$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
View map of 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Apr 4, 2010

Great Location for shopping

Friendly and attentive staff. I felt that the bathroom and carpeting could have been cleaner though. The fitness center was quite nice and the shopping mall was just a minute's walk from the hotel. Though I would recommend this hotel to a friend, it would be with "reservations."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Mar 8, 2011

location

If your on business its probably good but not vacation. No bar in hotel or rest. The walks were just to far. The room was very average the pool was below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

But i can go to a mall any where why would I go all the way to HI to do that?

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palo alto
Dec 31, 2009

okay getaway

the parking they sould let you know you have to pay for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the mall was next door

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 14, 2010

OK for the price, but...

It is good for the price. You won't find a 4-star in central Waikiki for that price, but this is a good 20-30 minute walk from where the action is, with the exception of the next-door Ala Moana shopping center. The Kona Tower offers very small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland
May 5, 2011

Ok for the price

The hotel is very close to the convention center and close to the beach and the shopping mall. You'll find a good variety of food in the mall. There is quite a walk if you want to go to the main street on Waikiki beach. The rooms are too small and I did not like the moist- moldy smell of the hotel. But that seem to be present in all the stores around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diegan
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 16, 2011

Convention on a budget

The Ala Moana is an older hotel close to the Honolulu Convention Center. Rooms have a small refrigerator & microwave and my floor was fairly quiet. It was a reasonable price for the area. It is located close to the Ala Moana shopping center and the Ala Moana Park. If you want lots of amenities, this might not be the place for you. Check in and check out lines are long, no computerized check out. No complimentary services. They won't even print boarding passes for you. The business center computers are clunky, expensive and it is very hard to print anything. Staff seem baffled by requests, don't help carry in luggage, don't give good directions, have trouble waving at a taxi for you. The same smears that were on the seaward windows by the elevator when I arrived were there when I left a week later. The elevator to my tower of rooms was accessed by room key card, however that did not work well. I was stranded in the elevator once. You have get a new key card when that happens-another chance to stand in that long line! I helped someone with it every day I was there, not so great for security protocol. The neighborhood is beautiful in the day time, a bit dicier at night. The park has "urban campers" sleeping in it. The parking structure next door also seems to be a good hangout. Near the convention center, on your way home, there are a lot of establishments of questionable repute who seem to do a big business on a Saturday night. Find someone to walk back with you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I got the best dinner all week in the Nordstrom's in the Ala Moana Center.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 17, 2011

Conveniently located

The hotel is conveniently located near the convention center, which was the primary aim of the trip. Clean compact room, with good amenities. Just next to the large shopping center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anaholian
Business
anahola kauai
Apr 12, 2010

excelent shopping location

enjoyed our time like location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cynthia
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Great Location!

Located near the beach and next door to the huge Ala Moana Shopping Center, one can't beat the location of this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfy but, sadly, not sound-proof enough. I found it difficult to sleep when the television is on in the next room. Also, the WiFi which was available only in the lobby, 2nd and 3rd floors and the pool, did not work well. I had to go to Starbucks or Barnes and Noble at Ala Moana to receive and send email. The hotel charges for the use of computers ($0.30/minute) and printers in the lobby. On our second night, we were disturbed in our sleep by security asking for identification. I demanded to see the manager for an explanation. Due to a clerical error, my name was registered in the wrong room. I said my key card would not have fit if I were in the wrong room. As a gesture of apology, they upgraded me to a room with a nice view and authorized a late checkout. The television next door was still audible, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are cheaper options for dining at Ala Moana Shopping Center.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kamaiina haole
Business
Dallas Tx area
Jun 16, 2011

Da Review

I enjoyed this hotel. The staff was expecially warm and caring. Because of the recession in HI, several of the amenities in the hotel were not as listed on the web site: restaurants esepecially. The swimming pool lacks a hot tub. Parking lot was full one evening when I returned; having rented out all the spaces for a party. I object to this behavior since I paid for daily parking. They arranged for street-side metered parking for me free. This seems like double-dipping to me since they charge others to park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top