$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
246 reviews
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Very nice and cozy inn

Clean, good location, beautiful garden, street parking, good breakfast. See full review

  • Xuzhi
  • Jul 1, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Hotel Map

19.7281 -155.064
Area served
Located on the eastern side of the Big Island in Hilo Town, and near the University of Hawaii Hilo Campus
Nearby airports
Hilo(ITO) Airport
Area description
The Hilo Seaside Hotel is one of the hotels nearest to the Volcano National Park, located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Way.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 246
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivyyue
Tokyo
Sep 9, 2014

it is ok

We had an early check in but for two of us we got 3 single beds. Front desk staff was kind. We paid tip to maid. But she did not clean the hair in the bathroom. Lots of little ants in it. Cooler very noisy. Anyway it is cheap. If you just need a bed to sleep, it is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HawaiianGirl
Lahaina, HI
Aug 30, 2014

Getaway

The hotel was still good like the last time I stayed. The only thing I didn't like was the room we were in. It was a little far from the parking lot and I had too many beds in the room. It was only me and my boyfriend and we had one double and two twin beds. We couldn't catch the Wi-Fi since we were too far from the lobby. I would recommend staying here again but I wish we had a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's House of Pancakes is a good place for breakfast and it is just down the street from the hotel. It is about a 5-10min walk or about 2-3min drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HawaiianGirl
Lahaina, HI
Aug 8, 2014

Short vacation

Very convenient and great place to stay. Great rate for a short stay and very good location. Close to town and good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
operagal83
los angeles, ca
Jul 25, 2014

Simple yet very enjoyable

We really enjoyed our one night stay in Hilo. Yes the hotel is rustic but charmingly so and our room was very clean and looked like it'd been recently updated. Great King bed, sufficient wall AC unit, great TV. We had breakfast included and it was very good. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nwwd
honolulu, hi
Jul 8, 2014

good location, good staff

We were very happy because they accepted us for early check-in at 6 am. Our room was the 3rd floor and the view was excellent! The wall was pretty thin. It was walking distance to the place to see the July 4th fireworks at Hilo bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
painfully honest kev
shoreline, wa
Jul 7, 2014

Nice choice on a tight budget in Hilo

If you're visiting the Hilo side of the Big Island on a slim budget, this is a good choice, although basic rooms still run over $100/night. Co-located with a great Hawaiian-style restaurant with live music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xuzhi
Cambridge,MA
Jul 1, 2014

Very nice and cozy inn

Clean, good location, beautiful garden, street parking, good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slopedog
Jacksonville
Jun 29, 2014

Great place with a great price.

The staff here were so nice and welcoming. We only stayed one night, however we wished we had stayed more. The views were amazing and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Vacationer
Springfield, MO
Jun 27, 2014

Good night's stay

Had no queen or king beds available, but the two doubles were adequate. Room overlooking pond was nice. Complimentary breakfast was great! This is not an easy hotel to navigate with luggage. 4 different stairs to get from parking lot to room down narrow hallway. Parking very limited as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PBKG
Portland, OR
Jun 25, 2014

Nice hotel

Our room was located by the pool and patio. There was some noise from this in the evenings, although the pool closed early enough. We would have preferred being on the garden, or other area. We had to ask for more coffee the second day (after using it on day 1), but staff was very pleasant and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed 2 good meals at the nearby pancake house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search