$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
646 reviews
Thanks

very nice stay quiet and peaceful close to the big city life. See full review

  • Girl Goes to Big City
  • Jun 29, 2014
Business Traveler

First time at this hotel. Very pleased with location to the west of tourist center. I have been to... See full review

  • Jon H.WEST
  • May 15, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Renovated room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Renovated room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Renovated room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Renovated room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Renovated room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 0630am-10am.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30am - 2:00pm and 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (646)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
646 out of 646
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buisness mom
Business
Raleigh NC
May 22, 2009

For buisness

I was at the hotel for buisness. The breakfast restaurant said they had made to order meals but when you show up they only offer buffett. The buffett was average but over priced. The wait staff were very friendly. To park at the hotel for 4 nights was $60.00. This was not mentioned. The pool bar and restaurnt were closed (did not indicate that in their website). The lobby bar was closed (also not mentioned). Restaurant at top of hotel was also closed and their were signs advertising this. I liked the convenience store in the hotel and short stroll to Ala Moana shopping center. Friend I met there told me that they are condos and if you go through condo onwer it is cheaper. Had problem with TV and it took 50 min for someone to come up and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arrg
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

BAD INCONVENIENT EXPERIENCE

Room for 2 was super small, and the bathroom was a closet! The ceiling height is pretty low, and the walls are made of paper. We could hear all kinds of noise from next door and the hall. Paid for parking, $40 for 2 days, but they had no parking space in their tiny garage for my rental. I was told to park on the street at a meter. I will never go back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
R3Villages
Florida
May 30, 2013

Return to Hawaii

The room was so small that you had to wait for one to walk around the bed before the other one could walk. The queen size bed was really a regular size bed and the couch was small and uncomfortable. If you opened the couch into a bed you could not walk anywhere. I have stayed at other hotels and paid a lot less for a lot more. For the money, the Ala Moana was not worth it. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2011

Stolen t-shirt from my room!

The room was smaller than the average New York room. Nice hotel, but too small, a Japanese style suit. I had a light green t-shirt (kind of a muscle shirt) I used it to work out a the hotel's gym on Friday night, I looked for it on Saturday night and I couldn't find it. I called the hotel's management, they look for it on the laundry in case it fell to the floor and it was mixed with the towels... nothing happened. I didn't see it again, it was stolen from my room, I looked all over the place. I never had any issue like this in my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gary hawaii
Kahului, HI
Jul 9, 2012

Good location for shopping

IMHO, the hotel's cleanliness can be better. We've noticed moldy spots in the baththub and the bathroom sink. After the first night, the 4 bath towels were replaced with just 2. Water stays hot in the shower area. You shld like either a very hot shower or a cold one. These are the only few minor issues. Other than that, the hotel's location is by far the most important category why we chose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a walkway that connects the hotel to the shopping center.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Honeymoon

I specifically mentioned and e-mailed Hotel reservation before i went there that this would be my honeymoon trip and the room i got it was horribly small and i couldnt stay there for 6 nights. So i had to pay extra amount to the hotel to get a better room and hotel staff told me that if you book through [...] this is the kind of room they provide. So I end up paying more to get a better room. I wasn't happy what i got for the amount i paid to [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buisness mom
Business
Raleigh NC
May 22, 2009

For buisness

I was at the hotel for buisness. The breakfast restaurant said they had made to order meals but when you show up they only offer buffett. The buffett was average but over priced. The wait staff were very friendly. To park at the hotel for 4 nights was $60.00. This was not mentioned. The pool bar and restaurnt were closed (did not indicate that in their website). The lobby bar was closed (also not mentioned). Restaurant at top of hotel was also closed and their were signs advertising this. I liked the convenience store in the hotel and short stroll to Ala Moana shopping center. Friend I met there told me that they are condos and if you go through condo onwer it is cheaper. Had problem with TV and it took 50 min for someone to come up and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Northwest, WA
Jul 18, 2011

good and bad experiences at Waikiki

It was conveniently located for me to attend the meeting held at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. And I was initially reasonably pleased with the hotel. The telephone in my room, however, went mad and started to buzz in the middle of the last night of my stay, which woke me up at 3 a.m. I had a hard time sleeping after that. The hotel engineer came to my room to fix the phone at 3:30 a.m. But I was in no way prepared to carry on any conversation at that time of the night. I asked him to take the phone away from the room. Consequently, I was unable to get the wake-up call the next morning. I think the hotel should refund at least one night of the hotel charge, and compensate with another night or two of free stay as a token of apology. I filed the complaint, but I have not yet heard from the hotel management as of this day (July 19).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Honeymoon

I specifically mentioned and e-mailed Hotel reservation before i went there that this would be my honeymoon trip and the room i got it was horribly small and i couldnt stay there for 6 nights. So i had to pay extra amount to the hotel to get a better room and hotel staff told me that if you book through [...] this is the kind of room they provide. So I end up paying more to get a better room. I wasn't happy what i got for the amount i paid to [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 14, 2007

Not what you would expect

When you pull up to the entrance and walk into the lobby, you expect a Hotel that is first rate. However, this just wasn't the case. Once we were checked in and pulled into the hotel parking lot, we found that we would have to pay $15 per night for parking. Then going up to the lobby from the parking garage, we get on the elevator and there is no 5th floor. Which is what we are on. It took nearly 10 min. just to find where the elevators were that went to the 5th floor. Which was the old Hotel. The room was so small that you could not sit at the desk without touching the end of the bed. Two people were squeezed in like sardines. They could have taken out some of the furniture and made it roomier. There was a long black hair in the bathroom. The coffee maker had mold in it. The water was barely warm if you got up early enough, cold if you slept in. The pipes were noisey and the clanging would wake us up periodically throughout the night. Our stay took us over the weekend. Returning back to the room after a long day out on Friday, we found that the parking garage was full. Since we were guest, we were guaranteed a space. Fininding one was another story. We circled the parking lot several times on Friday night before someone finally left and we found a spot. On Sat. the same story, only we were told to park in the driveway and leave the keys. Unfortunatley, once up to the room we realized that we forgot something in the car. My husband went down to find the keys in the ignition and the window down. No one was anywhere around to see to it that our car was secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the mountain bike ride tour. They pick you up at the hotel and furnish the bikes, helmet and sandwhich lunch. Beautiful views and lots of information.

Back to menu Return to top