$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
267 reviews
Another great trip to Hawaii

I have stayed at this hotel before. It has a great staff. They are always friendly and very... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Apr 6, 2015
Best Hotel in Hilo

Love staying here when visiting from Oahu. Great location. Awesome staff. Clean. 300 ft walk from a... See full review

  • Np21
  • Jan 15, 2015
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio, refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi.
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 267
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aggies 75
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

I rated it between 2 and 3

The hotel is clean and quiet. For a night, it is OK since all other hotels in that town are expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For the convenient to go up the volcano, it is ok to stay for one night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Np21
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Best Hotel in Hilo

Love staying here when visiting from Oahu. Great location. Awesome staff. Clean. 300 ft walk from a great local drive Inn VERNA'S. Right across an ice pond to swim. Family-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

300ft walk to local drive Inn VERNA'S

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Piece of cake
Business
Kansas
Nov 16, 2014

Almost like my second home

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel so many times I think I lost count. As always the staff was superb. The Coconut Grille is still great. Once again it was a very pleasant stay. I plan on returning to Hawaii in a few months and will stay at the Hilo Seaside Hotel when I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just about any type of food is available within a short distance of the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose mechanical engineer
Business
Wellington, Fl
Oct 11, 2014

Great Hilo Stay

The location was great being close to the airport. The restaurants around the area are good. The hotel staff were very helpful and hardworking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missindabay
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 20, 2014

Love Hilo Seaside

We got a renovated room over the fishpond. It was 5 years since my last visit, and they have renovated a lot since. New windows, carpet, paint, linens, added parking, and coffee and wifi in room, it just gets better over time. Centrally located for East side and Central Big Island attractions. The staff is so friendly and completes the family feel of this place. Slight negatives shower was a little low, and parking can be tight on weekends. Plenty of great restaurants and sandwich shops around. I was totally happy here, and can't wait until I can visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Coconut Grill and have the Tiki Coconut Shrimp! Very nice presentation and it tastes awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Montana
Business
Missoula, MT
Sep 5, 2014

Nice staff, clean room, loud planes

This hotel is a quaint, pretty, Hawaiian classic. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff was great. Our room was very clean even though it was older. We had level lors on the windows which allowed us to hear every person who walked by or made phone calls outside. Also, the airplanes flew over at night and early morning and they sounded loud. If you have ear plugs it would be the perfect place. Nice value for Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kumquat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2014

Surprise blessing!

Rooms were modest but very clean and comfortable. Pool area was also clean, well maintained. The mini-gardens around the interior areas were beautiful-well planned. The first impression was not great as we had to park about a block away in the pouring rain. Though old, the motel was happily well-cared for and more affordable than other places for our 3-room group of 7. Restaurant on property was really outstanding for dinner - another great surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joyce W.
Business
Newbury Park, CA
Aug 3, 2014

Good option for late night arrival in Hilo

This is a simple, clean, efficient hotel. We stayed here after arriving on a late night flight and we were out of the door by 8 am the next morning. The air conditioning was loud enough to drown out any airplane noise (it's 2 miles from the airport). For a cheap stay, I think this is a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holoholo Lehua
Business
Kaneohe, HI
Jul 9, 2014

Hilo visit to see family

The hotel is in a perfect location for us: close to the family home driving one way, and just as close to downtown Hilo driving the other way. Friendly and helpful staff; basic clean rooms with WiFi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coconut Grill is a family restaurant attached to the hotel, with excellent food. The service was good except that we had to ask for our check several times once we finished eating. Advise asking for check soon as they serve your food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donna maui
Business
Maui, hawaii
Jun 23, 2014

Mini vacay

Easy to find and close to the airport. Friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top