$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
347 reviews
Great for our needs!

Clean; enthusiastic staff; has a travel planner/concierge on-site. Business center shakes, though,... See full review

  • Moonbeam50864
  • Dec 6, 2014
it was pleasant

I was happy with the hotel overall i would stay there again thanks See full review

  • pedrosgn87
  • Dec 1, 2014
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George Tropical Paradise
Birmingham, Alabama
Jun 2, 2013

fantastic tropical paradise

i love hawaii it was a great experience i hope everyone that gets a chance to go should do this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pradip
Business
New York
Sep 9, 2013

Room

Room was with kitchen and frige. Was clean generally. But found 2 bugs I had to get rid off. Chair had a cigarette butt hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TribalMutt
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 5, 2013

There When Needed

The hotel was booked up, so I ended up with a room with 3 single beds in it. I didn't mind, but it seemed as if I was missing 2-5 other people. The rooms do not have wireless network. Instead, they had a computer cable (which was hooked up to the t.v.) that you could plug in, but even that didn't work. I was disappointed in this, but otherwise- the hotel was just a hotel... reasonably priced, great staff, and comfortable rooms. They also should not have deducted $100 from my debit card after the room was already paid for. I can see them doing it if someone puts the room on a credit card, but not a debit card. They told me the funds would go back within about 5-30 business days. This was ridiculous - as I know most hotels do that as a "deposit", but they should have not done this in my opinion... and all charges should have been figured out in the morning, not deducting funds when the room was "already paid for".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
With'a
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 4, 2013

Short but nice trip

The rooms are average but the they really turn things up a notch with a king bed, full sized fridge, and a stove. The sink was so clean I could almost use it as a mirror. The kitchen was an unexpected pleasure for someone use to just a microwave & hot-plate, it was like being in an appartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you really don't want to travel far for some good food, ABC and Whaler stock some excellent fresh food for most tastes. I was pleasantly surprised at the salad selection from both stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dede loves to travel
Business
ny
Aug 30, 2013

family vacation

this hotel was clean, staff very nice and helpful, good value for the money, but could use updating, no stand or table in bathroom for toiletries, shower very small and old, could use some new paint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Princess Shoreline
Business
California
Aug 21, 2013

Good room for the price

For the price I paid, this hotel was satisfactory. The room was more spacious than I had expected, and there was a kitchenette with a stovetop, oven, microwave and sink. There was also a balcony, which was a pleasant surprise. Compared to other hotels in it's vicinity, I believe this hotel is competitively priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pc8k
Business
NY, NY
Jul 31, 2013

Great location

Really liked this hotel. The location is near a lot of great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cecilia G
Business
Nebraska
Jul 29, 2013

great value

I got a two twin beds suites.The bedroom is big,clean,and comfortable.I think it's great value hotel,and I will book this hotel again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

sometimes the free wifi don't work,please take your Network Cable with you.Because some rooms do not support the network cable but have the port for high internet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan and Bobbi
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 27, 2013

Perfect on a Budget

We stayed at a very expensive Waikiki Waterfront hotel on business for 6 days and wanted to extend our stay so moved over to the Ambassador to stay for four more days. It wasn't a waterfront view but it was still right on Waikiki and THE BED WAS 10x more comfortable than the expensive hotel. The staff was also very friendly and did a fabulous job. If you are looking for a cheap, friendly stay, and don't care about how "fancy" it is...this is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5 in Hawaii
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jun 27, 2013

Central location and clean

Even though his hotel doesn't offer the view of the ocean, it's got the essentials. Having a kitchen in the room is essential when you have kids. Also, having the self service laundromat is a must for families with kids. Greatful for the parking even with a $20/day charge since there is no way you can find street parking and I've tried. The room was clean and the location was very central. We got great value for just what we needed since we weren't at the hotel much with all the sightseeing waiting for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a great Ramen place within ealking distance where even the locals like to go. Should be able to find it on yelp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fly 1 night
Business
Virginia
Jun 21, 2013

1 night trip

room is very clean and comfortable. Service/front desk staff is rude for customers Guest have to pay 20 dollars for parking overnight. Location is near shooping, kind of busy and noisy outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top