$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jungpro
Business
San Francisco
Jan 29, 2014

Stayable overnight

Good location near Wikiki with a convenience store in the next door. Youngsters' hotel withcooking facility and WIFI accessible only at the hotel lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nsteph Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 23, 2014

Great experience with Ambassador

The staffs were friendly and helpful. Since we stayed for 6 nights we got an upgrade offered from the hotel staff that was awesome. Even though we didn't cook but the fridge and kitchen with toaster would help us to save some bucks. The hotel is just 2 blocks from the Waikiki beach. Convenient shopping stores and restaurants are around and you can find the ABC stores just several steps. The travel tours and bus stop right at front of the hotel which are more convenient for anyone who wants to catch buses to save money or to have a pick up. We will definitely come back to Waikiki and stay at Ambassador Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful each ABC store sells stuffs with different prices, you can get good deals with just several steps more. Also when you book the tour, the pick up location, Gateway is just several steps away from the hotel. I was not familier with the area and because the drop off time after the Polynesian show was late at night so I paid extra $7.00/each to be picked up & dropped at the hotel but finally I figured out the pick up location is just at the corner. I wish if I knew I would not pay extra $14.00 for two this could pay for our breakfast :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreaming1024
Business
Lubbock,Texas
Jan 21, 2014

Good Try

If the location goes the first and you are on a budget, try this. It's clean, neat and only 10 minutes walking to the Waikiki beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cacho MF
Business
Montevideo
Jan 17, 2014

Ambassador Hotel

Good location. Nice room with complete kitchen. Be aware you have to pay U$S 20 a day for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iris bob
Business
Salt Lake, Utah
Jan 17, 2014

Great place to stay!!

The staff are all so friendly, they treat you like family :) the room was very clean, we had a room with kitchenette and I'm a stickler for a clean kitchen, the staff impressed me they kept the sink cleaner than I could get it, and believe me I tried!! I would highly recommend the Ambassador to anyone for an awesome stay in a beautiful city. Rates, hospitality and service all we'll worth it!! The only negative to me was having to pay an extra $20 a night to park our rental car, but parking there is very limited so I guess it's better than parking on the streets a mile or more away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the car parked the beach is 10 minutes away and many others easily within walking distance. Also plan to start early each day to get the most out of your stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Concord 95
Business
Waikiki
Jan 12, 2014

Don't stay here!

Old, dirty, tub did not drain! But worst of all there was a 3 inch cock roach hanging from our ceiling just over our bed! No way this should have 3stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guest456654456
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 27, 2013

Great location

Hotel is located just near the Waikiki beach. If you want to attend some activities you probably do not need a car. Self parking is $20 which is average for Honolulu. There is only wired Internet which I think is very weird in 2013. Wifi is only available at the lobby. Overall Price performance was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stridiron
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Dec 9, 2013

Happy Customers!

All of the staff workers, from the front desk to the room cleaners were happy, supportive and bent over backwards to ensure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, near shops, restaurants, beaches and more. The hotel was clean and parking was convenient. Feeling compelled to state again...the staff was GREAT. Everyone certainly shared the Aloha spirit. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's in Waikiki! Need I say more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enroutetohonolulu
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 5, 2013

Stopover in Waikiki

Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and staff, comfortable lounge, coffee stand and general store right beside. Fifteen minute walk to the beach and downtown Waikiki shopping and dining. Hi-speed ethernet connection and tv in room. Inexpensive room included four burner electric stove, full refrigerator and freezer and kitchen sink. I was only on a two night stopover coming home from Asia, but the facilities would have been perfect for a longer stay. Only drawback -- no free shuttle service to the airport, so I had to take a cab. Even including cab fare the rate was very reasonable for Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bwank
Business
ct
Nov 8, 2013

Not what I expected

When I booked this hotel they way it sounded was an up to date hotel rate in the high 3swith internet and parking. The add made it sound like the internet was wifi no its a cord. Half my power outlets did not work in the room. I had to pay $20 a day extra for parking. Hotel is hard to get to. plus smelt musty. Yes it is better then a motel but not by a ton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can order dominos even though the front desk will not say you can even if you ask them directly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top