$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
259 reviews
Almost like my second home

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel so many times I think I lost count. As always the staff was... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Nov 16, 2014
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 21, 2008

Outstanding responsive staff and management.

This hotel The Hilo Seaside surpassed our expectations. The room and bathroom was very clean. The staff and management were friendly, helpful and responsive. When my wife complained about a malfunctioning air conditioner, it was quickly replaced with a brand new one before we returned that afternoon from sightseeing. A small refrigerator kept our bottle of wine very cold. The two weekend nights we spent there were very quiet. The location at the beginning of a picturesque peninsula made for a refreshing morning walk through what appears to be ancient but maintained Hawaiian fish ponds. And their dining hall/restaurant was suberb. All in all, a very nice hotel we plan to stay on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice walk around the peninsula shaded by decades old banyan trees along the way with pools of water alive with fish. Appears to be ancient Hawaiian fishponds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2008

Very nice hotel to stay in

The Hilo Seaside Hotel was very clean which is something I always look for in a hotel. The location was good; it was quiet and just a step away from the bay and Banyon Drive, so we were able to enjoy morning and evening strolls. There was a small refrigerator in the room, so we were able to keep pop,water and snacks in the room. The hotel was within easy walking distance of more than one very good restaurant. One other very enjoyable feature of the room was the small lanai from which we were able to sit and watch the bay and the fish in the fish pond just outside the room. This proved very relaxing and very entertaining. From the lanai we could also see the cruise ships coming into port, another very beautiful sight, especially at night with all the lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes has a great breakfast menu. Reasonably priced with quick, friendly service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The New Mexico Enchilada
Business
Moriarty NM
Mar 15, 2010

Trip to Paradise

We arrived in Hilo with a welcome at the Seaside Inn as if we were family. Our stay for 10 days was nothing but pleasure. The rooms, although older, were what Hawaii should be about. They were clean, staff was friendly, and other guest felt the same way. We were evacuated during the Tsunami with the utmost professionalism and out experience left us memories that we could not have dreamed. [...], and many more staff were the best of anytime we have stayed on the Hawaiian Islands. Hats off to a representative of what Hawaii is portrayed and imagined on the mainland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Hilo is wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerty
Business
Oceanside, CA, USA
Sep 11, 2011

A lovely open hotel

We enjoyed the lovely tropical breezes that swept down the hallway from our room to the hotel lobby. The hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfasts were just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laceweight
Business
Palmer, AK 99645, USA
Jan 1, 2012

our second stay, like coming home

We spent three weeks here last year and loved it. The staff are particularly friendly and helpful, the restaurant is nice with a good salad bar and friendly waitpersons, the rooms are comfy, and the location is super especially if you're a walker. No high paced tourist hype, this is the place to relax, eat well, get some sun, exercise, and catch up on your reading and knitting. Reasonable enough to extend your stay, and worth it. Low key, what a vacation should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to downtown Hilo and bring back fresh fruit and vegs from the public market for your room fridge - about 4 miles round trip, or take the bus one or both ways. Produce vendors are there daily, other stuff Wednesdays and Fridays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jcouture
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 30, 2012

Close and Convenient

People were very help at the front desk and the staff around the hotel was very helpful, nice, very friendly, and good personality. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It is very convenient right in the hotel and the food is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jcouture
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 17, 2012

Staff

The people was very much caring and helpful and made the rooms to accomodate easier for my father who can hardly walk. Overall they were very much friendly. It wasn't a pleasure vacation or business. We had to go to a family love one funeral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would take this hotel anytime. People were all friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
silameril
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 18, 2012

Amazing place to stay.

My mother and I stayed at the Hilo Seaside for a week. The location is unbelievable. Minutes from the airport and downtown, easy access to the major roads, less than half an hour from Volcanoes National Park. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The restaurant in the hotel is very good, again with excellent staff. Next time I visit the Big Island (and I will - it's amazing), I will definitely stay at the Hilo Seaside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sombat's Fresh Thai in the shopping area near Ken's Pancake House has the best Thai food I've ever had anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hennessey's
Business
Bradenton, Florida
Mar 7, 2012

What a great place.

The staff is as friendly as can be. The rooms are just fine, not fancy, but nice. The restaurant is great. The gardens on the inside are beautiful. The Koi pond is nice and the view of the water and boats is great. I highly recommend it for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jbagua
Business
Honolulu
Jul 18, 2012

Convenient and Reasonable

Very comfortable and reasonably priced. Excellent value - free parking and free breakfast. We enjoyed the restaurants in the vicinity - Coconut Grill and Kens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconut Grill and Ken's are both open late. Both restaurants have a pretty large menu to choose from and the foods great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top