$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
424 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (424)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in MB
SF, CA
Mar 19, 2014

good location, good value

I really liked the location. It was nice to be a little removed from the uber-touristy section of Waikiki. It was close walking distance to Ala Moana Mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inter Island Overnighter
Kaunakakai, Molokai
Mar 10, 2014

Convenient place to stay

Other than a few stains on the carpet, great price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spabinson
Hilo, HI, USA
Mar 5, 2014

Weekend getaway

We bought tickets to the Lion King at the Blaisdell Center. We flew from the big island and stayed one night at the hotel, booked the morning we arrived online. Check in took awhile, because everyone else is also doing the same, despite every kiosk being served by employees. We loved the workout facilities. They have a steam room and sauna at no extra cost. The location from the Blaisdell Center is a 20m walk...just hope you don't get caught in the rain like we almost did! What I'd recommend is lowering your expextations of customer service, and hope you don't need any help with anything. The power went out at the hotel with bad weather, and we were trying to get to the steam room. The elevators didn't work properly so we asked a cleaning lady for help. She knew what staircase to use but didn't have a key. She found a security guard who had access to a key but just had to get it from his boss. 20m later the guard tells us there's no way to get up a floor because the staircase only unlocks from the inside. Thanks for waiting 20m to tell us that. We did eventually get to the third floor via elevator when it could fit us. I called the front desk at 11am to ask for a late check out. Since the power went out, we missed our alarm and it took a good 30m to get from 9th floor to the 3rd. We hadn't packed and were late to brunch with friends. The front desk refused and pute through to the manager. I'll admit some folks have a charming way to get above average service, and I have never asked to speak to a manager before. The manager also refused even after I explained how frustrating of a morning we had and his excuse was "we've got to clean rooms for the new people checking in". That's like a server asking you to hurry and finish your dinner so the next round of diners can have your table. If he had offered a solution like how's about breakfast on us? Or here's a discount on your stay. On another stay I've witnessed a hostile argument between an angry customer and two employees. I think the customer was pretty difficult to deal with, but that negativity could've been handled behind closed doors. Who wants to see a disagreement when you expect a luxurious experience? I grew up in Hawaii, and the ala moana hotel has a local bad attitude. Maybe it is better for folks who don't speak English so you don't have to hear the excuses and negativity coming out of their mouths. It's a shame because it's a really nice property managed by not so nice ppl who don't seem like they appreciate business. I know not everyone is like the ppl I saw or spoke with, so I hope the worst is over and you get a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mai tai bar ala moana shopping center has fabulous happy hour till 7!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DIVAIAM
HOnolulu
Mar 3, 2014

Nice stay

Nice hotel, great location, secured, and clean a tad bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

P,F CHang

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turisto2012
LA,USA
Feb 17, 2014

Business?Shopping?Beach?

Been there 3 times during transit or short stays. Always a smart choice and good value !! Easy access to HNL with 12 to15dollars shuttle (Taxi is almost 40 and the Bus($2.50) only permits small Carry-on Baggage). Cross Ala Moana Blvd and you walk,swim or play Tennis at nice Park in 5-10 mn. Good Breakfast available for under 20 usd, which is reasonable on this expensive Island ..... Nice experience altogether.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

China town....Little Village Noodle restaurant was better than PF Chang and low prices make it even more surprising.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soon to wed
Big island hawaii
Feb 16, 2014

Great atmosphere and location

My fiancé and I enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel as well as the location. Our room was clean and very relaxing. We will definitely be staying at ala moana the next time we visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Professor of English
Business
Seoul, Korea
Feb 11, 2014

Adequate

The hotel was adequate, but nickeled and dimed me for a local, toll free call to the shuttle service for $1.50. There are better hotels, both inexpensive and more luxurious, than this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller from NYC
New York, NY
Feb 7, 2014

Nice hotel with great location

Ala Moana Hotel is a great place to stay -- close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. And you're *not* in Waikiki, if that's your preference. The great thing about the hotel is that they don't nickel and dime you for amenities like internet access, room safe, fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hasard
South Korea
Feb 7, 2014

Grand Dame with pizzaz

The Ala Moana is not new, but everything has been refreshed and refurbished. Quiet comfort is the easiest way to describe it. It's the perfect place to shop--a two-minute walk to the Ala Moana Mall. If you can't find it there, you definitely don't need it. Spectacular views from the Waikiki Tower--everything--Ocean, downtown, the mountains. Staff are excellent; responsive, always helpful. The fact that numerous flight crews use the hotel is indicative of its value and convenience. Those folk are on the move all the time. Choosing to stay at the Ala Moana is clear evidence of its comfort, convenience and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Renting a car sounds like a great idea, but parking at the Ala Moana and many other hotels really adds up. there's also a lot of highway repair underway and traffic is worse than ever. Let a pro do the driving--cabs--shuttles, tours. Make life easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony TL
Alabama
Feb 5, 2014

Honolulu Visit

Great location, within walk distance to Waikiki and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rumors Night club, located in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top