$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
425 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (425)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 14, 2010

Hawaiin New Years

The staff here couldn`t be more professional or helpful. Travis at the bell station was always helpful,courteous and personable(as was everyone else). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to shop. The mall is literally right next door and easily accessible. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was very friendly. If you don`t want to walk, I recommend you rent a car and bring your GPS. Advantage car rental was the best rates and cabs are expensive. Also try to visit Paradise Cove for the Luau(We really enjoyed this) Hoping to return soon! Oh, and bring sunblock! I got a nice tan, but boyfriend fried!!! :( Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shops located in hotel as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 14, 2010

OK for the price, but...

It is good for the price. You won't find a 4-star in central Waikiki for that price, but this is a good 20-30 minute walk from where the action is, with the exception of the next-door Ala Moana shopping center. The Kona Tower offers very small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach ca
Jan 10, 2010

view

very good for shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, CA
Jan 9, 2010

winter warmth

The hotel staff was very friendly and competent. I reported a bathroom door hook that came off in the morning and it was fixed before the day was over. The location was superb in terms of going to the Ala Moana shopping center as well as the Ala Moana beach which was a short walk away. We wanted to get a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Wakikii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mxf
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2010

Ala Moana Seen Better Days?

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first being nearly eight years ago. My first trip impressed me so much that I was eager to return. How sad for me. To start with, my room was so small and poorly arranged that if you had the chair for the desk pulled out you would have to walk across the bed to get to the other side of the room. My first morning there, I plugged in the blow dryer and was drying my hair when sparks and flames shot out of the electrical outlet. I immediately called downstairs and spoke with a desk clerk that did not seem very concerned and promised to send someone up. No one came and I left for work returning later that evening. I called the front desk to see if anyone had come to check this out (since the blow dryer and the soot were still on the bathroom counter) and was told that they would send someone up. They sent up a housekeeper with a new blow dryer. When I explained what had happened she called engineering and the sent up and engineer in a couple of minutes. He looked at the blow dryer and tested the outlet, let the blow dryer run for about 10 seconds and said everything was fine. I did not use the blow dryer again during my stay. It also seemed as if the room was not cleaned very well, while my stuff on the bathroom counter would be moved around, the counter did not seem to get wiped down, since the soot from my first day was there all week. I was quite disappointed and don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waimea
Jan 7, 2010

Excellent business trip

It was excellent business trip. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
artful dodger
Business
Hong Kong, SAR
Jan 6, 2010

Ala Moana

Staff did not understand needs. Handicap - gave a room a long distance from lobby. no wheelchair availability. no table in room. few amenities basic room, nothing special.would not stay there again. We were unable to eat at the hotel. The Cafe closed after breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Jan 6, 2010

Location great room okay

Visited family for the holidays and husband played golf. Location near mall provided restaurants and shopping for me to pass time while my husband was away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Valley, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Not so much

Toilet was dirty when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Piscataway, NJ
Jan 4, 2010

Fantastic location

Very good location. Close to most of things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Spicy Vegitaeian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top