$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
View map of 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary V.
Business
Poulsbo WA.
Feb 23, 2013

Honest description on the web page

It's refreshing to find a hotel that was everything as advertised. Staff , price and amenities were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLEESKI
Business
So Cal
Feb 23, 2013

Great service

I was in town for a convention and it really is the most convient to the convention center. Quiet, very nice staff and rooms. Reasonable price for peak season. Right next to Ala Moana shopping mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little local eatery Atkinson Blazing steaks by 7-11 and Subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gttt
Business
las vegas, nv
Feb 18, 2013

No sign by hotel

We had an difficult time finding this hotel since thgere are no signs outside to identify the entrance, such as the name of the hotel, valet entrance, etc. When we called to ask for help, they told us they didn't have time. So we searched and searched, as our gps sent us to a mall just beyond. After we finally checked in, the desk agent told us to fill out a comment card, which we didn't bother with because we felt they wouldn't care anyway. GTTT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hasard
Business
South Korea
Feb 16, 2013

Excellent value!

Shoppers paradise. The Ala Moana is located adjacent to one of Honolulu's best shopping centers. Everything and anything is within easy walking distance, including a truly eclectic big grocery store that the downtown denizens use. Rooms are very comfortable; all the staff were exceptionally helpful, polite and friendly. Parking is expensive, but there are no good alternatives. Lovely, uncrowded beach is a short walk, and the parks near the hotel are terrific. Very convenient to the Honolulu Convention Center, and the distance to Waikiki is doable. Highly recommended for a less expensive stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Don Quixote Supermarket 2 blocks from the hotel. You'll save a bunch of money and find just about anything you could possibly need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nanhun
Business
myrtle beach s c
Feb 12, 2013

fun

good place to sleep good shopping nearby beachrecommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stanski
Business
Sarasota Fl.
Feb 6, 2013

Location

great location, used THE BUS , never had a need to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephanie Lei
Business
Honolulu
Jan 30, 2013

Hard Beds! Nice Average Hotel

We were disappointed with the firm beds and both woke up with back aches. We asked for another room or something, and they added something/padding to the bed mattress, which helped... but would have liked a better mattress. The room was average, the bathroom & tub nice, view was nice, the hotel is average, location good next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, and I had an undescribable, slight feel of being in a Neighbor Island hotel, which is a pleasant feeling. Having to pay $20 per night for parking is not nice. The breakfast buffet at the hotel's Plantation Cafe was average, fallen in value and quality from years past, and the hotel's Chinese restaurant take out to the room was good. Note: no room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast at Longhi's Restaurant at the shopping center is good, a little pricey, not a wide selection, but a beautiful, fresh morning view overlooking the Ala Moana Park and the OCEAN VIEW. Both the Mariposa (Neiman Marcus) and Alan Wong's The Pineapple Room (in Macys) were closed on a Tues. morning for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tevans
Business
St. George UT
Jan 26, 2013

Mildew

Upon entering the hotel the immediate smell of mildew and mold hit my wife and me like a ton of bricks. Our room was not as described that we had booked and was very small with the same smell as the lobby. I wish we could say we love this hotel, but we will choose another property on our return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilima
Business
Kahului, Maui
Jan 24, 2013

Great location

I always stay at the Ala Moana Hotel when I stay in Honolulu. It's a great location outside of the Waikiki bubble, closer to the "real" Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
long lines at checkin
Business
Illinois
Jan 23, 2013

check-in a pain

The Ala Moana check-in took about an hour! It seems that two plane loads of passengers were also checking in due to a flight cancellation. The desk person didn't at least apologize or give us some sort of comp for the hassle. We had plans for the evening and this delay was not appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top