$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
View map of 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20th anniversary honeymooners
Business
Queen Creek, AZ
Jan 15, 2010

This hotel made our trip!

The hotel was very nice. Parking is $15.00 a day which is much less than hotels right in Waikiki. We booked this hotel through a package and I realized I didn't get a balconly but the company wanted too much money to change my room. I called the hotel and they said when I check in to tell them. I did and also told them it was our 20th anniversary and 1st time to Hawaii. They gave me my balconly room for an additional cost which I didn't mind but then they upgraded us to the most beautiful view room at no additional charge. All the staff was wonderful. The business center was a snap the morning of our check out to print out our boarding passes. We also paid a little extra for a 6:00pm checkout since our flight didn't leave until 10:00pm they were very helpful with that as well. When I return to Hawaii I will definately stay at the Ala Moana. We liked the fact it is attached to the mall and within walking distance to the bay and Walmart. We didn't want the "party all night atmosphere" and crowds of people at Waikiki beach. This was perfect. It's a very short 5 minute or so drive to Waikiki and we parked in a parking lot there and spent half a day having lunch and visiting the beach and shops and that was enough for us. If you want to do the site seeing tour of this island, I highly suggest staying at this hotel. It was so wonderful to be able to sit our on the Lanai and have your coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. I am not saying this hotel is free from the city noise because it isn't but you don't have the loud bar crowd noise. Please, do yourself a favor and stay at the Ala Moana. Thank you [...] at the front desk for making our stay one we'll remember with a smile for years to come. 1 note, our room was a bit small but we were told it would be the bed took up much of the room but still enough to walk around. Bathroom was nice size but I didn't ming giving up some floor space for that view. If we weren't sleeping or getting ready for the day, we were out on the lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If there is a high end designer you like, I gaurantee they have a store at the Ala Moana Mall. A beautiful open air mall with wonderful places to eat is most price ranges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millbrae, CA
Jan 14, 2010

hotel is really convenient for shopping

This hotel was really quiet and clean. Location is so convenient for eating and shopping. There was so much parking at shopping center but one cannot park overnight. Did not like to pay $15 for parking at hotel - expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

need new beds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 14, 2010

Hawaiin New Years

The staff here couldn`t be more professional or helpful. Travis at the bell station was always helpful,courteous and personable(as was everyone else). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to shop. The mall is literally right next door and easily accessible. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was very friendly. If you don`t want to walk, I recommend you rent a car and bring your GPS. Advantage car rental was the best rates and cabs are expensive. Also try to visit Paradise Cove for the Luau(We really enjoyed this) Hoping to return soon! Oh, and bring sunblock! I got a nice tan, but boyfriend fried!!! :( Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shops located in hotel as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 14, 2010

OK for the price, but...

It is good for the price. You won't find a 4-star in central Waikiki for that price, but this is a good 20-30 minute walk from where the action is, with the exception of the next-door Ala Moana shopping center. The Kona Tower offers very small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 14, 2010

Hawaiin New Years

The staff here couldn`t be more professional or helpful. Travis at the bell station was always helpful,courteous and personable(as was everyone else). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to shop. The mall is literally right next door and easily accessible. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was very friendly. If you don`t want to walk, I recommend you rent a car and bring your GPS. Advantage car rental was the best rates and cabs are expensive. Also try to visit Paradise Cove for the Luau(We really enjoyed this) Hoping to return soon! Oh, and bring sunblock! I got a nice tan, but boyfriend fried!!! :( Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shops located in hotel as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millbrae, CA
Jan 14, 2010

hotel is really convenient for shopping

This hotel was really quiet and clean. Location is so convenient for eating and shopping. There was so much parking at shopping center but one cannot park overnight. Did not like to pay $15 for parking at hotel - expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

need new beds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ca
Jan 10, 2010

view

very good for shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, CA
Jan 9, 2010

winter warmth

The hotel staff was very friendly and competent. I reported a bathroom door hook that came off in the morning and it was fixed before the day was over. The location was superb in terms of going to the Ala Moana shopping center as well as the Ala Moana beach which was a short walk away. We wanted to get a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Wakikii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mxf
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2010

Ala Moana Seen Better Days?

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first being nearly eight years ago. My first trip impressed me so much that I was eager to return. How sad for me. To start with, my room was so small and poorly arranged that if you had the chair for the desk pulled out you would have to walk across the bed to get to the other side of the room. My first morning there, I plugged in the blow dryer and was drying my hair when sparks and flames shot out of the electrical outlet. I immediately called downstairs and spoke with a desk clerk that did not seem very concerned and promised to send someone up. No one came and I left for work returning later that evening. I called the front desk to see if anyone had come to check this out (since the blow dryer and the soot were still on the bathroom counter) and was told that they would send someone up. They sent up a housekeeper with a new blow dryer. When I explained what had happened she called engineering and the sent up and engineer in a couple of minutes. He looked at the blow dryer and tested the outlet, let the blow dryer run for about 10 seconds and said everything was fine. I did not use the blow dryer again during my stay. It also seemed as if the room was not cleaned very well, while my stuff on the bathroom counter would be moved around, the counter did not seem to get wiped down, since the soot from my first day was there all week. I was quite disappointed and don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mxf
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2010

Ala Moana Seen Better Days?

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first being nearly eight years ago. My first trip impressed me so much that I was eager to return. How sad for me. To start with, my room was so small and poorly arranged that if you had the chair for the desk pulled out you would have to walk across the bed to get to the other side of the room. My first morning there, I plugged in the blow dryer and was drying my hair when sparks and flames shot out of the electrical outlet. I immediately called downstairs and spoke with a desk clerk that did not seem very concerned and promised to send someone up. No one came and I left for work returning later that evening. I called the front desk to see if anyone had come to check this out (since the blow dryer and the soot were still on the bathroom counter) and was told that they would send someone up. They sent up a housekeeper with a new blow dryer. When I explained what had happened she called engineering and the sent up and engineer in a couple of minutes. He looked at the blow dryer and tested the outlet, let the blow dryer run for about 10 seconds and said everything was fine. I did not use the blow dryer again during my stay. It also seemed as if the room was not cleaned very well, while my stuff on the bathroom counter would be moved around, the counter did not seem to get wiped down, since the soot from my first day was there all week. I was quite disappointed and don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top