$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
247 reviews
Awsome hotel

The staff was very friendly. I plan on staying here on my next visit to Hilo, See full review

  • john b.
  • May 31, 2015
Best Hotel in Hilo

Love staying here when visiting from Oahu. Great location. Awesome staff. Clean. 300 ft walk from a... See full review

  • Np21
  • Jan 15, 2015
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Property features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Nearby attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio, refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi.
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 247
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john b.
Business
Grove City
May 31, 2015

Awsome hotel

The staff was very friendly. I plan on staying here on my next visit to Hilo,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laomei
Business
Near Portland Oregon
Nov 29, 2014

Good location.

The Hilo is a laid back place with an excellent staff and a decent location near the ocean and a nice park to take a stroll in. The restaurant is ok and the pool is clean and inviting for a swim on a hot afternoon. If you want a good value hotel in Hilo this is the place to go.This is my go to hotel from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The sea side walk right by the hotel.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAL Orb
Business
Houston, tx
Nov 12, 2014

Short trip to the island

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is near Hilo airport, a short drive to beaches and tropical gardens. The staff was friendly and helpful too. The hotel is nice and quiet so you can get plenty of rest between outings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmitry M
Business
Moscow, Russia
Oct 20, 2014

Nice airport hotel

Good location close to airport. Stayed here for visit to volcano park. Ideal location for people who don't have a car. Bus stop is about 10 min walking. Comfort, not expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K The Frequent Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 26, 2014

Practical

Don't expect this place to be a luxury resort. It's noisy: the hotel is situated between the takeoff runway of the airport and the junction of Big Island's major highways, 11 and 19. Free WI-FI works well for Macs and iOS devices, but not for Windows. Building is old but clean and well-kept. Staff is very friendly. Price is among the lowest of hotels along the beautiful Banyan Drive. Coast access for swimming and paddling is just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For authentic Hawaiian dining enjoyed mostly by locals, try Kuhio Grille at 111 E Puainako St. It's at the Prince Kuhio Plaza, less than a mile south of the airport.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laomei
Business
Near Portland Oregon
May 27, 2014

Doesn't get any better!

If you're looking for a reasonably priced,comfortable & clean place to stay in Hilo the Hilo Seaside is the place for you.I stayed 5 nights & it was all good.Friendly staff,decent food in the restaurant,onsite pay washers & dryers,swimming pool,cable tv......what more could you want.Oh,I forgot to mention,it's on Banyan Drive,a good place to stroll & check out the very cool scene,also,a couple of good beaches to take the keiki to swim & hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Free breakfast! A little small but good enough.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Airline traveler
Business
Hilo, Hi
Apr 15, 2014

Decent, not that spectacular

- Staff was very polite - there were ants in my room - cable was out with no repair 2 of my 3 days - Outside of hotel looked very poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrizzlyAdams
Business
Denver
Nov 2, 2013

my fav hilo hotel

Family owned, very nice people. Very clean for Hilo. My choice budget hotel on east side, or choose VRBO most hotels in Hilo are dirty.. Ive stayed at all the hotels on Banyan Dr and this is my pick. To me its equivalent to a Holiday Inn or Best Western. The mini fridge is a bonus. its cheap and clean and simple. Now for the downsides.. Parking sucks, layout is maze like, $9 bucks a day for in room wifi (was fast tho), AIRPORT NOISE and lots of it, and TRAFFIC NOISE try not to stay in the pool area its next to Kalanianaole Ave and shipping port so the semi trucks roll starting early.. wouldn't be a big deal really but they JAKE BRAKE (downshift stop) for the traffic light and its insanely loud. Not sure if anyone's attempted it but a no jake break zone there makes so much sense... With that said I dont care about parking down the street a bit and airplanes, or lound semi trucks.. to me its a great place to shower and rest your bones. Appreciated the late free 3pm check out. Mahalo A Hui Hou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

KENS PANCAKE HOUSE ACROSS THE WAY 24/7 GOOD FOOD :)

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aloha Ellen
Business
California
Feb 7, 2013

Great deal

Staff incredibly helpful and friendly, great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hilo Seaside is perfect for my needs. While it's not the most luxurious accommodations, the price can't be beat. The staff was helpful -- I couldn't check in, room not ready as I was early -- let me stay in a special lounge so I could watch Super Bowl! That's super!

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honolulu Mike
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 10, 2012

I should have taken more time to select my hotel

Located beneath the HIlo Airport and major highway, my room was very noisy. It would have been nice to enjoy the nice ocean breeze, but I had to close the windows and turn on the AC just to sleep. The bed was uncomfortable primarily due to poor sheet sizes. The main needs a lesson on how to make the bed so that the sheets don't ruffel up whole sleeping. Terrible view facing a run dowm restuarant. Yuck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend the Hilo Bay Cafe, which is not on the bay. 315 Makaala Street, Hilo, HI.

Back to menu Return to top