$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
287 reviews
Awsome hotel

The staff was very friendly. I plan on staying here on my next visit to Hilo, See full review

  • john b.
  • May 31, 2015
Another great trip to Hawaii

I have stayed at this hotel before. It has a great staff. They are always friendly and very... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Apr 6, 2015
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Property features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Nearby attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio, refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi.
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 14, 2008

Take a step back in time.

The minute we left the front desk I was pretty sure this was a mistake. It's a quaint old fashioned motel but it's not a place I'd stay again. We had to drag our suitcases thru a maze, down some stairs, and thru an open courtyard that faced the back side of the other units with a 20 ft space of courtyard. You could hear across the courtyard, people showering, using the bathroom, watching tv. The beds were like cardboard boxes covered with sheets and the pillows were awful. No blow dryer, no coffee maker. The shower hit my 6ft tall husband square in the chest. The restaurant was fine, the lobby was nice. The location was ok but I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were some diners nearby and a restaurant around the corner, but nothing we would have picked if there had been more choices.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stefff
Business
Pinconning, MI 48650, USA
Jan 18, 2012

HAWAII VACATION

A very nice place to stay has great atmosphere beautiful garden area & pool, w/a fine restaurant attached that also has very good meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

check for the room upgrade with breakfast coupon

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Not a place for Family gathering.

Need to be guite all times!, This is during the day Family project was being worked on for Family reunion,Manager, call and said I was going to be thrown out because of noise.Through the rest of my visit stay out of hotel until late to bathe and rest was not happy at all with this visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very unsatisified
Business
hawaii
Sep 15, 2012

Hilo Seaside Hotel

If you want to relax? DON'T STAY HERE! If you want a good night's sleep? DON'T STAY HERE! My company booked me a room in this dump for a week, and it's possibly the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in! The A/C made so much noise that I could'n't run it! The jalousy windows would not close properly so I was able to hear ever noise coming from outside my room! On Wednesday nights, you have the amplified "Revival" from next door blasting until 10:30 at night! Worst stay ever, if you're on vacation, spend an extra dollar for a decent hotel. Do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mundrucz
Business
calgary, alberta
Dec 20, 2012

visiting the big island

very stinky , towels not very clean, thank god we only stayed one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Mar 8, 2009

Don't Stay Here

I read the reviews and decided to take a chance on Seaside despite the warnings from previous travelers. Unfortunately they were right, this place is awful. The staff is rude and unhelpful. The location is terrible, rooms are dirty and environment loud and unsafe. The Coconut Grille is just as bad. I thought having an onsite restaurant would be convenient but the service was deplorable. They gave me someone else’s order and argued with me that I did order this meal. I have never met such unfriendly and dishonest people. I would never recommend Seaside or the Coconut Grille. You will be very grateful that you stayed and ate somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
James Merrima
Business
Hilo hawaii
May 27, 2010

Dirty, noisy, Hot

Never again, not sure how this hotel gets repeat business, I feel like I was tricked and cheated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 21, 2008

Old property needs help

There is VERY limited hotel parking and the hotel staff recommended off-site parking because it was closer to the property enterance. There is no elevator, the better rooms, which we payed for are only on the 3rd floor which made moving all of our luggage a problem. When we asked the hotel staff if luggage would be safe in the car - they smiled and said nothing is safe in the car. They said that they had hotel security in the evening patroling the parking lot - we did not see them during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found several resturants within a 2 mile radius of this property.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BT
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 20, 2011

worst hotel ever I stayed in

This is a very very old hotel with rooms with are stinky. The beds are uncomfortable and the mattress sags when you sleep on it. Carpet is very old and dirty that you can't walk on it without shoes. The parking lot has water puddles. There are no elevators. You have to drag your luggage using some weird design stairs.If you are used to three star hotels, you won't like this hotel. Luckily we only stayed there one night. [...]. Please don't go by other 3* review.The address of the hotel is Banayan Way not Banayan drive. It took us 10 minutes and a call to the front desk to find this motel.Avoid this hotel if you don't want to ruin your trip to Hilo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Oct 28, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top