$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Ala Moana Hotel

4 stars
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, HI 96814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
485 reviews
We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were... See full review

  • Sasuke and Mew
  • Aug 12, 2014
BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the... See full review

  • Amura
  • Aug 10, 2014

The two towers of the Ala Moana Hotel provide scenic views over the tall city buildings stretching into the distance across the Honolulu skyline, the ocean, or the nearby mountain range. Part of the Outrigger Resorts chain, the Ala Moana was awarded "Best Value Hotel" by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and, while affordable, it has all the amenities of more luxurious hotels. These include a swimming pool with sundeck for tanning; a nightclub (Rumours) open on Friday and Saturday nights; and various restaurants with Japanese, Chinese, steak and seafood dishes. Families can enjoy casual breakfast buffets inside the Plantation Cafe for a daily morning energy boost.

Key facts
  • Pool with sundeck
  • Fitness center with steam room and sauna
  • 24-hour business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting facilities
  • 3 restaurants
  • Rumours nightclub
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms 
Neighborhood

The Ala Moana Hotel is connected to the Ala Moana Center, Oahu's high-end shopping mall. Over 300 stores and restaurants are just steps away, including Hermes, Macy's Tommy Bahama, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., and Lahaina Chicken. Explore nature and discover jogging trails, calm waters for swimming, picnics, and plenty of sand for building castles at the Ala Moana Beach Park nearby. Business guests can make the most of close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center, less than half a mile away.

Hints and tips
If you have rented a car, parking is available at the hotel for an additional charge.

An on-site, coin-operated laundry ensures that families can clean up after a sandy day at the beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2903 -157.8394
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Centrally located in Honolulu's Ala Moana district, it's next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center, the Ala Moana Beach Park, just a short walk to the Victoria Ward Shopping Centers & Cineplex and near Waikiki. Shopping, dining and entertainment await you. Walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Entertainment Center, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park. Minutes to Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, the Neal Blaisdell Center and the Honolulu Academy of Arts. Twenty minutes to Honolulu International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ala Moana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ala Moana Hotel Rooms

Kona Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Mountain View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the mountain ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
These beautifully appointed suites occupy the ocean ends of each Waikiki Tower floor. Suite features 1 King Bedroom and parlor includes sofa sleeper, dining table with 4 chairs, flat screen TV, 2 burner stove, oven, dishwasher, cupboards, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Kona Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 1 Queen Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker, high speed internet access.
Waikiki Tower City/Mountain
Room features city and mountain views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Partial Ocean View
Room features partial ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.
Waikiki Tower Ocean View
Room features ocean views with 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed and a sofa sleeper, full bathroom, LCD flat screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Alarm Clock/CD Player, Coffee Maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 2.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 8.9 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ala Moana Hotel features twelve meeting rooms, capable of accommodating 20 to 800 people for a meeting, or 30 to 620 for a banquet. Satellite conferencing and extensive audio/visual equipment are also available.

Dining

Rumours
Come dance the night away at Rumours, Honolulu's hottest nightclub, featuring a state-of-the-art electronic disco system.
Plantation Cafe
Family dining in a casual setting, featuring sumptuous daily breakfast buffets. Complete breakfast menus with an array of local and international selections. Open daily 6:30 AM - 10:00 AM.
Royal Garden
Enjoy exquisite Chinese cuisine at Royal Garden Restaurant.
Yuzu
Japanese cuisine. Open daily 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM and 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Friday and Saturday open till midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (485)

Ratings and reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
485 out of 485
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sasuke and Mew
Sacramento
Aug 12, 2014

We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we go back to Hawaii.

We went to Hawaii for our short vacation (3 nights) and stayed at Ala Moana Hotel. We were extremely happy with our stay at the hotel. Before going to Hawaii, we noticed some negative reviews about the hotel location as it is not on Waikiki beach or along the shopping district of Kalakaua Ave. However, the hotel is right next to Ala Moana shopping center instead and it is actually not that far away from Waikiki beach. Compared to resort hotels in Waikiki, it's much quieter and more relaxed atmosphere around Ala Moana hotel. So we really liked the location. There is no resort fee. Rooms are very clean and modern. Staff are friendly and helpful. If we go back to Hawaii, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yogi2014
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2014

Hawaiian Stay

This hotel is generally good. Nothing fancy. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amura
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 10, 2014

BEST HOTEL in Hawaii!

Here's why: It's right in the center of ALL of the fun! Ala Moana is within walking distance of the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center (which is amazinggg), restaurants & much more! It is even close (short walk) to Kalakaua Avenue which is the center of all your shopping//entertainment needs right next to Waikiki Beach not to mention the unlimited choices of dinning on that very same street. Nicole the concierge at the activities/tour desk was extremely helpful in helping us plan the perfect week full of entertainment and adventure. If you're not sure what to do during your stay she's got you covered! If you're not sure where to stay while vacationing in paradise this hotel will surely meet and exceed all you expectations. Thank you Ala Moana for making our first trip to Hawaii one to remember and we certainly look forward to our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna T
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 8, 2014

Short business trip

The hotel was in great location with helpful staff. It is at the heart of honolulu. The hotel had restaurants inside and a big mall with food court near by. Only problems was I showed up to check in at 1 pm and they told me the room would only be ready by 3 pm and then when I came back at 3pm they made it sound like it was still difficult to get the room and they had to switch things around. Also when asked about late check out they were not very accomodating - i had to call the day before to ask permission and the latest check out would be 1pm instead of 12 pm. However, room was very clean and comfortable. I wish they had placed a water bottle or had a soda machines near by. Have to go to their gift shop to buy water. Also wi fi didn't work well for me and wound up paying to use their business office $1 for 5 mins of computer usage, wound up using $5 after printing out boarding pass and checking in my flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the near by mall less than 1 block away to try local fast food items including japanese, thai, korean, and polynesian foods.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girl Goes to Big City
Business
Maui
Jun 29, 2014

Thanks

very nice stay quiet and peaceful close to the big city life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

yummy food court

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Time Traveller from 2000
Sydney
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient location but did not meet expectation overall

This hotel is pretty ordinary, room is too small and the walls are not sound proof. The only positive thing is the convenient location, I can walk to the Ala Moana shopping centre through the skybridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get to Pearl Harbour as early as possible to secure the tour to USS Arizona Menmorial.

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Galaxy89
NY
May 19, 2014

Nice and clean

It is a nice hotel. Even though it is a little bit far from the beach, it is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon H.WEST
Business
Orange, CA
May 15, 2014

Business Traveler

First time at this hotel. Very pleased with location to the west of tourist center. I have been to Oahu many times and got tired of navigating through the endless sea of drifting tourists. This location was excellent for working on the west side of the island. I noticed the airline crews are also staying at this hotel which confirms the quality. I have stayed in cheaper hotels on Oahu, but I am done with that experiment. The room was quiet and clean. I was on the 11th floor of tower one. The view wasn't the beach but I wasn't a tourist on this trip. I will return to the Ala Moana again ! Thank you !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walking with Blisters
Austin, Texas
May 15, 2014

Location is not Ideal

The hotel rooms are small but clean and very adequate. The problem was the distance of the hotel from Waikiki Beach and places to eat. So, if you stay here be prepared to walk a great deal across busy streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
keilleen
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2014

Good location for shopping

Enjoyed our short stay. Great location for shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search