$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
267 reviews
Another great trip to Hawaii

I have stayed at this hotel before. It has a great staff. They are always friendly and very... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Apr 6, 2015
Best Hotel in Hilo

Love staying here when visiting from Oahu. Great location. Awesome staff. Clean. 300 ft walk from a... See full review

  • Np21
  • Jan 15, 2015
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio, refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi.
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 267
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie66
Business
Waconia
Jan 25, 2015

Good for Zhilo

Hotel was clean. Good location. Rating would have been lower if on mainland. Good for a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frances L.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

day trip to Hilo

Breakfast was included - this was a terrific advantage - and.. it was an excellent breakfast. Wifi - didn't work in our room - but it did work in the lobby. Maid forgot to make up our room until we complained. The handicapped room was very small and not very suitable for wheel chair access - (those wheel chairs take up a lot of space) Staff were friendly . oh - and the room was very noisy - ask for a room away from the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie and Ken
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

good overnight choice

Good choice for 1 night, convent to attractions.. Older hotel butveryclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papous
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Nov 11, 2014

Good for airport departure.

Our stay was 1 and 1/2 days to catch a late flight. We where pleasantly surprised by the decor and work in process in the interior. Nice pool area. Attached to a very good restaurant. Very friendly service. They were able to accommodate us with an early arrival. It is not a Hilton Hotel but good value for the price. Room needs new decor but clean. We would have liked to see a microwave and a safe in the room capable of accommodating a laptop but seemed very secure premises . Good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip Line Botanical Adventures. Excellent staff, good experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sofiene B
Business
Tunisia
Oct 22, 2014

Nice and clean, free parking

Very clean place to stay at. We enjoyed our stay in the very simple but functional and clean room. No worries about insects or reptiles since protection was already installed on every window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 boys 2 girls
Business
Dallas, Oregon
Sep 30, 2014

Great value for the price!

We always stay here. I find the location perfect to watch sunsets. Several(actually more like 6)restaurants in walking distance if you like to eat local and we do. We also got a pretty good breakfast this time as a perk. Nice people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When you travel, especially to Hawaii, don't eat the same old, same old you eat at home. Break the rut and eat local. Take a chance. You just might like it. Also, check out the Hilo Saturday Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckoff
Business
Kaneohe,Hi.
Sep 23, 2014

GREAT LOCATION AND RELAXING GET-AWAY

Hotel swimming pool was convenient and the lust tropical flowers and shrubbery made a relaxing spot to lounge around at. Spent most of my time site seeing,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

In House restaurant and closest hotel to airport. Very clean and right on the Hilo Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivyyue
Business
Tokyo
Sep 9, 2014

it is ok

We had an early check in but for two of us we got 3 single beds. Front desk staff was kind. We paid tip to maid. But she did not clean the hair in the bathroom. Lots of little ants in it. Cooler very noisy. Anyway it is cheap. If you just need a bed to sleep, it is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Butch Coi
Business
Gainesville FL
Sep 7, 2014

Avoid if possible

This review is for the room that we stayed in. We were in the garden wing. Avoid at all costs. Noisy ac, cramped up space. No room for anything at all. Maybe the other rooms are nicer. We booked the run of the house option-meant they can put us anywhere. Do yourself a favor and make sure you are in the ocean our fern wing. On the plus side, they keep the rooms clean and are reasonably priced. the location is great. We walked to the Japanese gardens and coconut island. Relaxing and peaceful. Having stayed, I wish I spent a little more and had a comfy stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HawaiianGirl
Business
Lahaina, HI
Aug 30, 2014

Getaway

The hotel was still good like the last time I stayed. The only thing I didn't like was the room we were in. It was a little far from the parking lot and I had too many beds in the room. It was only me and my boyfriend and we had one double and two twin beds. We couldn't catch the Wi-Fi since we were too far from the lobby. I would recommend staying here again but I wish we had a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes is a good place for breakfast and it is just down the street from the hotel. It is about a 5-10min walk or about 2-3min drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top