$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
View map of 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Z
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

m my 50th trip

It was Zelda 50th and we had a great time, this hotel was in proximity to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tin Tin
Business
CA
Dec 9, 2014

Vacation

...great location next to mall...great deal too...we were very satisfied...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJ Denver
Business
Denver CO
Sep 9, 2014

Was as expected from other reviews.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and easy to access. The location is the key to this hotel. It is adjacent to the largest shopping center and the convention center and near Walmart if you forgot to pack necessities. It is also close to the cruise port that makes it easier and less expensive to get to you cruise ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High end stores to Walmart all within a short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HiExpectationAsianMom
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 2, 2014

Good value for the price.

Lots of Pros, and good value for the price. Pros: Location is unbeatable for being central to Ala Moana Shopping center, beach, convention center, TheBus (Honolulu's public transportation system). The mountain view was decent, sunrise view as very nice, but who stays in a Hawaii hotel and stares outside instead of GOING outside? Room was compact and neat, a little dated but comfortable. King bed was a little harder and more springy than I prefer, but I just slept on the bedspread anyway. In-room features made this super convenient: free WiFi, climate controls, small in-room refrig/freezer, safe, iron/board, hair dryer coffee maker/supplies, and a cool little combo microwave oven/ conventional oven thingie! Also a giant TV, alarm clock/radio, plenty of lights, towels, and pillows. Staff was great. Lobbies were spacious and comfy. I ended up hanging out in the lobby a lot over the course of my stay, and I could see that families gathered to eat take-out meals or sit and visit with larger groups while waiting for meetings, parties, other activities, or shuttles. Upstairs lobbies were quieter and I saw a few people catching quick naps. It was fun to people watch or head to the business center for some clean, quiet work space. I didn't use the pay-per-minute computers, but they are available along with a copier/printer and a fax machine. The store in the lobby had all the snacks, drinks, and convenience items I needed. The Royal Garden Restaurant on the third floor has consistently great service and Chinese food, including dim sum. You know it's great when the restaurant is full of Chinese nationals! The Cons: Like most hotels in a resort town, parking is *of course* super expensive but I didn't need a car and used Fly Shuttle Hawaii for airport transfer (www.flyshuttlehawaii.com, $12/leg or $20/round trip, plus tip). It may matter to some folks that my particular room was right across from the ice maker (this could be a plus, I don't know). It wasn't that noisy and didn't bother my sleep at all, and I can be pretty picky about that. Overall, it was a great value and I'll definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I used Fly Shuttle Hawaii (www.flyshuttlehawaii.com) for airport transfers. I saw the ad on my Hawaiian Airlines flight. My driver was Thai Lai (808-260-9766) and the cost was $12/trip or $20/round trip, plus tip. I didn't need a rental car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
d0nnoo
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 1, 2014

Ghost town....

Seems very empty and werent very many guests around. Rooms were a tad bit on the small side and bathrooms were very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What Name Isn't Taken
Business
Hawaii
Sep 1, 2014

Great location for shopping

At Ala Moana Center for shopping, but far away from Waikiki . This is not the hotel for first timers since it is far from Waikiki but is the hotel for local natives who want to shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi nguyen
Business
Big island, Hawaii
Aug 22, 2014

Nice location, but weird extra charge

It was close to the mall that i like. So its good. Staffs was friendly and nice. But.... I already paid for the hotel when i go, they said they will only charge me 25$ to park my car. But when i go home. It charged 80$ in my bank account. Dont know why??? I hate calling people to ask about a small amount of money, cuz i would have to talk to so many of them. Just feel not so rite....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

By aloamoana mall is the best thing about it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sasuke and Mew
Business
Sacramento
Aug 12, 2014

We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were extremely happy with our stay at the hotel. Before going to Hawaii, we noticed some negative reviews about the hotel location as it is not on Waikiki beach or along the shopping district of Kalakaua Ave. However, the hotel is right next to Ala Moana shopping center instead and it is actually not that far away from Waikiki beach. Compared to resort hotels in Waikiki, it's much quieter and more relaxed atmosphere around Ala Moana hotel. So we really liked the location. There is no resort fee. Rooms are very clean and modern. Staff are friendly and helpful. If we go back to Hawaii, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yogi2014
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2014

Hawaiian Stay

This hotel is generally good. Nothing fancy. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amura
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 10, 2014

BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center (which is amazinggg), restaurants & much more! It is even close (short walk) to Kalakaua Avenue which is the center of all your shopping//entertainment needs right next to Waikiki Beach not to mention the unlimited choices of dinning on that very same street. Nicole the concierge at the activities/tour desk was extremely helpful in helping us plan the perfect week full of entertainment and adventure. If you're not sure what to do during your stay she's got you covered! If you're not sure where to stay while vacationing in paradise this hotel will surely meet and exceed all you expectations. Thank you Ala Moana for making our first trip to Hawaii one to remember and we certainly look forward to our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top