$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
349 reviews
Very nice and cozy inn

Clean, good location, beautiful garden, street parking, good breakfast. See full review

  • Xuzhi
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great Stay

Wonderful staff and friendly atmosphere. I will definitely stay again whether on business or leisure. See full review

  • Suitcase Jack
  • Jun 25, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7281 -155.064
Area served
Located on the eastern side of the Big Island in Hilo Town, and near the University of Hawaii Hilo Campus
Nearby airports
Hilo(ITO) Airport
Area description
The Hilo Seaside Hotel is one of the hotels nearest to the Volcano National Park, located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Way.

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (349)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
349 out of 349
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna & Dick
Las Vegas
Dec 23, 2010

Hawaiian Family Tradition!

Within a block of the end of Highway 11 in Hilo, this Hawaiian family owned hotel is a better adventure than any of the corporate high rises in that vicinity. It has that special old island flavor. You'll see traditional Hawaiian family camping, swimming, fishing, paddle-surf boarding and beach combing on the lagoon just across the road nearly every day! Hawaiian daily life at its best. We'll return every year. Dick

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponds "Dining on the Edge" less than a half block walk! This is a steakhouse including a bar open 24 hours every day.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jcouture
Honolulu, HI
Jan 30, 2012

Close and Convenient

People were very help at the front desk and the staff around the hotel was very helpful, nice, very friendly, and good personality. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

It is very convenient right in the hotel and the food is good.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mister Aloha
Seattle, WA
Dec 12, 2010

Wonderful Experience

After we spent some time in Hilo, we decided we also wanted to see some of Kona. Since the family who operates this hotel also owns a hotel in Kona, we asked to transfer of stay to the other hotel for a few days (something we have never done). The staff allowed us to transfer over and thus made our overall experience wonderful. They went above and beyond to make our trip the best, and were very friendly/helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is on Banyan Drive, a very scenic drive around the bay with incredible Asian gardens.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maleshka06
Boise, ID
Jun 16, 2014

Great hotel for a price!

We had a wonderful time. Price was right, friendly personnel and clean. It’s nothing fancy, but good secured place and clean. We are busy travelers and drove all over around island, so if you looking for 4 star hotel you wouldn't like this one. It met all our needs and it was nice. If it's your first time in Big Island I would recommend spend money to stay on Kona side. Kona side had most beautiful beaches. To get to Kona side from Hilo it will take you about 2 hours. Also, Hilo is the rainiest city in USA it rains everyday :) Great hotel for busy travelers! who is on vacation not just to enjoy drinks on the beach, but for those who are exploring the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe 100 loco mocos must have! few blocks fromt he hotel

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suitcase Jack
Business
Illinois
Jun 25, 2014

Great Stay

Wonderful staff and friendly atmosphere. I will definitely stay again whether on business or leisure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spectowolfy
Yucca Valley, CA
Oct 11, 2009

Old Hawaiian Style

Just a short walk across the street to the beach and other several beach parks. Lovely coi pond in front of the hotel, and a nice restaurant on the premises. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking adjacent to the hotel or on the street. The decor is old Hawaiian style and comfortable. Great price for a great place to stay. A family-style hotel not like the chain hotels. The garden is lovely with hapua ferns and flowers. Nice view from the lanai of the Hilo Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
silameril
Kansas City, MO
Feb 18, 2012

Amazing place to stay.

My mother and I stayed at the Hilo Seaside for a week. The location is unbelievable. Minutes from the airport and downtown, easy access to the major roads, less than half an hour from Volcanoes National Park. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The restaurant in the hotel is very good, again with excellent staff. Next time I visit the Big Island (and I will - it's amazing), I will definitely stay at the Hilo Seaside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sombat's Fresh Thai in the shopping area near Ken's Pancake House has the best Thai food I've ever had anywhere.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jcouture
Honolulu, HI
Feb 17, 2012

Staff

The people was very much caring and helpful and made the rooms to accomodate easier for my father who can hardly walk. Overall they were very much friendly. It wasn't a pleasure vacation or business. We had to go to a family love one funeral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would take this hotel anytime. People were all friendly and helpful.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveTraveling2013
NJ
Dec 8, 2013

Satisfied!

The people were super nice and EVERYTHING was super clean. The restaurant had great food and we ate there a lot, since there wasn't much other places near by. Highly recommended =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

It had the best food, in my opinion, in that area. NJOY!

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerty
Oceanside, CA, USA
Sep 11, 2011

A lovely open hotel

We enjoyed the lovely tropical breezes that swept down the hallway from our room to the hotel lobby. The hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfasts were just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top