Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
424 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (424)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Silver Fox
Business
Oregon
Sep 7, 2009

What A Disappointment

The hotel was advertised by Cheaptickets as 4 star. If that is so, standards have really dropped. The hotel is designed for looks, not function. You have no control over the room temperature. The air conditioner is either on or off; so, you go to bed with it on low to keep the room cool, and wake up freezing. After turning it off, you wake up overheated. After complaining about this, we were told all rooms were that way. Few of the hotel staff were friendly or helpful. They either ignored you; or they acted like they had more important things to do. Little things, like being unable to fill the coffee pot with water without unplugging and moving it, were very irritating. The doors closed very loudly (which could not be avoided) causing all night sleeping interruption.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use The Bus for transportation. The drivers are extremely helpful in getting you to your destination. It is both efficient and inexpensive. We were there for a week, and found no need for a rental car. We even rode all the way around the island for a dollar per person (senior citizen rate)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Aug 23, 2010

Parking problems

We arrived at the hotel at about 9 PM. There was no parking available either for self park or valet. They told us that they could not park our car and that we were on our own for parking. This was an extremely disappointing event. There is no other parking available in the area. They had no viable alternative available. Basically they made their parking problem my problem by surprise. They could have called so that I could make other arrangements but they did not. They did not inform me of the situation until after I had given them my credit card and finished the check in process. I finally through such a fit that they parked my car in the driveway in front of the hotel. Do not recommend this hotel until they solve their parking problem. They have 1000 rooms and only 300 parking spaces. This is in a place where most travelers rent cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tradex
Business
Los √Āngeles, California, EEUU
Jan 26, 2012

Japan experience

The Japanese attendant will try to cheat you with fees and the parking. Just in front of the hotel there is a big free parking. The attendant will tell us that our car will be towed away so we should use its parking ($20). We did, but next day we realized that many cars remain in their spaces without any violation. Moreover, all the signs are in japanese. Bad location, far away from waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kcjoeo
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

4 Star hotel with 2 star room

The location is good, near mall and transportation but the room leaves a lot to desire, too small for it to received a 4 star more 2 star. The view is less than to be desire, a seaview of 80% parking lot view. My last time to come there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you went to Hawaii to shop then perfect location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Sunburnt
Business
Santa Cruz, Caifornia
May 22, 2012

Dissapointing

After realizing that Ala Moana DID NOT have a shuttle service we finally arrived at the hotel to stand in a line for nearly 20 minutes for them to give us ONE room key for 2 of us to SHARE. Once we got up to our floor, the room key didn't even work, so we had to lug our bags all the way back down to the lobby and wait in an even longer line to get a room key that actually worked. There was no wifi above the 3rd floor, the ground surrounding the pool is made up of a sharp gravel-like material that hurts to walk on, they didn't offer hair conditioner for the shower (which is a must after being in ocean water), the hotel parking is 20-25/day, they do not have a hot-tub, they do not allow you to extend your checck-out time, and they do not offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The only thing this hotel is good for is it's 5 minute walk to a multi-level shopping mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mistertan
Business
Dallas
Jun 25, 2012

Not what I was expecting.

We saw a great deal for a 4 star room at Ala Moana, so we took the deal. We didnt realize the deal was for a room in an older tower, not their main tower. We got to room and it was no where close to 4 stars maybe 2 stars at best. I've stay at other 4 star hotels in honolulu, this one was my least fav. We had to upgrade rooms because of the smell and the felt like we were in a motel. We got the upgraded room for 40 more per night. It was alittle bit improvement but still didnt get the 4 star feel. Self Parking is bad on Weekends, because they run out of spaces, so you end up parking in meter parking around the hotel. We didnt try any of the restuarants in the hotel, only because I knew of alot of great places in honolulu. The night club Rumurs there was not to our liking, it had an urban vibe and served cheap liquor. We left after 10 mins. The only redeeming quality this hotel had was that we were in honolulu, there is so much to do, beaches, etc. that we didnt stay in the room too long. Also they let us use a courtesy room for 30 mins because we had a late flight. Overall, I would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tevans
Business
St. George UT
Jan 26, 2013

Mildew

Upon entering the hotel the immediate smell of mildew and mold hit my wife and me like a ton of bricks. Our room was not as described that we had booked and was very small with the same smell as the lobby. I wish we could say we love this hotel, but we will choose another property on our return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RTLM
Business
Oceanside, Ca.
Jun 26, 2011

[...]

This was the WORST travel experience of my life. The Ala Moana Hotel staff tried hard and it was nice, but there is a disconnect between what the hotel is advertising as for the view of the rooms, and what [...] is selling. I requested a mountian view, but received a beautiful view of the Macys parking lot and not a mountain in sight. I spent the first 6 hours of my honey moon on the phone and [...] yet NO ONE was willing to make things right with me. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay on Waikiki beach, stop at the DFS (Duty Free Store) and get a 2 day trolley pass (40% discount for military) and take the green, pink and red lines for shopping, travel and sight seeing all on your time and at an affordable rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver
Aug 22, 2010

concrete mall

When i arrived to the hotel the first thing i asked was if they had food. they do not serve food except for snacks on the plane. not only did they say we have no food but we dont know anything about late night food. I thought that was strange considering we were in a major city. so i took my hotel card and went to my room. then i saw i did not have a view of anything but a macys parking lot. this is really really wrong. when someone goes on vacation... and some years this is my only vacation then this is so so wrong. I called the front desk and said this is not a ocean view after i requested the upgrade of the ocean view. If that is an ocean view and you can honestly call that an ocean view then something is seriously wrong. My package was 2300.Us Please tell me this was a joke. i had to leave for the embarrasement of the hotel and the way they treated me. I went to a nice hotel and found a ocean view. it was much more but the point is i came on the vacation to have an ocean view and when i am lied to it makes no sense. it was a complete lie. i should sue this website for all i went through. but i will never do that. if you care at all you should figure something out to make it right. and i do not want to ever go back to that hotel.I already spent a lot of money. and if you want me to send you pictures of macy i will . it is not an ocean view. because you can see a few boats a mile away and 90 percent mall parking lot does not make it an ocean view. this is mis leading. i will wait for a response but i am not impressedJeremy DeichenExecutive Producertel 77.88.55.Film jeremy[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megsaweezer
Business
okc
Sep 29, 2010

THIS WAS THE MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

If you are expecting the hotel they show in the pictures DON"T! The rooms are small cramped, smell of fish the beds are like the iron maden and the staff have a nice future in Helgas house of Horrors! It is almost far enough removed from Honalulu's sights and sounds as you can get! The Towles are tiny and if they really spent 250 million in renovations, i would have hated to see the origional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy a trolly pass and get the HELLLL Out of the HOTEL it STINKS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top