after reading some reviews and I will pick the same place again in the future -very clean, with extremely nice staff, close to everything. We had room on 16th level without ocean view, but every morning we admired double rainbow above the city and mountains on the horizon. I bought a package flight and hotel, and received a room for two with three twin beds although with one queen bed would be perfect. Knowing this our son joined us at the last moment and we just had to pay $30 per day for additional person. Overall we left Hawaii under great impression, even though the weather was rainy but it was warm rain, warm wind, enough sun to warm up more, every corner like botanical garden, and very nice, helpful people everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keonie1
Business
Tempe, AZ
Feb 13, 2013

Great location & great staff!

The staffing at the hotel was very pleasant and efficient. We loved the location. The rooms were clean and up to date. The front desk people knew their jobs and did so with a great warm smile. The housekeeping did a very thorough job each day. The views from the hotel (we were on the nineth floor) were breath taking. Thanks Ambassador! We shall return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

International marketplace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joyce traveler
Business
Shawano, Wi
Feb 17, 2013

10 days staying at hotel

We realized how poor mattress we have which weren't the best and for toilet too low for me need a best handicap. The employees were really wonderful,cheerful, and helpful us deaf people. Thanks again. Regards, Joyce

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very great food at Tony's near the hotel. Other places we ordered and bought to the hotel to eat from Fatty Kitchen very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George Tropical Paradise
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Jun 2, 2013

fantastic tropical paradise

i love hawaii it was a great experience i hope everyone that gets a chance to go should do this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pc8k
Business
NY, NY
Jul 31, 2013

Great location

Really liked this hotel. The location is near a lot of great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top