$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 11, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
424 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (424)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
long lines at checkin
Illinois
Jan 23, 2013

check-in a pain

The Ala Moana check-in took about an hour! It seems that two plane loads of passengers were also checking in due to a flight cancellation. The desk person didn't at least apologize or give us some sort of comp for the hassle. We had plans for the evening and this delay was not appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KiniKauai
Business
Kauai
Jun 30, 2009

Oahu in June

I chose a "partial ocean view" room, and paid a little extra for it on Orbitz. When I arrived to check in, I was told I'd been "upgraded to the Waikiki Tower at no extra charge". Upon entering my room, I was very disappointed to find that I had no ocean view whatsoever, but was overlooking the parking lots of the businesses and towers behind the hotel. My room was not larger and did not have any extra amenities, so I viewed the "upgrade" as a "downgrade" that I paid extra for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stay-cation-ers
honolulu
Jun 15, 2010

Ala Moana Hotel

Ala Moana Hotel is an OK choice if you are on a budget, want to stay close to the shopping center (and have food, shopping at your doorstep) or won't spend much time in your room. The rooms are small. It is NOT a resort. It's just a place to stay. While we were there, we did a lot of shopping, walking, eating at nearby restaurants and enjoying Ala Moana/Magic Island Beach Parks. Overall, it was a great Staycation for us as we are residents of Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are A LOT of standard restaurants and hole-in-the-wall type places around Ala Moana. Consider eating at the more "expensive" places for lunch and trying the hole-in-the-wall places for dinner. It'll save you some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
maryland
Jun 29, 2010

Great locations; walk to the beach

The sheets and towels were clean, but the rug was stained and the bathroom did not look clean. The newer tower is much better. I have stayed there many times. I would not recommend the Kona towers for more than 79.00 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping mall connected to the hotel. The staff is very helpful and professional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stanski
Sarasota Fl.
Feb 6, 2013

Location

great location, used THE BUS , never had a need to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warrior Dad
NM
Jan 9, 2011

Ala Moana - in comparison . . .

If you want to shop until you drop, this may be the place for you. Otherwise this is a typical tourist hotel and far from being any kind of resort. To be fair, I stayed at the wonderful Kahala before moving into the small, clean, sparsely appointed Ala Moana hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Centrally located, fairly reasonable, the rooms are suitable for sleeping only. You'll want to get out and see the sights

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, AK
Jul 15, 2010

Location

The hotel over all was OK but it could be improved by having staff being more attentive to guest and for keeping the premise clean. For example one of the general bathrooms was not being maintained adequately and keep monitored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for going shopping for connected to a large open air shopping center. The shopping center is so large that it is very hard to visit all the shops in a full day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
big g
houston texas
Mar 26, 2010

no restaurants

I would have liked it if they had a better restaurant The breakfast at 15 dollars was not worth it. Wanted a nice place to take the family to eat after a day of fun in the sun at our hotel. However, had to walk or took a cab to go out for a late supper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I did not receive any helpful hints from the hotel staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likeke 75
Maui
Jul 23, 2012

Average

Our 3 night stay this past weekend was what i'd say, "alright". Parking after 10pm was quite horrendous. Not to mention, it's $20/day to self park. One day after coming back from being out for most of the day, our room wasn't cleaned yet, (already 4pm). And twice our room door rejected the room key(card), even after we had used it in the elevator to get up to the 9th floor. Yes, I had to walk back down to the front desk. Uuugh! Other than the rooms being quite small, overall I'll say the hotel is okay. Would consider staying there again probably for $110/night, rather than the $137/night that I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kamaiina haole
Dallas Tx area
Jun 16, 2011

Da Review

I enjoyed this hotel. The staff was expecially warm and caring. Because of the recession in HI, several of the amenities in the hotel were not as listed on the web site: restaurants esepecially. The swimming pool lacks a hot tub. Parking lot was full one evening when I returned; having rented out all the spaces for a party. I object to this behavior since I paid for daily parking. They arranged for street-side metered parking for me free. This seems like double-dipping to me since they charge others to park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search