$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edce
Business
na
Sep 25, 2014

basic comfort

We stayed at the ambassador waikiki for one night and found it is a comfortable yet basic accommodation. Good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes beach bar can't be beat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
figment888
Business
tampa
Sep 22, 2014

not a great hotel

This hotel was ok- it was the last one available in Waikiki. I paid like $230, but I think it was worth maybe $50. The staff were ok. I'd stay somewhere else if I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apk8084
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 15, 2014

Fine Location

Clean, kitchenette, no frills, 3 blocks from Waikiki, no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Surfer from Cali
Business
Kaui
Sep 9, 2014

Nice for the money

Friendly staff rooms are clean great location Rates are very reasonable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety of restaurants in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cole305
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 8, 2014

Good stay

Good place to lay your head. Hotel located in a great location. Hotel does not provide coffee or tea in the room or coffee pot. There are additional costs such as parking so recommend reading the find print before staying at hotel. Water in shower and sink was slow to drain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Singing Around the World
Business
San Mateo, California
Sep 4, 2014

The Most Average

Everything about my experience was average. The hotel is trying to "go green" and so they provide water sacs to put filtered water into. Saved us money on buying water bottles. The first night we arrived we were told there was no parking available on the property and the lot we were instructed to go to was CLOSED. The staff did nothing to help us except say "keep looking around" and that bothered me. Also, the elevators were EXTREMELY slow. We stayed very high up and would wait at least 5 minutes for the elevator. Nothing great but you get what you pay for at this very cheap hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hilton Hawaiian Village Lagoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
samajame
Business
San Mateo, California
Sep 2, 2014

My first trp to Hawaii

what you want I said, this is a best hotel in Honolulu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

tours to different place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guiller96740
Business
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Aug 25, 2014

Almost Good

I go to Honolulu from a neighbor island for business therefore cost is important. the cost is OK but once you add the "amenities fee" and the parking, I'm then paying 50% more. Not cool that you find out just when you arrive. As fas as the hotel itself is good nothing spectacular, a good place to sleep and go onto doing your activities. It has a decent swimming pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaron Supertramp
Business
Seattle, Washington
Aug 24, 2014

Fair and affordable

Despite what the photos and description may lead you to believe, the hotel is located about 15 minutes from the beach and about 5 minutes from everywhere else. That being said, you are still fairly close to everything while maintaining an affordable price. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for something fancy or memorable I would suggest you keep searching. However, if you are on a budget but still want a nice hotel experience this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Modest Dental Student
Business
Salt Lake City
Aug 20, 2014

Amazing Vacation

Spent 2 nights at Ambassador in Waikiki, it was excellent value and perfect for those who don't plan on spending too much time in your room. Honolulu/Waikiki has an excellent nightlife and Ambassador offers a great location within walking distance to many of these spots. It is .5mile walk from the prime spot at Waikiki beach, but it was preferrable for us because it was a lot quieter at night relative to beach-front hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon. Open at 7am-9am, 11am-10pm, best value for udon anywhere. Must try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top