Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
View map of 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
398 reviews
family vacation

Stay here every time we visit Hawaii. Hotel staff are very helpful, professional and radiate the... See full review

  • Ball mom
  • Jul 21, 2015
First night in Hawaii!

Clean hotel with a friendly staff! I would recommend this hotel for those traveling with kids. See full review

  • Mrs McCoy
  • Jun 17, 2015
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.
General

Ala Moana Hotel, Oahu

Location

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants including Yuzu serving Japanese dishes, Royal Garden serving Chinese fares and The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood serving delicious steak and seafood specialties. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Dining
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Rooms

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Highlights

Right next to Ala Moana Hotel in Honolulu is the Ala Moana shopping center, which has over 260 shops. The hotel is also a block away from Ala Moana Beach Park, which provides child-friendly activities.

Across the street is the Hawaii Convention center. The hotel also offers space for meetings and conferences via its 1,000-seat ballroom.

Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for the convenience of these meetings and in other public areas.

The hotel also features a 24-hour business center complete with a computer station that offers computer rentals.

Policies
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight
The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood
Where you can enjoy perfectly aged prime steak, fresh seafood, and signature crafted cocktails with an epic view of Oahu's skyline. Dinner: Nightly 4:30 pm - 10 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom with teenage daughter
Los Angeles, California
Jan 22, 2013

Long weekend getaway for my daughter and me

The Ala Moana hotel was perfect for our needs. The room was small (Kona tower facing the mountains) but we had two beds (a queen bed and a a sofa bed), a kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker) and a reasonable size bathroom, which was what we wanted. There is a big supermarket at about 3 blocks from the hotel. We did not even go to the large shopping center connected to the hotel at the second floor level. The Ala Moana park and beach are a few minutes away and the Waikiki beach a bit further away. The parking costed 20 dollars per day, which may be a bit costly, but it was worth for us to have the car. The front desk, information desk and housekeeping people were kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Sunburnt
Business
Santa Cruz, Caifornia
May 22, 2012

Dissapointing

After realizing that Ala Moana DID NOT have a shuttle service we finally arrived at the hotel to stand in a line for nearly 20 minutes for them to give us ONE room key for 2 of us to SHARE. Once we got up to our floor, the room key didn't even work, so we had to lug our bags all the way back down to the lobby and wait in an even longer line to get a room key that actually worked. There was no wifi above the 3rd floor, the ground surrounding the pool is made up of a sharp gravel-like material that hurts to walk on, they didn't offer hair conditioner for the shower (which is a must after being in ocean water), the hotel parking is 20-25/day, they do not have a hot-tub, they do not allow you to extend your checck-out time, and they do not offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The only thing this hotel is good for is it's 5 minute walk to a multi-level shopping mall.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mistertan
Business
Dallas
Jun 25, 2012

Not what I was expecting.

We saw a great deal for a 4 star room at Ala Moana, so we took the deal. We didnt realize the deal was for a room in an older tower, not their main tower. We got to room and it was no where close to 4 stars maybe 2 stars at best. I've stay at other 4 star hotels in honolulu, this one was my least fav. We had to upgrade rooms because of the smell and the felt like we were in a motel. We got the upgraded room for 40 more per night. It was alittle bit improvement but still didnt get the 4 star feel. Self Parking is bad on Weekends, because they run out of spaces, so you end up parking in meter parking around the hotel. We didnt try any of the restuarants in the hotel, only because I knew of alot of great places in honolulu. The night club Rumurs there was not to our liking, it had an urban vibe and served cheap liquor. We left after 10 mins. The only redeeming quality this hotel had was that we were in honolulu, there is so much to do, beaches, etc. that we didnt stay in the room too long. Also they let us use a courtesy room for 30 mins because we had a late flight. Overall, I would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tevans
Business
St. George UT
Jan 26, 2013

Mildew

Upon entering the hotel the immediate smell of mildew and mold hit my wife and me like a ton of bricks. Our room was not as described that we had booked and was very small with the same smell as the lobby. I wish we could say we love this hotel, but we will choose another property on our return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RTLM
Business
Oceanside, Ca.
Jun 26, 2011

[...]

This was the WORST travel experience of my life. The Ala Moana Hotel staff tried hard and it was nice, but there is a disconnect between what the hotel is advertising as for the view of the rooms, and what [...] is selling. I requested a mountian view, but received a beautiful view of the Macys parking lot and not a mountain in sight. I spent the first 6 hours of my honey moon on the phone and [...] yet NO ONE was willing to make things right with me. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay on Waikiki beach, stop at the DFS (Duty Free Store) and get a 2 day trolley pass (40% discount for military) and take the green, pink and red lines for shopping, travel and sight seeing all on your time and at an affordable rate.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver
Aug 22, 2010

concrete mall

When i arrived to the hotel the first thing i asked was if they had food. they do not serve food except for snacks on the plane. not only did they say we have no food but we dont know anything about late night food. I thought that was strange considering we were in a major city. so i took my hotel card and went to my room. then i saw i did not have a view of anything but a macys parking lot. this is really really wrong. when someone goes on vacation... and some years this is my only vacation then this is so so wrong. I called the front desk and said this is not a ocean view after i requested the upgrade of the ocean view. If that is an ocean view and you can honestly call that an ocean view then something is seriously wrong. My package was 2300.Us Please tell me this was a joke. i had to leave for the embarrasement of the hotel and the way they treated me. I went to a nice hotel and found a ocean view. it was much more but the point is i came on the vacation to have an ocean view and when i am lied to it makes no sense. it was a complete lie. i should sue this website for all i went through. but i will never do that. if you care at all you should figure something out to make it right. and i do not want to ever go back to that hotel.I already spent a lot of money. and if you want me to send you pictures of macy i will . it is not an ocean view. because you can see a few boats a mile away and 90 percent mall parking lot does not make it an ocean view. this is mis leading. i will wait for a response but i am not impressedJeremy DeichenExecutive Producertel 77.88.55.Film jeremy[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megsaweezer
Business
okc
Sep 29, 2010

THIS WAS THE MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

If you are expecting the hotel they show in the pictures DON"T! The rooms are small cramped, smell of fish the beds are like the iron maden and the staff have a nice future in Helgas house of Horrors! It is almost far enough removed from Honalulu's sights and sounds as you can get! The Towles are tiny and if they really spent 250 million in renovations, i would have hated to see the origional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy a trolly pass and get the HELLLL Out of the HOTEL it STINKS!

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diana K.
Business
kalaheo
Feb 9, 2015

Noisy room

I stay at this hotel for the convenience of beeing close to conference hall. The room i was given was by the electrical room and noisy. I was not able to sleep at all. Very dissaointed as the hotel was not overbooked the staff could offer quiet room. Very ricey for what i received

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Close to conference hall

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spabinson
Business
Hilo, HI, USA
Mar 5, 2014

Weekend getaway

We bought tickets to the Lion King at the Blaisdell Center. We flew from the big island and stayed one night at the hotel, booked the morning we arrived online. Check in took awhile, because everyone else is also doing the same, despite every kiosk being served by employees. We loved the workout facilities. They have a steam room and sauna at no extra cost. The location from the Blaisdell Center is a 20m walk...just hope you don't get caught in the rain like we almost did! What I'd recommend is lowering your expextations of customer service, and hope you don't need any help with anything. The power went out at the hotel with bad weather, and we were trying to get to the steam room. The elevators didn't work properly so we asked a cleaning lady for help. She knew what staircase to use but didn't have a key. She found a security guard who had access to a key but just had to get it from his boss. 20m later the guard tells us there's no way to get up a floor because the staircase only unlocks from the inside. Thanks for waiting 20m to tell us that. We did eventually get to the third floor via elevator when it could fit us. I called the front desk at 11am to ask for a late check out. Since the power went out, we missed our alarm and it took a good 30m to get from 9th floor to the 3rd. We hadn't packed and were late to brunch with friends. The front desk refused and pute through to the manager. I'll admit some folks have a charming way to get above average service, and I have never asked to speak to a manager before. The manager also refused even after I explained how frustrating of a morning we had and his excuse was "we've got to clean rooms for the new people checking in". That's like a server asking you to hurry and finish your dinner so the next round of diners can have your table. If he had offered a solution like how's about breakfast on us? Or here's a discount on your stay. On another stay I've witnessed a hostile argument between an angry customer and two employees. I think the customer was pretty difficult to deal with, but that negativity could've been handled behind closed doors. Who wants to see a disagreement when you expect a luxurious experience? I grew up in Hawaii, and the ala moana hotel has a local bad attitude. Maybe it is better for folks who don't speak English so you don't have to hear the excuses and negativity coming out of their mouths. It's a shame because it's a really nice property managed by not so nice ppl who don't seem like they appreciate business. I know not everyone is like the ppl I saw or spoke with, so I hope the worst is over and you get a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mai tai bar ala moana shopping center has fabulous happy hour till 7!

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arrg
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

BAD INCONVENIENT EXPERIENCE

Room for 2 was super small, and the bathroom was a closet! The ceiling height is pretty low, and the walls are made of paper. We could hear all kinds of noise from next door and the hall. Paid for parking, $40 for 2 days, but they had no parking space in their tiny garage for my rental. I was told to park on the street at a meter. I will never go back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gary hawaii
Business
Kahului, HI
Jul 9, 2012

Good location for shopping

IMHO, the hotel's cleanliness can be better. We've noticed moldy spots in the baththub and the bathroom sink. After the first night, the 4 bath towels were replaced with just 2. Water stays hot in the shower area. You shld like either a very hot shower or a cold one. These are the only few minor issues. Other than that, the hotel's location is by far the most important category why we chose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a walkway that connects the hotel to the shopping center.

Back to menu Return to top