$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
425 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (425)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 14, 2007

Not what you would expect

When you pull up to the entrance and walk into the lobby, you expect a Hotel that is first rate. However, this just wasn't the case. Once we were checked in and pulled into the hotel parking lot, we found that we would have to pay $15 per night for parking. Then going up to the lobby from the parking garage, we get on the elevator and there is no 5th floor. Which is what we are on. It took nearly 10 min. just to find where the elevators were that went to the 5th floor. Which was the old Hotel. The room was so small that you could not sit at the desk without touching the end of the bed. Two people were squeezed in like sardines. They could have taken out some of the furniture and made it roomier. There was a long black hair in the bathroom. The coffee maker had mold in it. The water was barely warm if you got up early enough, cold if you slept in. The pipes were noisey and the clanging would wake us up periodically throughout the night. Our stay took us over the weekend. Returning back to the room after a long day out on Friday, we found that the parking garage was full. Since we were guest, we were guaranteed a space. Fininding one was another story. We circled the parking lot several times on Friday night before someone finally left and we found a spot. On Sat. the same story, only we were told to park in the driveway and leave the keys. Unfortunatley, once up to the room we realized that we forgot something in the car. My husband went down to find the keys in the ignition and the window down. No one was anywhere around to see to it that our car was secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the mountain bike ride tour. They pick you up at the hotel and furnish the bikes, helmet and sandwhich lunch. Beautiful views and lots of information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Valley, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Not so much

Toilet was dirty when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 12, 2008

not worth it

this hotel does not offer enough variety. the main resturant is closed during lunch and dinner for renovations & there is no longer a room service option. Therefore you are stuck with eating the overpriced Japanese, Chinese or bar food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very nice shopping mall right next door with a good food court & several resturants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2011

Stolen t-shirt from my room!

The room was smaller than the average New York room. Nice hotel, but too small, a Japanese style suit. I had a light green t-shirt (kind of a muscle shirt) I used it to work out a the hotel's gym on Friday night, I looked for it on Saturday night and I couldn't find it. I called the hotel's management, they look for it on the laundry in case it fell to the floor and it was mixed with the towels... nothing happened. I didn't see it again, it was stolen from my room, I looked all over the place. I never had any issue like this in my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buisness mom
Business
Raleigh NC
May 22, 2009

For buisness

I was at the hotel for buisness. The breakfast restaurant said they had made to order meals but when you show up they only offer buffett. The buffett was average but over priced. The wait staff were very friendly. To park at the hotel for 4 nights was $60.00. This was not mentioned. The pool bar and restaurnt were closed (did not indicate that in their website). The lobby bar was closed (also not mentioned). Restaurant at top of hotel was also closed and their were signs advertising this. I liked the convenience store in the hotel and short stroll to Ala Moana shopping center. Friend I met there told me that they are condos and if you go through condo onwer it is cheaper. Had problem with TV and it took 50 min for someone to come up and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Honeymoon

I specifically mentioned and e-mailed Hotel reservation before i went there that this would be my honeymoon trip and the room i got it was horribly small and i couldnt stay there for 6 nights. So i had to pay extra amount to the hotel to get a better room and hotel staff told me that if you book through [...] this is the kind of room they provide. So I end up paying more to get a better room. I wasn't happy what i got for the amount i paid to [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CODF
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 11, 2010

not good hotel eventually

It is away from Waikiki, so a little bit inconvenient to do anything. No rental car place nearby, no shopping row nearby except for alamoana shopping mall, no nice view at all.... There is not enough parking space, which is located basement. Almost all cars are double parked or some rows are entirely blocked.. The room is small, and kind of old. However, I liked the fridge and microwave in the room at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe Six Pack
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 8, 2011

Location is about all there is.

Staff was not rude but not particularly helpful either. It is a decent location just north of Waikiki but the room was fairly run down and small. We had just come from a fancy resort on the big island, so that may be coloring my opinion, but I wouldn't stay there a second time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 3, 2010

My first time; perhaps my last time

We stayed at this hotel over the Xmas Holidays with friends. From the outside and hotel lobby it looks nice but the inside of the room is a different story. We reserved and paid extra for a room so called "Partial Ocean view" but all we can see the most from our fifth floor room was Macy's parking lot view. We requested for the upper level rooms with the ocean view but none were available; and also hotel staffs seemed not to concern about our request even that we told them we were so disappointed to stay. The hotel's parking is $15 per night which was surprising to us that the hotel don't provide parking space for their customers but adding more cost to customers. We have no choice due to that we have pre-paid for a 10 days vacation package already. The room is clean but some days we did not have a new set of shampoo, soap and lotion. We don't want these little things to ruin our vacation so we bought our own shampoo, soap and lotion and don't even care if we have a new set or not. Also, our friend has no ideas that one day her evening purse got stole from her luggage from her room while she was out. She reported to hotel security and she was lucky they found and brought the purse back to her the next day. Amazing….

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2010

So so

Small room. Tiny tv. Bad views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top