$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
646 reviews
Thanks

very nice stay quiet and peaceful close to the big city life. See full review

  • Girl Goes to Big City
  • Jun 29, 2014
Business Traveler

First time at this hotel. Very pleased with location to the west of tourist center. I have been to... See full review

  • Jon H.WEST
  • May 15, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Renovated room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Renovated room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Renovated room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Renovated room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Renovated room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 0630am-10am.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30am - 2:00pm and 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (646)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 646
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kcjoeo
Irvine, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

4 Star hotel with 2 star room

The location is good, near mall and transportation but the room leaves a lot to desire, too small for it to received a 4 star more 2 star. The view is less than to be desire, a seaview of 80% parking lot view. My last time to come there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you went to Hawaii to shop then perfect location.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tevans
St. George UT
Jan 26, 2013

Mildew

Upon entering the hotel the immediate smell of mildew and mold hit my wife and me like a ton of bricks. Our room was not as described that we had booked and was very small with the same smell as the lobby. I wish we could say we love this hotel, but we will choose another property on our return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mistertan
Dallas
Jun 25, 2012

Not what I was expecting.

We saw a great deal for a 4 star room at Ala Moana, so we took the deal. We didnt realize the deal was for a room in an older tower, not their main tower. We got to room and it was no where close to 4 stars maybe 2 stars at best. I've stay at other 4 star hotels in honolulu, this one was my least fav. We had to upgrade rooms because of the smell and the felt like we were in a motel. We got the upgraded room for 40 more per night. It was alittle bit improvement but still didnt get the 4 star feel. Self Parking is bad on Weekends, because they run out of spaces, so you end up parking in meter parking around the hotel. We didnt try any of the restuarants in the hotel, only because I knew of alot of great places in honolulu. The night club Rumurs there was not to our liking, it had an urban vibe and served cheap liquor. We left after 10 mins. The only redeeming quality this hotel had was that we were in honolulu, there is so much to do, beaches, etc. that we didnt stay in the room too long. Also they let us use a courtesy room for 30 mins because we had a late flight. Overall, I would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Sunburnt
Santa Cruz, Caifornia
May 22, 2012

Dissapointing

After realizing that Ala Moana DID NOT have a shuttle service we finally arrived at the hotel to stand in a line for nearly 20 minutes for them to give us ONE room key for 2 of us to SHARE. Once we got up to our floor, the room key didn't even work, so we had to lug our bags all the way back down to the lobby and wait in an even longer line to get a room key that actually worked. There was no wifi above the 3rd floor, the ground surrounding the pool is made up of a sharp gravel-like material that hurts to walk on, they didn't offer hair conditioner for the shower (which is a must after being in ocean water), the hotel parking is 20-25/day, they do not have a hot-tub, they do not allow you to extend your checck-out time, and they do not offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The only thing this hotel is good for is it's 5 minute walk to a multi-level shopping mall.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Silver Fox
Oregon
Sep 7, 2009

What A Disappointment

The hotel was advertised by Cheaptickets as 4 star. If that is so, standards have really dropped. The hotel is designed for looks, not function. You have no control over the room temperature. The air conditioner is either on or off; so, you go to bed with it on low to keep the room cool, and wake up freezing. After turning it off, you wake up overheated. After complaining about this, we were told all rooms were that way. Few of the hotel staff were friendly or helpful. They either ignored you; or they acted like they had more important things to do. Little things, like being unable to fill the coffee pot with water without unplugging and moving it, were very irritating. The doors closed very loudly (which could not be avoided) causing all night sleeping interruption.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use The Bus for transportation. The drivers are extremely helpful in getting you to your destination. It is both efficient and inexpensive. We were there for a week, and found no need for a rental car. We even rode all the way around the island for a dollar per person (senior citizen rate)!

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RTLM
Oceanside, Ca.
Jun 26, 2011

[...]

This was the WORST travel experience of my life. The Ala Moana Hotel staff tried hard and it was nice, but there is a disconnect between what the hotel is advertising as for the view of the rooms, and what [...] is selling. I requested a mountian view, but received a beautiful view of the Macys parking lot and not a mountain in sight. I spent the first 6 hours of my honey moon on the phone and [...] yet NO ONE was willing to make things right with me. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay on Waikiki beach, stop at the DFS (Duty Free Store) and get a 2 day trolley pass (40% discount for military) and take the green, pink and red lines for shopping, travel and sight seeing all on your time and at an affordable rate.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RTLM
Oceanside, Ca.
Jun 26, 2011

[...]

This was the WORST travel experience of my life. The Ala Moana Hotel staff tried hard and it was nice, but there is a disconnect between what the hotel is advertising as for the view of the rooms, and what [...] is selling. I requested a mountian view, but received a beautiful view of the Macys parking lot and not a mountain in sight. I spent the first 6 hours of my honey moon on the phone and [...] yet NO ONE was willing to make things right with me. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay on Waikiki beach, stop at the DFS (Duty Free Store) and get a 2 day trolley pass (40% discount for military) and take the green, pink and red lines for shopping, travel and sight seeing all on your time and at an affordable rate.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bako Engineer
Bakersfield, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Mediocrity

When you hear condo style room you might assume it's roomy. Really it's an average room with a couch, chair and kitchenette squeezed in. The bathroom decor is updated and modern. I was put off by the mildewed shower curtain. It was an affordable room in a decent location (but not an area where I'd want to be out after dark). I would never recommend the breakfast buffet to anyone. The serving utensils were sitting in water full of food residue. That cannot possibly pass health code regulations. Order from the menu. I personally would not stay here again but is not bad if it meets your lower travel budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an open air mall in the adjacent block but the fun is closer to Waikiki beach. Eat at Duke's.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spabinson
Hilo, HI, USA
Mar 5, 2014

Weekend getaway

We bought tickets to the Lion King at the Blaisdell Center. We flew from the big island and stayed one night at the hotel, booked the morning we arrived online. Check in took awhile, because everyone else is also doing the same, despite every kiosk being served by employees. We loved the workout facilities. They have a steam room and sauna at no extra cost. The location from the Blaisdell Center is a 20m walk...just hope you don't get caught in the rain like we almost did! What I'd recommend is lowering your expextations of customer service, and hope you don't need any help with anything. The power went out at the hotel with bad weather, and we were trying to get to the steam room. The elevators didn't work properly so we asked a cleaning lady for help. She knew what staircase to use but didn't have a key. She found a security guard who had access to a key but just had to get it from his boss. 20m later the guard tells us there's no way to get up a floor because the staircase only unlocks from the inside. Thanks for waiting 20m to tell us that. We did eventually get to the third floor via elevator when it could fit us. I called the front desk at 11am to ask for a late check out. Since the power went out, we missed our alarm and it took a good 30m to get from 9th floor to the 3rd. We hadn't packed and were late to brunch with friends. The front desk refused and pute through to the manager. I'll admit some folks have a charming way to get above average service, and I have never asked to speak to a manager before. The manager also refused even after I explained how frustrating of a morning we had and his excuse was "we've got to clean rooms for the new people checking in". That's like a server asking you to hurry and finish your dinner so the next round of diners can have your table. If he had offered a solution like how's about breakfast on us? Or here's a discount on your stay. On another stay I've witnessed a hostile argument between an angry customer and two employees. I think the customer was pretty difficult to deal with, but that negativity could've been handled behind closed doors. Who wants to see a disagreement when you expect a luxurious experience? I grew up in Hawaii, and the ala moana hotel has a local bad attitude. Maybe it is better for folks who don't speak English so you don't have to hear the excuses and negativity coming out of their mouths. It's a shame because it's a really nice property managed by not so nice ppl who don't seem like they appreciate business. I know not everyone is like the ppl I saw or spoke with, so I hope the worst is over and you get a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mai tai bar ala moana shopping center has fabulous happy hour till 7!

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FIRST TIME IN HI
Anchorage, AK
Jul 23, 2012

Very disappointed

My husband & I arrived last Thursday evening. We knew that parking was $20 so when we drove into the lot we were surprised that the gate was open so we were unable to grab a ticket. We went to the reception counter to check in and the customer service agent was very "blah." She wasn't enthusiastic and did not smile at all. We told her that there was no ticket given downstairs for parking and her response was that we should go back downstairs to speak to the attendant... We went downstairs to the attendant to ask about our ticket and THEY TOLD US TO GO BACK UPSTAIRS TO GET ONE FROM THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT. SO INCONVENIENT. We're already tired from all the traveling so very annoyed of course. Our hotel room is SO SMALL. So is the bathroom. Today we didn't even receive room service, we had to call housekeeping to have them bring towels. Yesterday we had issues trying to get to our floor because our key cards weren't working. The agent told us it's because we must have had our cell phones next to them so it messes with signal... I totally disagree since my cell and wallet are never in the same pocket but whatever. I am SO DISAPPOINTED with this hotel, and we're here until Friday. This is our honeymoon trip too! The restaurants they offer here are not that great and are very expensive. But I guess that's what you can expect from any hotel. I NEVER write reviews but I am SO DISAPPOINTED with this place that I HAVE TO SHARE MY EXPERIENCE. The only upside to this hotel is the location is good and that internet access is provided in your room. The next time we come back to Honolulu we will NOT be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top