$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JD from SNJ
Business
San Jose
Aug 8, 2014

Not Again

Within the first hour after checking I was at the front desk ready to check out. Our rooms were that bad! Rooms were old, ran down and musky. Our rooms were changed but down sized to three single beds per room. If it weren't for the staff and a long day of travel, we would have checked out, walked away from our deposit for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yemaiha
Business
North Carolina
Aug 4, 2014

Thankfully, just one night

I stayed for 1 night because I made an error in booking with another (much better) hotel. Coming from the other hotel to this didn't help matters. The room seemed clean but there was a smell on one of the pillow cases. The TV didn't work properly and the carpet needed cleaning. Poor carpentry throughout. If you're on a tight budget and can deal with below average accommodations in HI, it's doable. But if you have the budget, choose a better rating hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. There's city bus transportation throughout the island. You get a great tour and you're part of the local life style. You can always rent a car for 1 day to self tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xin Fu
Business
Mesa, AZ
Jul 22, 2014

Not very good!

We stayed there for two nights. I booked two rooms for my family but they didn't put them together. Room in this hotel is rather old. In additional, there is no enough parking area. The staff told me the parking area need to be reserved first otherwise you need to do street parking or park in the other hotel that may be three blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Rezak
Business
Washington D.C
Jul 18, 2014

Great place!

The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. Aside from the charges for parking and amenities it was a great deal. I recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Kahuna off Kuhio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judo nationals
Business
Covina, California
Jul 11, 2014

Ambassador

In town for a judo tournament. We were booked in a different hotel, but switched when we found out most of our group was here. So glad we did. The hotel is old, but clean. The staff is friendly, and the rates, reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheeseburger paradise great for family or large group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMCass
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 1, 2014

Very functional

This hotel is very functional and a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ramen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UH Super Mom
Business
Santa Maria, CA
May 24, 2014

Great kitchenette

The staff was so courteous and helpful. The room with the kitchenette helped curb food costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can park on Ala Wai Blvd for free but sometimes hard to find parking and you have to watch out for the street cleaning days so your car doesn't get towed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GLOBETROTTER1023
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
May 21, 2014

Great bang for your buck!!!

Location, location, location. This hotel is in a great location near Waikiki beach and is a great deal. Hotel room was comfortable. The hotel has a pool and the staff was very nice and easy to talk to. I would definitely stay in this hotel again on my next trip to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Certain hotel rooms come with kitchenettes, if yours does, buy food to prepare for breakfast or lunch or both and save money for dinners and activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NguyenLofton family
Business
san diego California
May 12, 2014

awesome penthouse suites

Seeing the place in person was better than online we stayed at the penthouse suite it had three full bedrooms and 3.5 baths. The view was breath taking and beautiful. It had a full kitchen with pots and pans and even a rice cooker ready to go. Perfect for a large group or family with kids. Also just a few blocks from the beach strip mall and markets. The staff was also amazing and friendly fast service when needing towels etc. The pool was super clean didn't see on bug or leaf in it! The reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars is cause the first night we got put into a smaller suite than we had booked and had to share 1.5 bathroom and had to ask for a roll out bed but they where so kind to send us gifts and a note saying they where sorry. Overall a must stay place definitely coming back soon!!!♥

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii Lover 54
Business
California
May 4, 2014

Good location, Good view

It is a nice hotel but make sure you don't get a room with 3 small beds if you are a couple. They won't change it for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top