Hilo Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, HI 96720

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor from Spain
Business
Orba, Alicante Spain
Sep 19, 2012

Convenient and quaint

It is conveniently located on the east side of the island, and provides a comfortable place to stay surrounded by the impressive banyan trees and beautiful ocean-side scenery. The room we stayed in was clean and basically equipped. Unfortunately, the thin walls and open windows didn't keep our neighbors noise to an acceptable level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good food, especially the salad bar and ribs.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very unsatisified
Business
hawaii
Sep 15, 2012

Hilo Seaside Hotel

If you want to relax? DON'T STAY HERE! If you want a good night's sleep? DON'T STAY HERE! My company booked me a room in this dump for a week, and it's possibly the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in! The A/C made so much noise that I could'n't run it! The jalousy windows would not close properly so I was able to hear ever noise coming from outside my room! On Wednesday nights, you have the amplified "Revival" from next door blasting until 10:30 at night! Worst stay ever, if you're on vacation, spend an extra dollar for a decent hotel. Do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1smart12
Business
Clovis CA
Sep 10, 2012

Great for the price

Where do I start?? from the late night check in to the late day check out the staff was so accommodating. The food at the restaurant was outstanding. To be honest if you are a lite sleeper bring ear plugs, but who sleeps in Hawaii. The beach is right out side the front door, sunsets are beautiful. I'm going to get all the sleep I need when I'm dead, enjoy the time now. The next party starts on our trip back next month. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken's is on the corner great breakfast, lunch or dinner. Coconut restaurant is in the hotel. Across the bay is another restaurant. 40+ will love this place. town is only a mile away for the youngsters.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbagua
Business
Honolulu
Sep 5, 2012

Father's Funeral

Perfect location, execellent value. Clean rooms, helpful staff, and an extraordinary deal if purchasing the Room w/ Breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken is the place!

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous User
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 5, 2012

Decent place at a decent price

It's a regular motel at a regular motel price. Nothing too fancy, but it does the job, especially if you're here just for a good night's sleep and a hot shower in the morning. You're not paying 5 star prices, so don't expect 5 star luxury. Other than that, it's a great place to stay. It's really close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tchk
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 23, 2012

never guess what is inside

I was terrified when we drove up. Once inside, however, i fell in love with this sweet motel. The rooms are old and not fancy, but scrupulously clean. Many, MANY efforts have been made to make this feel homey and charming and welcoming. The family atmosphere is terrific. If you are looking for fancy, don't come near this place. But, if you want clean, welcoming and very much of an old islands feel, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Awsome Trip.
Business
Kentucky
Aug 18, 2012

Awsome Would Always Recommend.

This Hotel was old. It's Simple. But for the value it was Awsome. The Staff was wonderful. They cared about you as a person. They wanted you to feel right at home. We love this Hotel. We would never stay anywhere else. We would stay here again. ALOHA...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Also there are many things that you don' t have to take tours to do. Rent a car and do them yourself. It's awsome.

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ozymandiasoz
Business
Ithaca NY
Aug 15, 2012

Hilo

The staff is very friendly. The location is great, walking distance to anything you would need The area is pretty and there are great little parks all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brad8118
Business
NYC
Aug 14, 2012

Cheap and not too bad

The breakfast was good. We had a room that viewed a inside garden. The garden was nice, we had a mini fridge, ac and 2 double beds. I would have been upset if I had booked for an ocean view because its on an inlet from the ocean. You can't see the ocean its about .5 miles from the ocean but the view isn't bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rudolpho
Business
Ohau, HI
Aug 13, 2012

Weekend in Hilo, HI

Knowing that Hilo is challenged and not a resort destination; I was not expecting too much from an accommodation. I was pleasantly suprised. The property was dated but comfortable and clean. The staff was as nice as I have encountered anywhere- security very good, helpful front desk, adequate dining nearby. perfect for what we had planned. Dont stay here if you are looking for a resort style destination but if you are sightseeing and exploring this side of the island it is all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Resturant at the hotel was good and fairly priced. available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner including a limited bar.

Back to menu Return to top