$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
424 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (424)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spabinson
Hilo, HI, USA
Mar 5, 2014

Weekend getaway

We bought tickets to the Lion King at the Blaisdell Center. We flew from the big island and stayed one night at the hotel, booked the morning we arrived online. Check in took awhile, because everyone else is also doing the same, despite every kiosk being served by employees. We loved the workout facilities. They have a steam room and sauna at no extra cost. The location from the Blaisdell Center is a 20m walk...just hope you don't get caught in the rain like we almost did! What I'd recommend is lowering your expextations of customer service, and hope you don't need any help with anything. The power went out at the hotel with bad weather, and we were trying to get to the steam room. The elevators didn't work properly so we asked a cleaning lady for help. She knew what staircase to use but didn't have a key. She found a security guard who had access to a key but just had to get it from his boss. 20m later the guard tells us there's no way to get up a floor because the staircase only unlocks from the inside. Thanks for waiting 20m to tell us that. We did eventually get to the third floor via elevator when it could fit us. I called the front desk at 11am to ask for a late check out. Since the power went out, we missed our alarm and it took a good 30m to get from 9th floor to the 3rd. We hadn't packed and were late to brunch with friends. The front desk refused and pute through to the manager. I'll admit some folks have a charming way to get above average service, and I have never asked to speak to a manager before. The manager also refused even after I explained how frustrating of a morning we had and his excuse was "we've got to clean rooms for the new people checking in". That's like a server asking you to hurry and finish your dinner so the next round of diners can have your table. If he had offered a solution like how's about breakfast on us? Or here's a discount on your stay. On another stay I've witnessed a hostile argument between an angry customer and two employees. I think the customer was pretty difficult to deal with, but that negativity could've been handled behind closed doors. Who wants to see a disagreement when you expect a luxurious experience? I grew up in Hawaii, and the ala moana hotel has a local bad attitude. Maybe it is better for folks who don't speak English so you don't have to hear the excuses and negativity coming out of their mouths. It's a shame because it's a really nice property managed by not so nice ppl who don't seem like they appreciate business. I know not everyone is like the ppl I saw or spoke with, so I hope the worst is over and you get a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mai tai bar ala moana shopping center has fabulous happy hour till 7!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rls
Washington DC
Nov 5, 2010

Convenient & Kona Side Cozy But Nice

I was here to vote and assist with final campaign work. Hotel staff were professional but not friendly. Facilities were clean. However, the hallways were stuffy and carpets inside the room were stained and a stale smell remain. Custodian staff were pleasant but not friendly. The one oriental dining facility was satisfactory. Overall, I found the location convenient as it was located next to one of the most popular malls on Oahu. Was not overly impressed with the staff. No formal complaint, however, I do believe if they are the aloha state, you'd expect more warmth. The stores on the premises are very convenient. Upon check in, they could not find my reservation even with my confirmation #. Would I stay there again - yes I would. But management needs to be visible and engaging if they really want to know how they are doing. People will tolerate substandard performance as long as their basic needs are being met. Ala Moana Hotel meets the basic needs. I would not stay there with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining in Ala Moana mall offer multiple selections all will have something pleasing to your palet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FIRST TIME IN HI
Anchorage, AK
Jul 23, 2012

Very disappointed

My husband & I arrived last Thursday evening. We knew that parking was $20 so when we drove into the lot we were surprised that the gate was open so we were unable to grab a ticket. We went to the reception counter to check in and the customer service agent was very "blah." She wasn't enthusiastic and did not smile at all. We told her that there was no ticket given downstairs for parking and her response was that we should go back downstairs to speak to the attendant... We went downstairs to the attendant to ask about our ticket and THEY TOLD US TO GO BACK UPSTAIRS TO GET ONE FROM THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT. SO INCONVENIENT. We're already tired from all the traveling so very annoyed of course. Our hotel room is SO SMALL. So is the bathroom. Today we didn't even receive room service, we had to call housekeeping to have them bring towels. Yesterday we had issues trying to get to our floor because our key cards weren't working. The agent told us it's because we must have had our cell phones next to them so it messes with signal... I totally disagree since my cell and wallet are never in the same pocket but whatever. I am SO DISAPPOINTED with this hotel, and we're here until Friday. This is our honeymoon trip too! The restaurants they offer here are not that great and are very expensive. But I guess that's what you can expect from any hotel. I NEVER write reviews but I am SO DISAPPOINTED with this place that I HAVE TO SHARE MY EXPERIENCE. The only upside to this hotel is the location is good and that internet access is provided in your room. The next time we come back to Honolulu we will NOT be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2011

Stolen t-shirt from my room!

The room was smaller than the average New York room. Nice hotel, but too small, a Japanese style suit. I had a light green t-shirt (kind of a muscle shirt) I used it to work out a the hotel's gym on Friday night, I looked for it on Saturday night and I couldn't find it. I called the hotel's management, they look for it on the laundry in case it fell to the floor and it was mixed with the towels... nothing happened. I didn't see it again, it was stolen from my room, I looked all over the place. I never had any issue like this in my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arrg
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

BAD INCONVENIENT EXPERIENCE

Room for 2 was super small, and the bathroom was a closet! The ceiling height is pretty low, and the walls are made of paper. We could hear all kinds of noise from next door and the hall. Paid for parking, $40 for 2 days, but they had no parking space in their tiny garage for my rental. I was told to park on the street at a meter. I will never go back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
R3Villages
Florida
May 30, 2013

Return to Hawaii

The room was so small that you had to wait for one to walk around the bed before the other one could walk. The queen size bed was really a regular size bed and the couch was small and uncomfortable. If you opened the couch into a bed you could not walk anywhere. I have stayed at other hotels and paid a lot less for a lot more. For the money, the Ala Moana was not worth it. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gary hawaii
Kahului, HI
Jul 9, 2012

Good location for shopping

IMHO, the hotel's cleanliness can be better. We've noticed moldy spots in the baththub and the bathroom sink. After the first night, the 4 bath towels were replaced with just 2. Water stays hot in the shower area. You shld like either a very hot shower or a cold one. These are the only few minor issues. Other than that, the hotel's location is by far the most important category why we chose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a walkway that connects the hotel to the shopping center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Honeymoon

I specifically mentioned and e-mailed Hotel reservation before i went there that this would be my honeymoon trip and the room i got it was horribly small and i couldnt stay there for 6 nights. So i had to pay extra amount to the hotel to get a better room and hotel staff told me that if you book through [...] this is the kind of room they provide. So I end up paying more to get a better room. I wasn't happy what i got for the amount i paid to [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buisness mom
Business
Raleigh NC
May 22, 2009

For buisness

I was at the hotel for buisness. The breakfast restaurant said they had made to order meals but when you show up they only offer buffett. The buffett was average but over priced. The wait staff were very friendly. To park at the hotel for 4 nights was $60.00. This was not mentioned. The pool bar and restaurnt were closed (did not indicate that in their website). The lobby bar was closed (also not mentioned). Restaurant at top of hotel was also closed and their were signs advertising this. I liked the convenience store in the hotel and short stroll to Ala Moana shopping center. Friend I met there told me that they are condos and if you go through condo onwer it is cheaper. Had problem with TV and it took 50 min for someone to come up and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Northwest, WA
Jul 18, 2011

good and bad experiences at Waikiki

It was conveniently located for me to attend the meeting held at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. And I was initially reasonably pleased with the hotel. The telephone in my room, however, went mad and started to buzz in the middle of the last night of my stay, which woke me up at 3 a.m. I had a hard time sleeping after that. The hotel engineer came to my room to fix the phone at 3:30 a.m. But I was in no way prepared to carry on any conversation at that time of the night. I asked him to take the phone away from the room. Consequently, I was unable to get the wake-up call the next morning. I think the hotel should refund at least one night of the hotel charge, and compensate with another night or two of free stay as a token of apology. I filed the complaint, but I have not yet heard from the hotel management as of this day (July 19).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top