$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
View map of 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2010

So so

Small room. Tiny tv. Bad views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baily
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

nothing special

our room was very small.only enough room to walk around the bed...no balcony,however it had a sliding glass door,with railing.view was a very small view of ocean.bathroom very tiny...we left this room and for $20.00 more a nite upgraded to a full mountain/city view with balcony and plenty of room inside.Room was clean,and maid service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The next time we go, we have decided not to buy a hotel/flight/car package,,but rather just our flight.There are numerous hotels to stay at,and would rather go to different places on the island.Also,no problem in getting a ride from bus,shuttle, or taxi,(they use limos as taxi's there...almost same price)so would not rent a car again,....we only put 100 miles on car in 5 days...mostly used other transportation.Also,wouldnt buy OAHU saver card.....bettter deals/coupons everywhere on the island....only used oahu card twice.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bako Engineer
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Mediocrity

When you hear condo style room you might assume it's roomy. Really it's an average room with a couch, chair and kitchenette squeezed in. The bathroom decor is updated and modern. I was put off by the mildewed shower curtain. It was an affordable room in a decent location (but not an area where I'd want to be out after dark). I would never recommend the breakfast buffet to anyone. The serving utensils were sitting in water full of food residue. That cannot possibly pass health code regulations. Order from the menu. I personally would not stay here again but is not bad if it meets your lower travel budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an open air mall in the adjacent block but the fun is closer to Waikiki beach. Eat at Duke's.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 14, 2007

Not what you would expect

When you pull up to the entrance and walk into the lobby, you expect a Hotel that is first rate. However, this just wasn't the case. Once we were checked in and pulled into the hotel parking lot, we found that we would have to pay $15 per night for parking. Then going up to the lobby from the parking garage, we get on the elevator and there is no 5th floor. Which is what we are on. It took nearly 10 min. just to find where the elevators were that went to the 5th floor. Which was the old Hotel. The room was so small that you could not sit at the desk without touching the end of the bed. Two people were squeezed in like sardines. They could have taken out some of the furniture and made it roomier. There was a long black hair in the bathroom. The coffee maker had mold in it. The water was barely warm if you got up early enough, cold if you slept in. The pipes were noisey and the clanging would wake us up periodically throughout the night. Our stay took us over the weekend. Returning back to the room after a long day out on Friday, we found that the parking garage was full. Since we were guest, we were guaranteed a space. Fininding one was another story. We circled the parking lot several times on Friday night before someone finally left and we found a spot. On Sat. the same story, only we were told to park in the driveway and leave the keys. Unfortunatley, once up to the room we realized that we forgot something in the car. My husband went down to find the keys in the ignition and the window down. No one was anywhere around to see to it that our car was secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the mountain bike ride tour. They pick you up at the hotel and furnish the bikes, helmet and sandwhich lunch. Beautiful views and lots of information.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Valley, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Not so much

Toilet was dirty when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 12, 2008

not worth it

this hotel does not offer enough variety. the main resturant is closed during lunch and dinner for renovations & there is no longer a room service option. Therefore you are stuck with eating the overpriced Japanese, Chinese or bar food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very nice shopping mall right next door with a good food court & several resturants.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2011

Stolen t-shirt from my room!

The room was smaller than the average New York room. Nice hotel, but too small, a Japanese style suit. I had a light green t-shirt (kind of a muscle shirt) I used it to work out a the hotel's gym on Friday night, I looked for it on Saturday night and I couldn't find it. I called the hotel's management, they look for it on the laundry in case it fell to the floor and it was mixed with the towels... nothing happened. I didn't see it again, it was stolen from my room, I looked all over the place. I never had any issue like this in my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Buisness mom
Business
Raleigh NC
May 22, 2009

For buisness

I was at the hotel for buisness. The breakfast restaurant said they had made to order meals but when you show up they only offer buffett. The buffett was average but over priced. The wait staff were very friendly. To park at the hotel for 4 nights was $60.00. This was not mentioned. The pool bar and restaurnt were closed (did not indicate that in their website). The lobby bar was closed (also not mentioned). Restaurant at top of hotel was also closed and their were signs advertising this. I liked the convenience store in the hotel and short stroll to Ala Moana shopping center. Friend I met there told me that they are condos and if you go through condo onwer it is cheaper. Had problem with TV and it took 50 min for someone to come up and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Honeymoon

I specifically mentioned and e-mailed Hotel reservation before i went there that this would be my honeymoon trip and the room i got it was horribly small and i couldnt stay there for 6 nights. So i had to pay extra amount to the hotel to get a better room and hotel staff told me that if you book through [...] this is the kind of room they provide. So I end up paying more to get a better room. I wasn't happy what i got for the amount i paid to [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CODF
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 11, 2010

not good hotel eventually

It is away from Waikiki, so a little bit inconvenient to do anything. No rental car place nearby, no shopping row nearby except for alamoana shopping mall, no nice view at all.... There is not enough parking space, which is located basement. Almost all cars are double parked or some rows are entirely blocked.. The room is small, and kind of old. However, I liked the fridge and microwave in the room at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top