$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
View map of 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
483 reviews
First night in Hawaii!

Clean hotel with a friendly staff! I would recommend this hotel for those traveling with kids. See full review

  • Mrs McCoy
  • Jun 17, 2015
Business trip

Room too small, great location, shopping center nearby. See full review

  • Busy lawyer
  • Jun 6, 2015

Located minutes from Honolulu International Airport, Ala Moana Hotel sits right in the middle of downtown Honolulu. The hotel is housed in a 36-story, twin tower building with 1,100 rooms.

Ala Moana Hotel Honolulu features a sundeck on the third floor complete with an outdoor splash pool. Next to the pool is a fitness center that provides a sauna and steam room.

The rooms are sophisticated and comfortable, allowing a view of the city, ocean or the mountains. You can block out the view using the blackout drapes that are installed.

The Waikiki Tower, part of the hotel, features rooms with private balconies. A daily maid service has been assigned the task of taking care of the rooms and to be of service to you at all times.

Location

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Highlights

Right next to Ala Moana Hotel in Honolulu is the Ala Moana shopping center, which has over 260 shops. The hotel is also a block away from Ala Moana Beach Park, which provides child-friendly activities.

Across the street is the Hawaii Convention center. The hotel also offers space for meetings and conferences via its 1,000-seat ballroom.

Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for the convenience of these meetings and in other public areas.

The hotel also features a 24-hour business center complete with a computer station that offers computer rentals.

Policies
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight
The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood
Where you can enjoy perfectly aged prime steak, fresh seafood, and signature crafted cocktails with an epic view of Oahu's skyline. Dinner: Nightly 4:30 pm - 10 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 483
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miguel M.
Business
Honolulu
Jun 12, 2015

Honolulu Trip

The hotel and location were good however, the hotel staff was not very friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HiExpectationAsianMom
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 2, 2014

Good value for the price.

Lots of Pros, and good value for the price. Pros: Location is unbeatable for being central to Ala Moana Shopping center, beach, convention center, TheBus (Honolulu's public transportation system). The mountain view was decent, sunrise view as very nice, but who stays in a Hawaii hotel and stares outside instead of GOING outside? Room was compact and neat, a little dated but comfortable. King bed was a little harder and more springy than I prefer, but I just slept on the bedspread anyway. In-room features made this super convenient: free WiFi, climate controls, small in-room refrig/freezer, safe, iron/board, hair dryer coffee maker/supplies, and a cool little combo microwave oven/ conventional oven thingie! Also a giant TV, alarm clock/radio, plenty of lights, towels, and pillows. Staff was great. Lobbies were spacious and comfy. I ended up hanging out in the lobby a lot over the course of my stay, and I could see that families gathered to eat take-out meals or sit and visit with larger groups while waiting for meetings, parties, other activities, or shuttles. Upstairs lobbies were quieter and I saw a few people catching quick naps. It was fun to people watch or head to the business center for some clean, quiet work space. I didn't use the pay-per-minute computers, but they are available along with a copier/printer and a fax machine. The store in the lobby had all the snacks, drinks, and convenience items I needed. The Royal Garden Restaurant on the third floor has consistently great service and Chinese food, including dim sum. You know it's great when the restaurant is full of Chinese nationals! The Cons: Like most hotels in a resort town, parking is *of course* super expensive but I didn't need a car and used Fly Shuttle Hawaii for airport transfer (www.flyshuttlehawaii.com, $12/leg or $20/round trip, plus tip). It may matter to some folks that my particular room was right across from the ice maker (this could be a plus, I don't know). It wasn't that noisy and didn't bother my sleep at all, and I can be pretty picky about that. Overall, it was a great value and I'll definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I used Fly Shuttle Hawaii (www.flyshuttlehawaii.com) for airport transfers. I saw the ad on my Hawaiian Airlines flight. My driver was Thai Lai (808-260-9766) and the cost was $12/trip or $20/round trip, plus tip. I didn't need a rental car!

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Galaxy89
Business
NY
May 19, 2014

Nice and clean

It is a nice hotel. Even though it is a little bit far from the beach, it is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walking with Blisters
Business
Austin, Texas
May 15, 2014

Location is not Ideal

The hotel rooms are small but clean and very adequate. The problem was the distance of the hotel from Waikiki Beach and places to eat. So, if you stay here be prepared to walk a great deal across busy streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warrior Ian
Business
Reston, Virginia
Apr 1, 2014

Convenient and good value

I always have a good stay at the hotel. It is convenient to many locations, staff is usually always very friendly. Usually do not dine there but the new restaurants seems to be an upgrade from the past which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnie H
Business
Stafford, TX
Mar 22, 2014

Best location for people with local connections

Every time I go back to Honolulu I stay at the Ala Moana Hotel for various reasons: Easy for my local friends to pick me up, easy to get to Downtown for business, easy access to all kinds of foods at the adjacent Ala Moana Shopping Center, rooms and bedding are clean. One drawback is rooms are so cold I always freeze. Normally the room prices are reasonable but this time by hitting the school spring break it was pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki in 5 minutes walk, shopping and dining at the Ala Moana Center only a few minutes, Rumours night club in the hotel.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DIVAIAM
Business
HOnolulu
Mar 3, 2014

Nice stay

Nice hotel, great location, secured, and clean a tad bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

P,F CHang

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony TL
Business
Alabama
Feb 5, 2014

Honolulu Visit

Great location, within walk distance to Waikiki and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rumors Night club, located in the hotel.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Regular Hawaii traveler
Business
Columbia, MD
Jan 5, 2014

Great hotel

Located next to a major shopping center. Other stores are close within close walking distance. The hotel is in the heart of Honolulu, next door to Waikiki, Honolulu's main tourist area. Parking is easy. Convenient access to major roads and the freeway. Although small, rooms are clean and up to date. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable. Stayed there in the past and will stay there again during my next trip to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh's Grandma
Business
San Leandro, CA
Oct 8, 2013

Ala Moana Hotel

I arrived early, but they said they could accommodate me and assigned me a room. When I tried to get into the room it was already occupied, so I went back to the desk and told them I was going to lunch and when I return I hope I have a nice room. When I returned they said they upgraded me for my inconvenience to the Waikiki tower (the best) and gave me a wonderful room with a balcony. Loved the stay, but really glad I was upgraded! I also liked the fact that I had a microwave, refrigerator & coffee pot in the room. There was a handy variety store in the lobby for breakfast and snack supplies. I would stay again, but ask for the Waikiki Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We discovered a wonderful Italian restaurant in the Ward entertainment center called Buca di beppo. We also highly recommend Buzz's restaurant in Kailua (across from the beach).

Back to menu Return to top