$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
485 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (485)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
485 out of 485
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SANDIGOFAMILY
San diego
Jul 22, 2010

Nice Place!

We booked kinda late and it took some research to find the best way to take in all Hawaii had to offer. Talking to other guests offered great information to all the sites in Honolulu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Decide what you want to see and do and then try to price the tours against renting a car and doing things on your own. We did and saved some cash. [...]

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandra
Not Provided
Jul 21, 2010

Very disappointing. Bar in the

Very disappointing. Bar in the lobby open one night a week. No drinks or food available during the day at poolside because facility closed. Pool closed at 7 pm every evening - we were told it was a risk the hotel management were not prepared to take after dark (although it wasn't dark at 7 pm) - this appeared to be a minority view given that all the other hotels we visited for dinner in the evenings had their pools open after dark. Took ages to check in. Won't stay there again and certainly wouldn't reccommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maui
Jul 20, 2010

Servey

Could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. & Mrs. Smith/Lovin It
Greenwood, SC
Jul 19, 2010

37th Anniversary Perfect Celebration

The hotel has it's own Activity Desk which was very useful in planning our weekly schedule. The buslines and trolley pick-up and drop off was right in front of the hotel. The hotel has it's own shopping mall with a gaint food court attached by a overpass walk-way and it is located within a few blocks to everything that is needed or wanted by it's guest. We are planning to stay there again in 2015. A wonderful place to stay and the service is out-standing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beautiful blue ocean was right across the steeet, it was the first thing we saw each day and the last thing we saw each night.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Oswego OR
Jul 17, 2010

Great Location

Went shopping at the Ala Moana Shopping Center, able to enjoy Waikiki since our location was close by. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, AK
Jul 15, 2010

Location

The hotel over all was OK but it could be improved by having staff being more attentive to guest and for keeping the premise clean. For example one of the general bathrooms was not being maintained adequately and keep monitored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for going shopping for connected to a large open air shopping center. The shopping center is so large that it is very hard to visit all the shops in a full day.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Chess playing father
Janesville, Wisconsin
Jul 15, 2010

Reunion and 25th aniversary combination

I wanted to surprise my wife by helping her attend her 30th year HS reunion on Oahu, Hawaii as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Ala Moana Hotel fit the bill. It was clean and the people were very friendly. Only three places of improvement could have made this better for couples and families. Parking at the hotel should be included, Continental breakfast and Better internet wireless transmission. The landline I had to use for connecting was not very good and I would lose my signal. It had a tremendous fitness room with sauna and steam room. A hot tub and longer hours for the pool would have sealed the deal. My wife and I enjoyed it and we would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals Where they go for food it makes a difference in cost , value, and fun.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alohalesley
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Jul 14, 2010

OK, close to Ala Moana Center

A few of the staff were surly, including the front desk manager, but most others were very friendly and helpful. The room was OK, but the air conditioner was obviously aging and it emitted a constant roar. I would hesitantly recommend this hotel, as long as you bring earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The terrific Ala Moana (shopping) Center is literally next door.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wicked Wahine
So. San Francisco
Jul 12, 2010

awsome 2 weeks

I must comment on house keeping, they are the most friendly people always smiling & willing to accommidate you. My main reason for staying at Ala Moana Hotel was the convenience of the mall, dining & transportation. Relaxing was my main goal on this trip, which i must say was AWSOME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Nick's
South Florida
Jul 8, 2010

Very pleased

The rooms were nice and clean and our maid was great. The front desk staff was not too helpful and the parking garage was full even though we paid for hotel parking. WE also paid for an ocean view and only got 'partial ocean'. Despite those negatives we were happy with our stay and especially happy with the maid service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

REnt a car and explore the island on your own.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search