$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
646 reviews
Thanks

very nice stay quiet and peaceful close to the big city life. See full review

  • Girl Goes to Big City
  • Jun 29, 2014
Business Traveler

First time at this hotel. Very pleased with location to the west of tourist center. I have been to... See full review

  • Jon H.WEST
  • May 15, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Renovated room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Renovated room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Renovated room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Renovated room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Renovated room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 0630am-10am.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30am - 2:00pm and 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (646)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
646 out of 646
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom with teenage daughter
Los Angeles, California
Jan 22, 2013

Long weekend getaway for my daughter and me

The Ala Moana hotel was perfect for our needs. The room was small (Kona tower facing the mountains) but we had two beds (a queen bed and a a sofa bed), a kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker) and a reasonable size bathroom, which was what we wanted. There is a big supermarket at about 3 blocks from the hotel. We did not even go to the large shopping center connected to the hotel at the second floor level. The Ala Moana park and beach are a few minutes away and the Waikiki beach a bit further away. The parking costed 20 dollars per day, which may be a bit costly, but it was worth for us to have the car. The front desk, information desk and housekeeping people were kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neech
Fort Bragg
Sep 11, 2010

Within walking distance of key locations

I walked everywhere! The location was ideal! I walked along the beach to Waikiki and really enjoyed the market! I traveled on a budget and was surprised how well I was able to make it work! The staff is outstanding! I think that made up for the average cleanliness of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland
Sep 10, 2010

Lovely hotel

We stayed 5 nights in the oceanview balcony. The room was very tasteful & modern, the view was spectacular & the amenities were great ( came with flatscreen, fridge & microwave). Staff was friendly and helpful, & we loved the location next to the ala moana center,,which is the main stop for all the trolleys, buses, etc so it was super convenient. It's a 2 min ride to the heart of Waikiki, & there's either a free shopping shuttle or $2 pink trolley that comes every 10 mins. The fitness center & pool were great & there are a few restaurants on site. The only negative is that the maid serviced our room a bit late, mid afternoon on some days, & she didn't do a spectacular job. Also there's no room service but otherwise we enjoyed our stay & would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you like fashion, the ala moana shopping center has an array of stores& even has runway shows every so often

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland
Sep 10, 2010

Lovely hotel

We stayed 5 nights in the oceanview balcony. The room was very tasteful & modern, the view was spectacular & the amenities were great ( came with flatscreen, fridge & microwave). Staff was friendly and helpful, & we loved the location next to the ala moana center,,which is the main stop for all the trolleys, buses, etc so it was super convenient. It's a 2 min ride to the heart of Waikiki, & there's either a free shopping shuttle or $2 pink trolley that comes every 10 mins. The fitness center & pool were great & there are a few restaurants on site. The only negative is that the maid serviced our room a bit late, mid afternoon on some days, & she didn't do a spectacular job. Also there's no room service but otherwise we enjoyed our stay & would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you like fashion, the ala moana shopping center has an array of stores& even has runway shows every so often

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maui, HI
Sep 9, 2010

Mahalo

Was a nice hotel. Very clean. I asked if I could have a king size bed as I am a big man, and was told with my package it would be more money...alot more. It would of been an amazing touch, especially because I live in Hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Have a ready list or map of surrounding attractions

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maui, HI
Sep 9, 2010

Mahalo

Was a nice hotel. Very clean. I asked if I could have a king size bed as I am a big man, and was told with my package it would be more money...alot more. It would of been an amazing touch, especially because I live in Hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Have a ready list or map of surrounding attractions

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Sep 3, 2010

Nice Location

Room was dusty esp. behind the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Sep 3, 2010

Nice Location

Room was dusty esp. behind the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Sep 2, 2010

My 50th Birthday vacation

Beds were very comfortable, that was very important to us do to arthritis. the staff was always helpful, all areas of the hotel were clean at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Charthouse was close and near the water, without windows to see and hear the ocean, and live music in the lounge.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Sep 2, 2010

My 50th Birthday vacation

Beds were very comfortable, that was very important to us do to arthritis. the staff was always helpful, all areas of the hotel were clean at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Charthouse was close and near the water, without windows to see and hear the ocean, and live music in the lounge.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South San Francisco CA
Aug 26, 2010

Great location ........

This hotel is located next to the Ala Moana shopping mall which is a big plus. Also close to the beach and local restaurants. If you stay here and have a car you don't have to fight the Waikiki traffic. The only minus I would say is the rooms are smaller than other places I have stayed and as a business traveler I do like the larger rooms. The plus's do outweigh the one small minus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ala Moana mall has great places to eat and is connected directly to the hotel by a bridge. a very short walk.

Back to menu Return to top