$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
246 reviews
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Very nice and cozy inn

Clean, good location, beautiful garden, street parking, good breakfast. See full review

  • Xuzhi
  • Jul 1, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Hotel Map

19.7281 -155.064
Area served
Located on the eastern side of the Big Island in Hilo Town, and near the University of Hawaii Hilo Campus
Nearby airports
Hilo(ITO) Airport
Area description
The Hilo Seaside Hotel is one of the hotels nearest to the Volcano National Park, located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Way.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 246
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K The Frequent Traveler
Los Angeles, California
Aug 26, 2014

Practical

Don't expect this place to be a luxury resort. It's noisy: the hotel is situated between the takeoff runway of the airport and the junction of Big Island's major highways, 11 and 19. Free WI-FI works well for Macs and iOS devices, but not for Windows. Building is old but clean and well-kept. Staff is very friendly. Price is among the lowest of hotels along the beautiful Banyan Drive. Coast access for swimming and paddling is just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For authentic Hawaiian dining enjoyed mostly by locals, try Kuhio Grille at 111 E Puainako St. It's at the Prince Kuhio Plaza, less than a mile south of the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laomei
Near Portland Oregon
May 27, 2014

Doesn't get any better!

If you're looking for a reasonably priced,comfortable & clean place to stay in Hilo the Hilo Seaside is the place for you.I stayed 5 nights & it was all good.Friendly staff,decent food in the restaurant,onsite pay washers & dryers,swimming pool,cable tv......what more could you want.Oh,I forgot to mention,it's on Banyan Drive,a good place to stroll & check out the very cool scene,also,a couple of good beaches to take the keiki to swim & hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Free breakfast! A little small but good enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Airline traveler
Hilo, Hi
Apr 15, 2014

Decent, not that spectacular

- Staff was very polite - there were ants in my room - cable was out with no repair 2 of my 3 days - Outside of hotel looked very poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
garmar
Portland, Oregon
Dec 21, 2013

Great budget hotel

Hilo Seaside Hotel was a great choice for me. My room was immaculate, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in a great location for exploring the east side of the island. I was concerned about noise after the other reviews, but it wasn’t bothersome. There is some street noise and an occasional jet landing during the day, but nighttime was pretty quiet. The louvered windows have seals, so you can keep them closed and just use the air conditioning. I’m a light sleeper, so I kept the windows opened and ran the overhead fan (the ac is fairly loud). I was perfectly comfortable and slept great. I had a room overlooking the Koi Pond and Hilo Bay. The balcony was nice to sip a beer and look out over the bay – it was only spoiled by some background noise from the street. The hotel doesn’t look very impressive from parking lot, but the interior has been completely renovated. The rooms now also have free Wi-Fi. The parking lot is a little tight, but I never had a problem finding a space in the parking lot, even after returning late at night. I ate the attached restaurant most night since the food was good, it had reasonable prices, and it even had live entertainment each night. This is not a place to stay if you want to spend lots of time during the day at your hotel, but if that’s the case you should stay in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coconut Grill and Verna's Drive In are great choices for food. The Coconut Grill is attached to the hotel, and Verna's Drive In is a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrizzlyAdams
Denver
Nov 2, 2013

my fav hilo hotel

Family owned, very nice people. Very clean for Hilo. My choice budget hotel on east side, or choose VRBO most hotels in Hilo are dirty.. Ive stayed at all the hotels on Banyan Dr and this is my pick. To me its equivalent to a Holiday Inn or Best Western. The mini fridge is a bonus. its cheap and clean and simple. Now for the downsides.. Parking sucks, layout is maze like, $9 bucks a day for in room wifi (was fast tho), AIRPORT NOISE and lots of it, and TRAFFIC NOISE try not to stay in the pool area its next to Kalanianaole Ave and shipping port so the semi trucks roll starting early.. wouldn't be a big deal really but they JAKE BRAKE (downshift stop) for the traffic light and its insanely loud. Not sure if anyone's attempted it but a no jake break zone there makes so much sense... With that said I dont care about parking down the street a bit and airplanes, or lound semi trucks.. to me its a great place to shower and rest your bones. Appreciated the late free 3pm check out. Mahalo A Hui Hou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

KENS PANCAKE HOUSE ACROSS THE WAY 24/7 GOOD FOOD :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aloha Ellen
California
Feb 7, 2013

Great deal

Staff incredibly helpful and friendly, great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hilo Seaside is perfect for my needs. While it's not the most luxurious accommodations, the price can't be beat. The staff was helpful -- I couldn't check in, room not ready as I was early -- let me stay in a special lounge so I could watch Super Bowl! That's super!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honolulu Mike
Honolulu, HI
Dec 10, 2012

I should have taken more time to select my hotel

Located beneath the HIlo Airport and major highway, my room was very noisy. It would have been nice to enjoy the nice ocean breeze, but I had to close the windows and turn on the AC just to sleep. The bed was uncomfortable primarily due to poor sheet sizes. The main needs a lesson on how to make the bed so that the sheets don't ruffel up whole sleeping. Terrible view facing a run dowm restuarant. Yuck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend the Hilo Bay Cafe, which is not on the bay. 315 Makaala Street, Hilo, HI.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ozymandiasoz
Ithaca NY
Aug 15, 2012

Hilo

The staff is very friendly. The location is great, walking distance to anything you would need The area is pretty and there are great little parks all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcie O.
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 26, 2012

Fantastic Location and Service

Wonderful location for an excellent price. The room was very comfortable, the amenities were very good. One glitch, if you are finding the hotel by gps after dark beware that hotel lobby does not face Banyan Drive so it is easy to miss (which I did 3 times). It is on the corner of Banyan Drive and faces Banyan Way. Otherwise, you'll enjoy staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ponds Restaurant, the only ocean-side restaurant that I could find in Hilo, is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy to be in Hilo
Mpls., Mn.
Apr 26, 2012

Comfortable, good value

Attractive older hotel. Well maintained, clean surroundings. Quaint fish pond. Very pleasant, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Proximity to downtown, shopping, local attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search