$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
246 reviews
Frequent Vacationer

I have stayed at the Hilo Seaside five times now. As always I am greeted by a friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Piece of cake
  • Jul 8, 2014
Very nice and cozy inn

Clean, good location, beautiful garden, street parking, good breakfast. See full review

  • Xuzhi
  • Jul 1, 2014
Value priced, Island-style Hilo hotel with bay and garden views
The locally owned Hilo Seaside Hotel offers guests Island-style budget accommodations and a convenient location near downtown Hilo and the airport. The hotel is built around a swimming pool and landscaped with gardens and ponds. An on-site restaurant and free parking add extra value. Just across the street, the picturesque Hilo Bay is trimmed in green foliage and dotted with small catamarans.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free parking
  • 9-hole golf course across the street
  • Private guest room balconies with views
  • On-site restaurant open daily
Location
Hilo Seaside Hotel sits across the street from a sheltered bay and just off historic Banyan Drive in central Hilo. Liliuokalani Park and Gardens is within a few minutes' walk, and a 9-hole golf course is just across the street. The sleepy town of Hilo offers visitors a view of "real Hawaii" life and easy access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Rooms
Hilo Seaside Hotel offers simple Island-style guest accommodations, including a few rooms designated for smokers. Each features views of the hotel gardens or the bay, plus air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV, mini-refrigerator and private balcony. In-room high-speed Internet access available (fees may apply). Request in advance for an in-room microwave or coffee-maker.
Features
Stay cool at Hilo Seaside Hotel's large outdoor swimming pool, or build a local-style tan on the sundeck. Enjoy a quiet moment in Hilo Seaside Hotel's manicured Japanese rock garden or Hawaiian tropical garden.

The hotel offers dining 7 days a week at Coconut Grill, a steak and seafood restaurant. Hilo is packed with tasty eateries and cafés, including local favorite Ken's House of Pancakes.
Transportation
  • Hilo International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Lyman Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Akaka Falls (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (35 mi/56.4 km)

Hotel Map

19.7281 -155.064
Area served
Located on the eastern side of the Big Island in Hilo Town, and near the University of Hawaii Hilo Campus
Nearby airports
Hilo(ITO) Airport
Area description
The Hilo Seaside Hotel is one of the hotels nearest to the Volcano National Park, located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Way.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hilo Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Spacious guest room with one king or two double beds, remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, black out drapes and large private lanai with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. This room is nearest the lobby and restaurant. Free WiFi
Standard Room
Guest room with one king or two double beds located further away from the lobby but offers each guest a quiet atmosphere among our anthurium and orchid gardens. Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi
Superior Garden
Large guest room with one king or two double beds overlooking our Japanese Rock Garden or our Hawaiian Tropical Garden in our quiet area of this quaint hotel.Each room includes a remote controlled TV, clock radio,refrigerator, A/C, tropical ceiling fan,coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, and black out drapes. Free WiFi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities

Dining

Coconut Grill
Located on the lobby level of the hotel and features many local favorites. This is the restaurant that serves our complimentary breakfasts.
Verna's
Local style drive in adjacent to the hotel offering tasty island food to go!
Ken's
While open 24 hours, they are famous for their breakfast items

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent Traveling Man
Austin, TX
Jun 20, 2012

Near the Volcano

I purchased the stay at this hotel as part of a combo package with airfare. My search for accommodations was for something basic as we our in room stay was only for sleep as we were out and about most of the time. I searched for basic, and that is what I got; very basic. The location was convenient to Volcano National Park and the staff was very friendly. As an older, family owned hotel, and my needs being simple; my wants/needs were not great. However, I do like a few things, mainly quiet (walls are very very thin, and can hear anything going on outside of your room) and in overall good repair. As to good repair, when taking a shower I put my hand on the tub/shower wall and it went right through it! This wall with bathroom tiling had signs of multiple repairs, and each time getting less and less sturdy. There was literally nothing backing the tile, held up by what looked like cardboard (can you say mold possibility?). Overall, staff was very nice; but would recommend complete room renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's Pancake House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shimo
Honolulu, HI
Jun 18, 2012

As expected

With the Hilo Seaside, if you don't expect much, you'll be happy. Free parking, friendly staff, and a quiet surrounding (other than the coqui's) is what I'd want from any hotel in Hilo. Perfectly Average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smgoo
Ohio
May 12, 2012

Vacation

Very close to Hilo airport, nice view of the bay,, would stay again,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerFromCalifornia
Santa Clara, CA
May 7, 2012

Descent Hotel with great location

This was our 2nd trip to big Island and first time we stayed in Hilo Area. Even though it was 3 day short trip, we enjoyed it a lot, mainly due to easy access location of the hotel. Volcanic park and there are many other attractions that are close by to this hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Manager is really nice and does care for your business. Hotel is old but comfortable. My son liked pond and looking out to sea for hours in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Please don't use the dining facility inside hotel. Sometime hotel gives out breakfast voucher with certain rooms, but it's really not worth it. Restaurant has some really jerk people working there. Extremely rude and very impractical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackyan
china
Apr 27, 2012

one good trip in Big Island

here is good location and reach every good place easier. clase sea and beach. very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

easy to reach every where

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy to be in Hilo
Mpls., Mn.
Apr 26, 2012

Comfortable, good value

Attractive older hotel. Well maintained, clean surroundings. Quaint fish pond. Very pleasant, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Proximity to downtown, shopping, local attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackyan
china
Apr 23, 2012

that is good hotel for visitors

location is good for visitors and view is beautifaul in room. lobby is great for rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

a few minetes dirve can reach downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Not a place for Family gathering.

Need to be guite all times!, This is during the day Family project was being worked on for Family reunion,Manager, call and said I was going to be thrown out because of noise.Through the rest of my visit stay out of hotel until late to bathe and rest was not happy at all with this visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kubien
California, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Great place to stay

As someone that uses a Hotel for a bed and that is it, this place was perfect. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Grounds were nice, rooms were clean and comfy. The view is great depending on which section you're in. Almost feet from the Hilo airport, yet very quiet still. Good central location between Downtown Hilo and Volcanoes park. Will stay here again next time we visit. We did not eat at the restaurant next to the hotel, but it looked to always be busy at prime times. Plenty of good places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wdtj
Minneapolis - St Paul, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Cheap but clean

Not the Hilton, but it was clean. If you've read this far your not looking for 4 stars. Free breakfast was nice. Choice of fruit & yogurt, pancakes & omelet, or eggs, meat & "starch" (rice or potatoes) and toast). All with a beverage at the attached restaurant. Rooms 10-30 are right next to the highway and next to the airport, keep the air on to cover the noise of the trucks. Didn't have a Queen size bed on the first floor and no elevator. I have a bad knee and hauling all our luggage up the stairs was not an attractive option. They did let us have the "handicapped" room which included a key to the back door and allowed us to park close. It did bug me that their wi-fi is $9.00/night. It's free in the lobby, but still. Our room had very low wi-fi signal strength and almost no cell service. We were there for sight-seeing, not room service so it worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search