$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
249 reviews
Great hotel and people

Clean and practical. Everything we needed was right there. The staff was extremely helpful with... See full review

  • Glenn G.
  • Aug 22, 2015
Graduation celebration

Traveled with my 5yr old daughter for my baby cousin's high school graduation in May. This was our... See full review

  • Manu Samoa Fans
  • Aug 4, 2015
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Property features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Nearby attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★
$89
3.1 / 5 144 reviews
★★★
$148
3.4 / 5 202 reviews
★★★★
$285
4.0 / 5 4 reviews

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio, refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi.
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 249
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

business

Very good for the money and location. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Farmers market.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

The best deal in town.

The staff was great real local real ohana. Happy hour had to be best in town. The happy hour pupus were to die for.Been away from the islands for 16 yrs. This is the old way.Close to everything except the tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the farmers market on Wed. & Fri.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DZone
Business
San Diego
Oct 29, 2014

Best bang for the buck!!!

Had a great experience with the desk staff, we booked at 6:00am but we were allowed a early check in so we didn't have to sleep in our car and stay busy until check in time. Obviously it isn't a 5 star hotel, but why would you want to sit in a resort in Hawaii??? I wanna be on the beach, hiking, snorkeling, and site seeing. My last trip to Maui we wasted $1,800 on a resort and were there from 10:00pm till 6:00am only to sleep. This time around we went with a cheaper Hotel and spent the extra cash on us. Great for the price, I will stay here again if I come back to the big island :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ocean Pursuits
Business
Plymouth, UK
Jul 29, 2014

Basic accommodation, friendly helpful staff, good value

I would book this hotel again if I needed accommodation in Hilo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Graphics
Business
Alaska
Jul 28, 2014

Friendly tropical vacation hotel

Hilo Seaside is a small family-run hotel in a tropical paradise. Every room opens onto an open-air courtyard filled with tropical plants, although arranging this requires a rather maze-like network of hallways. This means it can take a bit of a walk if you get a room in the far back, especially if you have luggage, or after the side door is locked at 8pm. Staff are friendly, but not intrusive. The rooms were quite clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suitcase Jack
Business
Illinois
Jun 25, 2014

Great Stay

Wonderful staff and friendly atmosphere. I will definitely stay again whether on business or leisure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Helekoa
Business
Honolulu, HI
Apr 6, 2014

Clean, quaint, 50's style hotel

50's style rooms beside the pool, louvered windows allowed tradewind ventilation. A/C wasn't needed, just the ceiling fan. Very clean. Good shower. No squeaking frogs. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don t like one way only
Business
Hawaii
Aug 8, 2013

One-Way

They must think they are Heaven, Why ?? To your room there is only one way in and one way out.... No other way of getting to your room but thru the front desk lobby.... Parking all around the hotel you have to walk to the front lobby then to your room... If your room is close to front lobby your are lucky. Me not so... Way at the back, second floor.... Pack a lunch just to get to and from the only doors in and out of hotel........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Start in the front, but purchase in the middle or back of markets.... Vendors pay more for their spaces up front so charge more for the same you can purchase towards the middle or back rows...

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very unsatisified
Business
hawaii
Sep 15, 2012

Hilo Seaside Hotel

If you want to relax? DON'T STAY HERE! If you want a good night's sleep? DON'T STAY HERE! My company booked me a room in this dump for a week, and it's possibly the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in! The A/C made so much noise that I could'n't run it! The jalousy windows would not close properly so I was able to hear ever noise coming from outside my room! On Wednesday nights, you have the amplified "Revival" from next door blasting until 10:30 at night! Worst stay ever, if you're on vacation, spend an extra dollar for a decent hotel. Do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keala
Business
Captain Cook, HI, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Awesome stay

The help that I needed from not push aside it was taken cared of immediately.. The staff in the Front desk area was very helpful, when I needed Bus and Taxi service answered my questions immediately , never needed to wait more than a minute... the Restaurant Coconut Grill excellent Place to dine in or take out the food was more than I expected.. So proud that it is still owned by A Local Family, and keeping the over all Look and umbeances remarkably awesome.. Score it from 1 to 10 my Score 9.. Mahalo Monico K. Galieto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top